Befaco Rampage

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe., lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
starthief
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4976
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:39 am
Location: St Louis, MO
Contact:

Post by starthief » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:19 am

temaniak wrote:- Incorrect work with Endorphines Terminal: when from the main outputs of envelopes of Rampage we send a signal to control rise or fall of the terminal, the envelope of the Rampage is hangs. This problem is partially solved by attenuators: with passive attenuator we slightly reduce the signal, and everything works fine. With active attenuator, when knob is fully clockwised, works perfectly. From another outputs of Rampage or another modules all CV signals works fine
The exact same thing happens when I patch the main Rampage outputs to my DPLPG, and someone else mentioned it too. I think that's just a quirk of Rampage, not a build problem or a problem with Terminal.

temaniak
Common Wiggler
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:14 am
Location: Russia

Post by temaniak » Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:08 am

starthief
Yes, this is Rampage's problem.
I wrote in Befaco, and they answered this:

"This is known problem with modules with low input impedance (this way is solved with atenuators)

One solution is to make bigger R52. Try changing it to 30K (but this wil make the max rampage out 9v
Other solution is making the output impedance bigger. changing R125 and R123 to 20K can probably do the job"

I must learn to solde!!!r :)

User avatar
fluffymuff
Common Wiggler
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:41 am
Location: Leeds

Post by fluffymuff » Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:05 pm

Mouser is out of the 2n2 Polystyrene caps but in the build guide it says to use WIMA caps anyway (i'm building version 1.3.2). Has anyone here used WIMA's or know what difference they make to the Polystyrene caps?

If I do go down the WIMA route would it be best to get polyester or polypropylene?

User avatar
fluffymuff
Common Wiggler
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:41 am
Location: Leeds

Post by fluffymuff » Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:59 am

fluffymuff wrote:Mouser is out of the 2n2 Polystyrene caps but in the build guide it says to use WIMA caps anyway (i'm building version 1.3.2). Has anyone here used WIMA's or know what difference they make to the Polystyrene caps?

If I do go down the WIMA route would it be best to get polyester or polypropylene?
Anyone?

AndreasD
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:04 pm

Post by AndreasD » Sat Dec 09, 2017 5:34 pm

fluffymuff wrote:Mouser is out of the 2n2 Polystyrene caps but in the build guide it says to use WIMA caps anyway (i'm building version 1.3.2). Has anyone here used WIMA's or know what difference they make to the Polystyrene caps?

If I do go down the WIMA route would it be best to get polyester or polypropylene?
I don't know why the material decision is an issue for this particular cap.
But then I found out that the Rampage tracks quite accurate when used as a VCO. I mean for an envelope!
Looking from that angle, polypropylene would be the one. Better temperature spec.
Rampage 1.3.1 manual says "Polyestirene" and a similar cap is in their VCO.

User avatar
charonme
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:35 am
Location: BA, Slovakia (EU)

Post by charonme » Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:29 am

I'm planning to start building the rampage from a kit, is there any mod I need to be aware of in advance or a flaw with the design that needs to be corrected?

for example there's this:
Looks like both modules have floating I/Os.
You can fix it in both cases putting what is call a pull down resistor, as you say from the in to the ground or from the out to the ground. 1M will do the job and will not affect the signals.
spotify, bandcamp
Heptaphasis - DIY 3HP 7-phase quadrature sine LFO

User avatar
fluffymuff
Common Wiggler
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:41 am
Location: Leeds

Post by fluffymuff » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:08 pm

AndreasD wrote:
fluffymuff wrote:Mouser is out of the 2n2 Polystyrene caps but in the build guide it says to use WIMA caps anyway (i'm building version 1.3.2). Has anyone here used WIMA's or know what difference they make to the Polystyrene caps?

If I do go down the WIMA route would it be best to get polyester or polypropylene?
I don't know why the material decision is an issue for this particular cap.
But then I found out that the Rampage tracks quite accurate when used as a VCO. I mean for an envelope!
Looking from that angle, polypropylene would be the one. Better temperature spec.
Rampage 1.3.1 manual says "Polyestirene" and a similar cap is in their VCO.
Thanks for the info. I've completed my build now using the polypropylene and it seems to be working ok, not tried it as VCO yet but will report back

User avatar
robpiya
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 10:16 pm
Location: Kathmandu

Post by robpiya » Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:29 am

Noob question here - Do the values of the resistors connecting to the LEDs need to be changed if I opt for green LEDs? (The default ones in the schematic are red LEDs). Or am I in danger of busting the module? :hmm:

zorglub76
Common Wiggler
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 2:50 pm

Post by zorglub76 » Tue Jan 02, 2018 10:45 am

The only busting you can get is LEDs going out. But I think they won't. You'll just get yellowish lights, or something.
When in doubt, I finish everything without LED resistors, and then check different values. Of course, you can also calculate that, but I'm not EE, so....

