MORDAX : DATA - Now available for pre-order

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

Post Reply
funqpatrol
Common Wiggler
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 8:14 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by funqpatrol » Sun Feb 24, 2019 11:48 pm

Kudos to Mordax who swiftly repaired my broken Data. Great customer service! Thanks guys.

User avatar
bfessler
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:09 am
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Post by bfessler » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:35 am

funqpatrol wrote:Kudos to Mordax who swiftly repaired my broken Data. Great customer service! Thanks guys.
You're welcome funqpatrol! We aim to please :mrgreen:
MORDAX - Modular Synthesis Systems

www.mordax.net

User avatar
bfessler
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:09 am
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Post by bfessler » Mon Feb 25, 2019 3:39 am

Mawkeyz wrote:I love this Data! I'm sure this is not a trivial request but I would love to see the P-P voltage displayed for each scope channel.
Agreed. I've had "stats" on the list of things to add to the scope for awhile, as that's a feature of my bench scope I use a lot.

Probably won't make it into the current update in process, but likely will be added in a future update.
MORDAX - Modular Synthesis Systems

www.mordax.net

User avatar
Riggar
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: England

Post by Riggar » Mon Feb 25, 2019 5:47 am

funqpatrol - Kudos to Mordax who swiftly repaired my broken Data. Great customer service! Thanks guys.


Same here - had a problem sorted and turned around real quick to UK. Great service.

Mawkeyz
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:34 pm
Location: N. VA

Post by Mawkeyz » Tue Feb 26, 2019 5:33 am

bfessler wrote:
Mawkeyz wrote:I love this Data! I'm sure this is not a trivial request but I would love to see the P-P voltage displayed for each scope channel.
Agreed. I've had "stats" on the list of things to add to the scope for awhile, as that's a feature of my bench scope I use a lot.

Probably won't make it into the current update in process, but likely will be added in a future update.

:nana: :nana: :nana:

User avatar
phutureboy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:03 pm

Post by phutureboy » Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:28 am

Hi there, Did I miss it in the manual or is this not implemented ? but I would like to know if it's possible to freeze the display at any given time ? so that one can look closer to some variations when needed...
Ideal would be to be able to save a screenshot as a tiny jpg or bmp file on the SD card with the push of a button... :love:
would allow to compare some behaviours sometimes...
FS: EXPERT SLEEPERS ES-5 | EMS Analyse Filterbank B1-II | EMS AKS | RSF Expander I & II | PEARL Syncussion SY-1

User avatar
JakoGreyshire
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 923
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:50 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Post by JakoGreyshire » Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:46 pm

There is a run/ stop button on the Oscilloscope and the spectrograph....

Other then that, :despair:

use a camera?
My YouTuBe Page...
The patch you've created in your brain is more challenging to modify than the patch you have on your modular.

User avatar
phutureboy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:03 pm

Post by phutureboy » Thu Mar 28, 2019 7:54 pm

Run/Stop does it, thanks ! :tu:
An internal screenshot would be the best but a camera is better than nothing, although pictures will always be distorted...
FS: EXPERT SLEEPERS ES-5 | EMS Analyse Filterbank B1-II | EMS AKS | RSF Expander I & II | PEARL Syncussion SY-1

User avatar
suthnear
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:03 pm
Location: located

Post by suthnear » Tue May 07, 2019 9:58 am

Firmware update request: can the module please start in the oscilloscope screen rather than the menu? I just had a click encoder fail on another module and this made me realise that the Data would be totally useless if this happened. If the module started on the oscilloscope, we would always be able to access it's primary function at least...

User avatar
Wick
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:46 am

Post by Wick » Sat May 18, 2019 2:04 pm

On superbooth19 made a announcement a sequencer program for the data Image

qwertyuiop
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:43 pm

Post by qwertyuiop » Sat May 18, 2019 7:25 pm

Here's a quick video with some info on the sequencer in the upcoming firmware:

[video][/video]

pelang
Common Wiggler
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:30 pm
Location: switzerland
Contact:

Post by pelang » Sun May 19, 2019 4:46 am

excellent, thanks !

User avatar
BaloErets
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 7:00 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Post by BaloErets » Sun May 19, 2019 8:17 am

qwertyuiop wrote:Here's a quick video with some info on the sequencer in the upcoming firmware:

[video][/video]
Thanks so much for sharing :tu:

User avatar
Groundloop
Common Wiggler
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:40 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by Groundloop » Sun May 19, 2019 12:40 pm

:yay: I'm very excited to see this update! I've been using Fugue Machine on my iPad to sequence up to 4 voices, and it would be great if the DATA sequencer had similar functionality like independent playback speed and direction for each lane.

User avatar
Wick
Common Wiggler
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:46 am

Post by Wick » Fri May 31, 2019 7:18 pm

I’m just wondering if is possible now with the sequencer program on the data if the internal vcos can be sync running with the sequencer program at the same time?

User avatar
Riggar
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:38 pm
Location: England

Post by Riggar » Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:35 am

This looks good - so great for modules to get updates every so often - keeps the interest flowing.

second_breakfast
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon May 06, 2019 10:46 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Post by second_breakfast » Sun Jun 02, 2019 11:13 pm

Any updates on restocking dealers? I’ve had a white Data on preorder at perfect circuit for quite a while.

