Clouds Parasite v2.01: an alternative firmware for MI Clouds

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
Nofrenchtests
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Hunter Valley

Post by Nofrenchtests » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:45 am

mqtthiqs wrote:You guys are great, thx!

hyena, at the bottom of the page for Clouds parasite, there is the changelog, with a downloadable list of all previous versions. You can just pick the "vintage" version you want :)
I've just bought Clouds again to relive my love for Oliverb and the Clouds delays, couldn't deal with the latest version, things were set out differently and sounded off to what I was used to. Did love the revisions to the granular mode though. Guess I'm a vintage parasite snob too.. :razz:

User avatar
asteraster
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Memphis

Post by asteraster » Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:32 pm

Just updated two Clouds to v 2.01 and noticed that one Clouds sounds odd. Posted about it, but thought I'd mention it here since Olivier replied to me that he thought there was a possibility the Parasites firmware/updating could have mucked with the calibration data.

Original post:
viewtopic.php?t=170392&highlight=
http://aster.bandcamp.com
https://soundcloud.com/asterlovesyou

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=4155341782 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2133653811]

User avatar
REVIVER
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Westchester, NY
Contact:

Post by REVIVER » Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:36 pm

asteraster wrote:Just updated two Clouds to v 2.01 and noticed that one Clouds sounds odd. Posted about it, but thought I'd mention it here since Olivier replied to me that he thought there was a possibility the Parasites firmware/updating could have mucked with the calibration data.

Original post:
viewtopic.php?t=170392&highlight=
Yes, calibration is part of the Parasites update process as stated by the instructions.

"Don't forget to recalibrate your module every time you update the module"

User avatar
mqtthiqs
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:25 am
Location: Paris, France

Post by mqtthiqs » Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:37 pm

asteraster yes, it's definitely this, and it's expected: calibration data is overwritten by the parasite; That's why I always recommend people to recalibrate after their first upgrade.

User avatar
asteraster
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Memphis

Post by asteraster » Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:09 pm

Oop, thanks. I guess I should have known better, but I had loaded Parasites onto one Clouds previously without any issue so I hadn't experienced that before.

I'll do the calibrating tonight, thanks :)
http://aster.bandcamp.com
https://soundcloud.com/asterlovesyou

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=4155341782 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2133653811]

User avatar
asteraster
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Memphis

Post by asteraster » Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:36 pm

pichenettes wrote:You have to do the procedure with whichever pair of notes produces 1V and 3V. This could be either C1/C3 or C2/C4 depending on whether the octaves are numbered using the Yamaha or Roland standard.
Ok, one more thing re: calibration. I'm going to use the Mother 32 to calibrate Clouds. The Mother outputs 0v at C4 according to this:
http://learningmodular.com/matching-oct ... r-modular/

so I'll need to play C5 and C7 on the M32 for 1V and 3V, right?
http://aster.bandcamp.com
https://soundcloud.com/asterlovesyou

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=4155341782 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2133653811]

User avatar
asteraster
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 340
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 1:44 pm
Location: Memphis

Post by asteraster » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:47 pm

Figured it out/fixed - for M32 it's C6 and C8 for the 1V and 3V
http://aster.bandcamp.com
https://soundcloud.com/asterlovesyou

[bandcamp width=100% height=42 album=4155341782 size=small bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 track=2133653811]

User avatar
Thulo
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:59 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by Thulo » Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:08 pm

I really like the new tweaks and features of the 2.x exept for the reverb blend thing. I wish this was switchable somehow. I just recently updated from 1.3 something and that feature kills my wibe :(
Really good work otherwise but i mostly use the granular mode (original mode)

User avatar
nectarios
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2695
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:44 am

Post by nectarios » Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:34 am

REVIVER wrote:
nectarios wrote:Also, I recall Olivier making a FW where the output does not drop so much when blen goes up, anyone knows where that is?
viewtopic.php?p=2164612&highlight=#2164612
Cheers, installed it today. It sounds different again, or it just responds different to what I do...can't really tell what it is, maybe its just me.

[video][/video]

Staying in this version for a bit before I go back to Parasites v1.41

Rafi
Common Wiggler
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:57 am
Location: Miami, FL

Post by Rafi » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:27 pm

So, does parasites install in addition to the standard firmware or does it replace it? :omg:

autopoiesis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1261
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:00 pm

Post by autopoiesis » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:41 pm

Read its documentation. This has been asked probably over a dozen times, yet is clearly explained on Matthias's readme page for the Clouds parasite.

Dhocks76
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:43 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Dhocks76 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:50 pm

Is there a way to check the firmware version of parasites on the clouds module?

I'm not sure if I'm running 2.0 or 2.1

User avatar
REVIVER
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:46 pm
Location: Westchester, NY
Contact:

Post by REVIVER » Fri Oct 28, 2016 4:21 pm

Dhocks76 wrote:Is there a way to check the firmware version of parasites on the clouds module?

I'm not sure if I'm running 2.0 or 2.1
Try making it crash in granular mode while using the Reverse function.

Hopefully, if it doesn't, that would mean it's 2.01 (there's no 2.1).

User avatar
funkyjunky
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 430
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:31 am

Post by funkyjunky » Fri Oct 28, 2016 6:06 pm

I am having troubles with my Clouds with Parasites firmware - increasing the blend makes the volume quieter. Is this normal behaviour?
Founder at DNGR:TECH — Eurorack Modular Synth Cases
https://dngr.tech

User avatar
nectarios
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2695
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:44 am

Post by nectarios » Sat Oct 29, 2016 1:02 pm

Back to v1.41 Parasites adds functions I missed mainly in the looping delay which is my main Clouds mode these days.