User avatar
exper
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10381
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:41 am
Location: Southern NJ

Post by exper » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:34 pm

I just received a Rampage that I bought over Reverb. So far I think it's an interesting take on the dual FG/Slew type of modules.

However, the I'm having an issue with the B range switch. Channel A gets 3 different speeds on each of the Range switch positions. Channel B however lacks the top, slowest speed. The middle, fastest speed is duplicated for the upper position. It's definitely a 3 position switch installed.

Anything I could check to fix this (no soldering skills/tools here)? Or am I screwed?

It's a factory built module as far as I can tell, as it came in a retail befaco box. Not sure if they'd repair it as it was not a brand new unit.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
FS/T: Goike 12u/104hp Bamboo/Aluminum Folding Case

Image

User avatar
jonleebrown
Common Wiggler
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 2:44 pm
Location: Corvallis Oregon

Post by jonleebrown » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:16 pm

exper wrote:I just received a Rampage that I bought over Reverb
Sigh, this was me. Was just looking through this thread to see if there'd been similar issues discussed--the search didn't turn up anything I could immediately identify.

I have emailed Befaco and hope to hear back from them--maybe something interesting will come of it?

FWIW, you're not screwed. I did consider fleeing the country your money, but google tells me that Drusselstein isn't actually a country so...

If we can't sort it you, can send it back to me. On that note, is there any sign of damage on the module?

User avatar
exper
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10381
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:41 am
Location: Southern NJ

Post by exper » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:36 pm

jonleebrown wrote:I did consider fleeing the country your money, but google tells me that Drusselstein isn't actually a country so...
lol, no worries. I’m sure it’ll work out.

No damage. Box was fine, and module looks great otherwise. Nothing seems loose, etc.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
FS/T: Goike 12u/104hp Bamboo/Aluminum Folding Case

Image

User avatar
charonme
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:35 am
Location: BA, Slovakia (EU)

Post by charonme » Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:44 am

my rampage is getting a bit warm, but otherwise it seems to be working fine. Anybody experienced this too?

I've built it using a full kit with all components provided by befaco. I wasn't able to locate any single specific component that's getting hot. It seems to be drawing around 60mA on the negative rail and 80mA on the positive rail
spotify, bandcamp
Heptaphasis - DIY 3HP 7-phase quadrature sine LFO

User avatar
J_Behan
Common Wiggler
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:57 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by J_Behan » Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:38 am

charonme wrote:my rampage is getting a bit warm, but otherwise it seems to be working fine. Anybody experienced this too?

I've built it using a full kit with all components provided by befaco. I wasn't able to locate any single specific component that's getting hot. It seems to be drawing around 60mA on the negative rail and 80mA on the positive rail
Don't know if you've fixed this yet, but I had this issue with my build.
Turns out it was a 1n4148 diode which was installed but not soldered. There's a lot of them in there, so it's easy miss one. It was fine once it was soldered in properly.

User avatar
hel1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:31 am
Location: Netherlands/Italy

Post by hel1 » Sat Aug 25, 2018 3:59 pm

what a great module this is. I've been exploring it for a week now and there is so much more to discover...

it was the second module I've built and after reading about all the difficulties I was a bit worried.
but I have to say that as long as you take your time and read the instructions closely, it should be no problem.

User avatar
c0nsumer
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 269
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:45 pm
Location: SE Michigan
Contact:

Post by c0nsumer » Sat Aug 25, 2018 4:36 pm

hel1 wrote:it was the second module I've built and after reading about all the difficulties I was a bit worried.
but I have to say that as long as you take your time and read the instructions closely, it should be no problem.
I agree. I thought it was a detailed, and slightly complicated, but really not-that-bad build. No worse than any other lots-of-resistors synth I've done before.

crawave
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: Italy

Post by crawave » Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:43 pm

Hi everyone, I built a Rampage. I bought pcb / panl set with potentiometers and sliders on the befaco site, 2n2 wima polypropylene caps on mouser and the rest on tayda. I have assembled both Rampage and Sampling Modulator. The SM works well Rampage no.

the inputs A and B. with an audio signal inserted in A or B the audio comes out from the outputs and is modified if I move the sliders, the potentiometers or insert CVs in cv rise, fall or exp.

if I press a TRIG button ,on the oscilloscope, I can see the rising in relation to the position of the slider and the pot, but then it never goes down.

the same thing if I put one of the channels in cycle mode.the first cycle starts but then does not repeat.

this is the photo of the main board.some points are disassembled, now I have arranged them, most of the points are resistors that have been soldered on the upper side.

Does anyone have advice to give me? Can you help me?

