1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2072
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:13 am

Bob Charlotte wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:46 am
Underwood wrote:
Wed Oct 28, 2020 1:11 pm
Bob Charlotte wrote:
Wed Oct 28, 2020 9:16 am
Will they solve the screen problem with the second batch? I'm really interested in the micro, but all the dead screen posts here and on the 1010 forum are pulling me back.
People without problems probably don't post about it. Bought mine about two month ago and it works fine.
That's for sure. But read about people having some problems even with a repaired unit it's something to worry about. Glad to read some wigglers don't have this failure, btw.
Parts fail sometimes. 1010 Music didn’t fabricate the displays, they just sourced a pre-built part to drop into their design, so it’s probably a bad production run from the display manufacturer.

The real question should be whether or not 1010 Music is doing the right thing by its customers. Are they responsive to support requests and are they fixing the problem?

People tend to spread too much unwarranted FUD on Muff’s.
Last edited by mritenburg on Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2072
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:14 am

Double post

User avatar
Bob Charlotte
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:16 pm
Location: Elsewhere

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Bob Charlotte » Sat Oct 31, 2020 9:50 am

mritenburg wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:13 am
Bob Charlotte wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 10:46 am
Underwood wrote:
Wed Oct 28, 2020 1:11 pm
Bob Charlotte wrote:
Wed Oct 28, 2020 9:16 am
Will they solve the screen problem with the second batch? I'm really interested in the micro, but all the dead screen posts here and on the 1010 forum are pulling me back.
People without problems probably don't post about it. Bought mine about two month ago and it works fine.
That's for sure. But read about people having some problems even with a repaired unit it's something to worry about. Glad to read some wigglers don't have this failure, btw.

Parts fail sometimes. 1010 Music didn’t fabricate the displays, they just sourced a pre-built part to drop into their design, so it’s probably a bad production run from the display manufacturer.

The real question should be whether or not 1010 Music is doing the right thing by its customers. Are they responsive to support requests and are they fixing the problem?

People tend to spread too much unwarranted FUD on Muff’s.
For what I've read on the forums they are repairing every faulty module, guess they are very responsive with that problem.

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 624
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Sat Oct 31, 2020 10:27 am

If anyone needs a Bitbox, Perfect Circuit seems to have some in stock and on sale right now.

User avatar
morgulbee
Common Wiggler
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2019 12:31 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by morgulbee » Sat Oct 31, 2020 12:14 pm

mritenburg wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:13 am
The real question should be whether or not 1010 Music is doing the right thing by its customers. Are they responsive to support requests and are they fixing the problem?
I had one of the early failed Bitbox Micros several months ago. Of course I was disappointed at first, but I'm very happy with the support and repair process. The repaired unit works great and I would recommend 1010 Music.

kriskeyman
Common Wiggler
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 2:29 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by kriskeyman » Mon Nov 09, 2020 4:02 am

Is there a way to set up bitbox so that no samples play until external clock is received? For example, in grid view, I want to tap 3 cells to play looping clips before the external clock is running... but I don't want them to play until bitbox receives external clock. Once I hit play on the external sequencer sending clock, all 3 clips play at 1:1. Is this possible?

User avatar
Joey P.
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:55 am
Location: Washington DC

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Joey P. » Mon Nov 09, 2020 6:36 am

kriskeyman wrote:
Mon Nov 09, 2020 4:02 am
Is there a way to set up bitbox so that no samples play until external clock is received? For example, in grid view, I want to tap 3 cells to play looping clips before the external clock is running... but I don't want them to play until bitbox receives external clock. Once I hit play on the external sequencer sending clock, all 3 clips play at 1:1. Is this possible?
I don't think it's possible. When no clock is received, BB automatically defaults to its own clock. It will reset to measure 1 when it begins receiving external clock, but you would have to send either CV to each pad input, or the corresponding 3 MIDI notes to start the samples.

If your sequencer sends reset trigger at start, you could mult your reset to the 3 CV inputs of the clips you want to start at 1:1. If it also sends reset at stop, it will stop those clips as well.

User avatar
Peng33
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:25 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Peng33 » Tue Nov 10, 2020 2:04 pm

pekbro wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 6:24 pm
soggybag wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 4:36 pm
I just installed the 3.0 firmware last night. I haven’t seen any discussion on this here.