Rafi
Common Wiggler
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:57 am
Location: Miami, FL

Post by Rafi » Sun Oct 30, 2016 11:28 pm

Documentation read, time to resonest :guitar:

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2646
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Post by bemushroomed » Fri Nov 18, 2016 12:03 am

How do you calibrate this (2.01)?

...Edit: nvm, cv keyboard was sequencer mode. Also it seems like you should not follow the manual directly, as in you should not press the audio quality button at all i believe? since it starts up with 2 LED's blinking already.


Should "pitch" be in middle position, does it matter?

Playing a simple square wave through my microbrute into Clouds (and and the same time hearing the perfect C from the Microbrute), it's not exactly pitch perfect, but maybe that's just how it is..

The module has quite a latency, very audibile when you play a source in real time through Clouds and can hear both sources.

User avatar
Demi Jon
Switched Out
Posts: 1065
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 6:38 pm
Location: Otepoti, Te Waipounamu

Post by Demi Jon » Thu Nov 24, 2016 5:35 pm

mqtthiqs wrote:asteraster yes, it's definitely this, and it's expected: calibration data is overwritten by the parasite; That's why I always recommend people to recalibrate after their first upgrade.
If I am updating to a newer version of Parasite from an earlier version, do I have to recalibrate?

User avatar
oootini
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1115
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Cork, Ireland

Post by oootini » Thu Nov 24, 2016 5:59 pm

Demi Jon wrote:
mqtthiqs wrote:asteraster yes, it's definitely this, and it's expected: calibration data is overwritten by the parasite; That's why I always recommend people to recalibrate after their first upgrade.
If I am updating to a newer version of Parasite from an earlier version, do I have to recalibrate?
yes after every update

User avatar
starmandeluxe
Common Wiggler
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:31 pm
Location: Tokyo

Parasites 2.01 bricked my Clouds...?

Post by starmandeluxe » Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:26 am

So I had an older version of Parasites working fine, and tried to update to 2.01. The first time it seemed to work, but the mode-changing was not working (pressing both buttons at once). So I played the wav once more. And every time after it errored out with red LEDs. Now when it powers on all the lights are just orange and nothing works anymore. :waah:

OK, how can I restore it? I'll do anything...

User avatar
starmandeluxe
Common Wiggler
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:31 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: Parasites 2.01 bricked my Clouds...?

Post by starmandeluxe » Sun Dec 04, 2016 3:26 am

starmandeluxe wrote:So I had an older version of Parasites working fine, and tried to update to 2.01. The first time it seemed to work, but the mode-changing was not working (pressing both buttons at once). So I played the wav once more. And every time after it errored out with red LEDs. Now when it powers on all the lights are just orange and nothing works anymore. :waah:

OK, how can I restore it? I'll do anything...
OK, I was able to get it back alive by running the old 1.34 version into it again. But it still seems weird. I calibrated and still the pitch always sounds really low and the frozen audio doesn't seem to work... I think the firmware audio input needs to be quite loud (at 4 LEDs input signal) for it to work. If that's all the issue was, I'm going to try the 2.01 firmware once more later and hopefully save my Clouds...

User avatar
starmandeluxe
Common Wiggler
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:31 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: Parasites 2.01 bricked my Clouds...?

Post by starmandeluxe » Sun Dec 04, 2016 8:56 am

starmandeluxe wrote:
starmandeluxe wrote:So I had an older version of Parasites working fine, and tried to update to 2.01. The first time it seemed to work, but the mode-changing was not working (pressing both buttons at once). So I played the wav once more. And every time after it errored out with red LEDs. Now when it powers on all the lights are just orange and nothing works anymore. :waah:

OK, how can I restore it? I'll do anything...
OK, I was able to get it back alive by running the old 1.34 version into it again. But it still seems weird. I calibrated and still the pitch always sounds really low and the frozen audio doesn't seem to work... I think the firmware audio input needs to be quite loud (at 4 LEDs input signal) for it to work. If that's all the issue was, I'm going to try the 2.01 firmware once more later and hopefully save my Clouds...
OK, this is bizarre. I can restore to various versions of the firmware, but ALL of them have a really low pitch even with the pitch knob turned all the way up. It doesn't sound like it should at all. Any ideas?

User avatar
mqtthiqs
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:25 am
Location: Paris, France

Post by mqtthiqs » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:09 am

starmandeluxe this is a calibration problem. you should calibrate after each update with the appropriate voltages.

User avatar
starmandeluxe
Common Wiggler
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:31 pm
Location: Tokyo

Post by starmandeluxe » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:33 am

mqtthiqs wrote:starmandeluxe this is a calibration problem. you should calibrate after each update with the appropriate voltages.
Just when I got it working! So lesson learned/heads up: don't trust midi controllers! I used an Arturia Keystep and C2/C4 are most certainly not 1V and 3V. I had to use a DC offset module's CV out and measured it precisely with my meter to get the calibration working.

Finally my Clouds is back in business with the latest firmware! Thanks mqtthiqs.

colourloss
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:26 am

Post by colourloss » Mon Dec 05, 2016 10:13 am

My clouds with parasite seems to be stuck in the alternative modes. I'm pressing both black buttons to toggle back to no avail. Anyone got any ideas?

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”