ImageImage

User avatar
dadacore
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:29 am
Location: italy

Post by dadacore » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:47 pm

Hi everyone! I've just built a Rampage from a kit (Thonk) but cannot calibrate well, to get channel B to output a linear ramp, must turn shape knob almost full cw and raise attack time to a quarter. no way of trimming it to something close to halfway of the shape pot.
Any idea where should I look at?
previously had to replace the dual npn array because the other channel wasn't working

aphantomvaper
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:24 am
Location: Waukegan Il
Contact:

Post by aphantomvaper » Mon Nov 12, 2018 8:23 pm

crawave wrote:Hi everyone, I built a Rampage. I bought pcb / panl set with potentiometers and sliders on the befaco site, 2n2 wima polypropylene caps on mouser and the rest on tayda. I have assembled both Rampage and Sampling Modulator. The SM works well Rampage no.

the inputs A and B. with an audio signal inserted in A or B the audio comes out from the outputs and is modified if I move the sliders, the potentiometers or insert CVs in cv rise, fall or exp.

if I press a TRIG button ,on the oscilloscope, I can see the rising in relation to the position of the slider and the pot, but then it never goes down.

the same thing if I put one of the channels in cycle mode.the first cycle starts but then does not repeat.


this is the photo of the main board.some points are disassembled, now I have arranged them, most of the points are resistors that have been soldered on the upper side.

Does anyone have advice to give me? Can you help me?

ImageImage
Hi! It looks as if there are several places solder is missing. Try to resolder the open holes with wire sticking out, especially in the middle of the board. You have a bunch of components that don't look they are connected all over the back of the board you posted. Good luck!

Built my Rampage in Sept, this thing is awesome!
Last edited by aphantomvaper on Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Koryo
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 405
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:38 am
Location: Austin

Post by Koryo » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:46 am

Oh dangnabbit, my RAMPAGE just started malfunctioning. It will no longer trigger on either channel. I built the thing so I can probably work it out, but damn it.

Are Befaco designs flaky?

aphantomvaper
Common Wiggler
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:24 am
Location: Waukegan Il
Contact:

Post by aphantomvaper » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:12 pm

Koryo wrote:Oh dangnabbit, my RAMPAGE just started malfunctioning. It will no longer trigger on either channel. I built the thing so I can probably work it out, but damn it.

Are Befaco designs flaky?
I've found that with some modules it locks up the Rampage. Try unplugging anything you have connected and then try triggering Rampage.
The only thing that stays the same is change

User avatar
Veiththepower
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:36 am
Location: Germany

Post by Veiththepower » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:18 am

moofi wrote:For all those being interested a white panel, there is a potential possibility to print over almost any already existing coating with UV-printing. I´m gonna check it out with a 4ms Noiseswash. Of course this would cost something like 30-40 Euros for the printing alone but might be an option if everything else isn´t. Gonna tell how it´s going to work out at least for Noiseswash.
I would be interested in having a white version. It was a view years ago but do you still know how? Best, V

User avatar
thelowerrhythm
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:45 pm
Location: Corvallis, OR

Post by thelowerrhythm » Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:00 pm

crawave wrote:Hi everyone, I built a Rampage. I bought pcb / panl set with potentiometers and sliders on the befaco site, 2n2 wima polypropylene caps on mouser and the rest on tayda. I have assembled both Rampage and Sampling Modulator. The SM works well Rampage no.

the inputs A and B. with an audio signal inserted in A or B the audio comes out from the outputs and is modified if I move the sliders, the potentiometers or insert CVs in cv rise, fall or exp.

if I press a TRIG button ,on the oscilloscope, I can see the rising in relation to the position of the slider and the pot, but then it never goes down.

the same thing if I put one of the channels in cycle mode.the first cycle starts but then does not repeat.

this is the photo of the main board.some points are disassembled, now I have arranged them, most of the points are resistors that have been soldered on the upper side.

Does anyone have advice to give me? Can you help me?

ImageImage
Was there ever a resolution here? I just got my first one and it's doing the exact same thing. A triggers and goes up, but then won't come down and is stuck on.

reaganry
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:28 pm
Location: texas

Rampage Panel?

Post by reaganry » Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:15 pm

Anyone US have a Rampage panel to sell for some reason?

ldezem
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:14 am
Location: Helsinki

Re:

Post by ldezem » Sat Jan 09, 2021 6:35 am

starthief wrote:
Wed Jul 05, 2017 6:57 pm
[...] once the output goes high it will "stick" on until I unpatch it [...]
Experiencing the same problem with passive modules and CaliOSC.
temaniak wrote:
Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:08 am
One solution is to make bigger R52. Try changing it to 30K (but this wil make the max rampage out 9v
Other solution is making the output impedance bigger. changing R125 and R123 to 20K can probably do the job
Thanks for pointing to the impedance issue. How did this eventually play out for you? Which solution did you settle with?

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”