I’ve had the Bitbox for a couple years but haven’t really used it that much. I want to dig deeper into this. I was looking for sample libraries can’t really find anything except the default library. Can anyone recommend anything?
I like Samples from Mars...
This is the correct answer. They did a sale late last year/maybe earlier this year for their entire catalog of samples for something stupid like $75 or something. I only downloaded the "greatest hits" included with it, but am planning on buying a BitBox Mk1 during this Perfect Circuit sale, and so will finally have a usable and accessible sample player, which means I will most likely download the entire Samples From Mars catalog to jam onto a MicroSD card to use on the BitBox.

kriskeyman
Common Wiggler
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 2:29 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by kriskeyman » Wed Nov 11, 2020 3:34 pm

Is it possible to have one of the trig inputs of bitbox fire off multiple sample pads? For example, I’d like to specify in each pad info where the trig is coming from, similar to how ext cv can be specified.

The only advantage to this would be to not have to mult the same gate out and use 3 extra cables for the same task (if I was wanting to fire 3 pads at the same time).

User avatar
scragz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:21 pm

Pretty sure they are hard associated to their input. Best to use a ninja star 0hp mult.

User avatar
Joey P.
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:55 am
Location: Washington DC

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Joey P. » Thu Nov 12, 2020 2:36 am

kriskeyman wrote:
Wed Nov 11, 2020 3:34 pm
Is it possible to have one of the trig inputs of bitbox fire off multiple sample pads? For example, I’d like to specify in each pad info where the trig is coming from, similar to how ext cv can be specified.

The only advantage to this would be to not have to mult the same gate out and use 3 extra cables for the same task (if I was wanting to fire 3 pads at the same time).
You could mult to all 3 with a single TipTop stackable and one extra cable.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1880
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by djthopa » Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:26 am

Just wanted to chime in that i got my micro replaced and 1010 music and Aaron have been very helpfull sorting things out. :tu:

User avatar
scragz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Sun Nov 15, 2020 12:51 pm

Sure could go for ADSR mod destinations.

User avatar
studio460
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1083
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 10:35 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by studio460 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 11:34 pm

Joey P. wrote:
Thu Nov 12, 2020 2:36 am
You could mult to all 3 with a single TipTop stackable and one extra cable.
Tell me more! I have a Bitbox Mk.2 and a Launch Codes trigger-module coming!
Image

GregIcky
Common Wiggler
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:27 pm
Location: PNW

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by GregIcky » Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:33 pm

Random question - I was just reading a post about the aliasing effect you could get from old Akai samplers where you scrub the pitch up or down. It was a super cool digital effect that you can't get pretty much anywhere else, probably considered an annoying "bug" in early digital equipment. I'm guessing it was caused by latency in early AD to DA converters in the unit.

Does anyone know if BB can do that? It's basically like sweeping the pitch knob on an old Akai, makes the sound kind of choke out, stutter and get weird artifacts.

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2072
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:46 pm

GregIcky wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:33 pm
Does anyone know if BB can do that? It's basically like sweeping the pitch knob on an old Akai, makes the sound kind of choke out, stutter and get weird artifacts.
I don’t know what the Akai pitch modulation sounds like, but the BitBox does support pitch modulation with an external control voltage. Pitch on the BitBox actually has three modulation slots so you can simultaneously modulate pitch with three different control voltages. Whether or not you can achieve the same effect as on the Akai needs to be explored.

GregIcky
Common Wiggler
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:27 pm
Location: PNW

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by GregIcky » Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:29 pm

mritenburg wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:46 pm
GregIcky wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 12:33 pm
Does anyone know if BB can do that? It's basically like sweeping the pitch knob on an old Akai, makes the sound kind of choke out, stutter and get weird artifacts.
I don’t know what the Akai pitch modulation sounds like, but the BitBox does support pitch modulation with an external control voltage. Pitch on the BitBox actually has three modulation slots so you can simultaneously modulate pitch with three different control voltages. Whether or not you can achieve the same effect as on the Akai needs to be explored.
It would be super obvious.... it's like a stuttering type of effect... artifacting the shit out of the sample as it's trying to compensate for the rate it's playing. Like I said, it was probably seen as a "bug" back in the day. I'm guessing it was do to "digitalization" of the speed of the sample playback. The AD converters not being able to keep up with the rate of the sample speed changing over (a short amount of) time.

User avatar
Rex Coil 7
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7307
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Captain Of Outer Space

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Rex Coil 7 » Mon Nov 30, 2020 3:07 pm

Oy! .... ok I've been through 50-sumthin pages of this thread by now .... mine eyes! ... the bleeding! heheh ... whew! ... lots of reading there.