JoshuaD
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:16 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Post by JoshuaD » Sat Jun 15, 2019 4:08 pm

Definitely keeping an eye out for a restock. Hoping it won’t be too much longer.

User avatar
Richard deHove
Common Wiggler
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:32 pm
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Contact:

Post by Richard deHove » Thu Jul 04, 2019 2:59 am

For those (like me) waiting for the new batch: I emailed Mordax and received a very quick reply with useful info. I was told by Brandon that they are using a new manufacturing partner and have also had some wait on other parts. The good news is the first "inspection" units are expected in the next few days and all being well units should ship toward the end of July. :hyper:

(I'm always impressed when companies answer emails fast and politely. Some don't bother to reply at all.)

User avatar
Mr. Roboto
Common Wiggler
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:37 am
Location: Germany

Post by Mr. Roboto » Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:39 am

Does anybody have any news regarding the new firmware? Can‘t find anything on their website but in May they mentioned that the new firmware will be available next month (which would have been June).
So maybe they faced a few issues during testing their new sequencer firmware?
Der Sägezahn, der Sägezahn, der hat's mir angetan.

Less talk, more action!

User avatar
nikarga
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:46 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by nikarga » Sat Aug 10, 2019 8:57 am

wanne wrote:sometimes when i turn on my system the screen goes white with some stripes on it and the module doesnt boot up...
after restarting the power it boots up fine..
anyone with the same bug /problem ?
i use doepfer psu3 and have enough power left in the rack...so this should not be an issue...fw.is 1.02.02
Have started a specific thread for this:

viewtopic.php?p=3103185#3103185


Was wondering if you had a solution... just received a new one and it doesnt boot up (stuck on a white/blank screen).. bummer..
Live for gear...

User avatar
bfessler
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:09 am
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Post by bfessler » Sun Aug 11, 2019 4:56 am

nikarga wrote: Have started a specific thread for this:

viewtopic.php?p=3103185#3103185


Was wondering if you had a solution... just received a new one and it doesnt boot up (stuck on a white/blank screen).. bummer..
Hey nikarga, I just saw your post (and DM, and email) from this morning. Let’s continue the tech support via email, just sent you one :tu:

Generally, a DATA with a blank white screen either needs to have the display's FCP cable connection checked/re-seated, as pekbro mentioned in your new thread, or it’s a sick DATA and needs to come back to Mordax HQ for a checkup.

Last run I had one customer reporting a white screen, they sent it back and I checked it out, total system failure, I couldn’t talk to with with the in-house programming tools. So, I sent them another one, and then to our surprise, same issue, the white screen again!

After a few more emails back and forth we got to the bottom of it; their case had a Synthrotek power supply with its voltage regulator soldered in backwards, so it was putting out +15V on the +5V line and frying the DATA’s 3.3V regulator (and the MCU connected to it), but it didn’t blow the display’s backlight LEDs, hence the white screen. Long story short, they got a 4ms Row Power, I sent another replacement DATA, and they wiggled happily ever after -The End
:stardance: :stardance: :stardance:
MORDAX - Modular Synthesis Systems

www.mordax.net

User avatar
nikarga
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 321
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:46 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by nikarga » Sun Aug 11, 2019 9:48 am

5 stars for the super quick comms from Brandon..
Didn’t expect a reply on a Sunday... wow.
Super clear, super helpful. Thank you

I just hope my new 3U Erica Synth rack aint the problem...
That would be pretty disastrous for future modules! :tu: :hail: :hail:
Live for gear...

peterpanderretter
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 2:08 pm
Location: Germany

Post by peterpanderretter » Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:02 pm

Mr. Roboto wrote:Does anybody have any news regarding the new firmware? Can‘t find anything on their website but in May they mentioned that the new firmware will be available next month (which would have been June).
So maybe they faced a few issues during testing their new sequencer firmware?
Any news on that topic?

User avatar
bfessler
Common Wiggler
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 3:09 am
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Post by bfessler » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:09 pm

peterpanderretter wrote:
Mr. Roboto wrote:Does anybody have any news regarding the new firmware? Can‘t find anything on their website but in May they mentioned that the new firmware will be available next month (which would have been June).
So maybe they faced a few issues during testing their new sequencer firmware?
Any news on that topic?
Still working on it!!! :spin:

Per usual, everything takes 5x times longer than I think it will...

Specifically, after I got going on it the feature creep set in and now it's looking like it'll be the most complex program in the DATA system. Shoulda seen that coming, sequencers are not trivial things. A lot of it is just tricky UI stuff though, as the DATA's one knob and nine buttons was not originally planned for a quad CV/Gate/Trig/Note sequencer's interface, and it must be kept as fluid and intuitive to use as the rest of the programs.

So yeah, it's still coming, and I won't release it until it's done to my liking, because if I'm happy with it, then I'm confident a few of you will like it too. :tu:

I was aiming to have it for Knobcon last weekend, but then kicked out the target date to Velocity Seattle (October 5th). We'll see if I get it by then, as there's a shit ton still to do regarding system integration and pre-release testing, and I might try to squeeze in the spectral program's revamp on this one too (has the added bonus of not needing to refactor the main menu if I do), and this is all concurrent with the present DATA production run's assembly process...
:deadbanana:
MORDAX - Modular Synthesis Systems

www.mordax.net

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”