So, quickly if possible, then I'll resume progress reading this thread (great by the way!);

1.) are brand new/recently built Bitbox Mk1s still having troubles with screens, or lockups, and the like?
2.) or did all of that get worked out by this time in it's life?
3.) would you feel good (at ease) about buying one of the Mk1s as a gift for someone you care about?

I'm considering an offer, a bit of horse trading ... I'm Christmas shopping for a very deserving person who's had it really bad this year. We're not wealthy either but we're doing better than this person we've in mind. If we do some scraping/dealing we should be able to manage this offer. I just want to make sure I'd not be giving them something that will create more grief than joy.

Thanks ... I'll go back to continued reading in this thread now ... :)

EDIT: Also, money better spent on the Blackbox over the Bitbox Mk1? (stability and such?).
5U MODULAR NORMALIZING PROJECT (for your entertainment) viewtopic.php?t=78836&highlight=
.. as of Dec 8th 2020 on a break for a bit .. contact me via bamco60@hotmail.com if needed.
WELCOME TO 2021 .. THE BEATINGS WILL CONTINUE UNTIL MORALE IMPROVES.

User avatar
scragz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Mon Nov 30, 2020 3:22 pm

Rex Coil 7 wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 3:07 pm
1.) are brand new/recently built Bitbox Mk1s still having troubles with screens, or lockups, and the like?
I don't think any mk1 are recently built, they're all old stock. New ones would be mk2 and micro. I think the only one that had screen issues was the micro? mk1 is solid and you can find some for pretty cheap now being closed out. All you really lose over the mk2 is the built-in FX, maybe some polyphony but I never run into that.

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 624
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Mon Nov 30, 2020 5:04 pm

Perfect Circuit has new ones in stock and on sale right now. Hard to beat.

User avatar
Rex Coil 7
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 7307
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Captain Of Outer Space

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Rex Coil 7 » Mon Nov 30, 2020 8:36 pm

scragz wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 3:22 pm
Rex Coil 7 wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 3:07 pm
1.) are brand new/recently built Bitbox Mk1s still having troubles with screens, or lockups, and the like?
I don't think any mk1 are recently built, they're all old stock. New ones would be mk2 and micro. I think the only one that had screen issues was the micro? mk1 is solid and you can find some for pretty cheap now being closed out. All you really lose over the mk2 is the built-in FX, maybe some polyphony but I never run into that.
Ah. I see. Thank you. Righteous .... very good helpings ... I shall call you Helpie. 8-)
xcc wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 5:04 pm
Perfect Circuit has new ones in stock and on sale right now. Hard to beat.
Couldn't find Mk1s at Perfect Circuit .... but I do see that Mk2s are selling for $510 presently ...

LINK: https://www.perfectcircuit.com/1010-mus ... x-mk2.html

When I said ~new Mk1~ in my post up a few .. I should have worded that as "most recent Mk1 stock". It's just an opportunity .. an usused "new" Mk1 with the latest firmware published for it.

Thx. :hihi:
5U MODULAR NORMALIZING PROJECT (for your entertainment) viewtopic.php?t=78836&highlight=
.. as of Dec 8th 2020 on a break for a bit .. contact me via bamco60@hotmail.com if needed.
WELCOME TO 2021 .. THE BEATINGS WILL CONTINUE UNTIL MORALE IMPROVES.

User avatar
scragz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:43 pm

Rex Coil 7 wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 8:36 pm
xcc wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 5:04 pm
Perfect Circuit has new ones in stock and on sale right now. Hard to beat.
Couldn't find Mk1s at Perfect Circuit .... but I do see that Mk2s are selling for $510 presently ...

LINK: https://www.perfectcircuit.com/1010-mus ... x-mk2.html

When I said ~new Mk1~ in my post up a few .. I should have worded that as "most recent Mk1 stock". It's just an opportunity .. an usused "new" Mk1 with the latest firmware published for it.

Thx. :hihi:
mk1 at Sweetwater for $400 right now

Cedre
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 7:43 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Cedre » Tue Dec 08, 2020 3:23 am

It is really boring that 1010 have never release an update with Midi thru to the micro!!!!

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 624
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:36 am

Cedre wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 3:23 am
It is really boring that 1010 have never release an update with Midi thru to the micro!!!!
Have they said that was planned? It would be handy for sure, but MIDI thru boxes are cheap and require no power.

User avatar
Peng33
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:25 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Peng33 » Tue Dec 08, 2020 9:20 am

scragz wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 9:43 pm
mk1 at Sweetwater for $400 right now
Damn...just bought mine at Perfect Circuit less than a month ago for $450, and I thought THAT was a good deal.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”