1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
1n
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:25 am
Location: UK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by 1n » Sat Mar 13, 2021 10:25 am

tuttle wrote:
Sat Mar 13, 2021 7:15 am
First I'd make sure you can play sounds in Ableton via your MIDI interface. Have you got a keyboard you can plug in to the iConnect? Then check that sound is coming out of your audio interface. if that all works the rest is pretty simple. Connect the MIDI out of the Bitbox to your iConnect MIDI in (you should have got an adapter cable with the BB) And the out of your audio interface to inputs 1 and 2 on the Bitbox. Make sure the BB inputs are set to audio (press the 'Tools' button twice to check) Then just follow the manual (page 45) Good Luck! ;)
Thank you, Tuttle. You know how sometimes there's one too many walls..? :-)

I'm going in...

homepoeteuro
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:42 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by homepoeteuro » Thu Mar 18, 2021 12:22 pm

Question: when i record a sample on the 1010 and save it as a loop , how do i know, the next time i'm using the sample, what the bpm/clockspeed was from the original?

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1233
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by LDT » Thu Mar 18, 2021 1:15 pm

homepoeteuro wrote:
Thu Mar 18, 2021 12:22 pm
Question: when i record a sample on the 1010 and save it as a loop , how do i know, the next time i'm using the sample, what the bpm/clockspeed was from the original?
Good question. It would be very practical (and most likely very doable) if bpm was put in the auto-generated file name.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2754
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Thu Mar 18, 2021 1:39 pm

It must obviously be done though naming, it is how it has always been done for loops no matter the format. it's like asking "how do i know what sound a certain sample is", it's through naming.

User avatar
Multi Grooves
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1743
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 7:57 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Multi Grooves » Fri Mar 19, 2021 7:38 am

vytis wrote:
Tue Feb 16, 2021 4:40 pm
Here's a follow up to my previous investigation...

After a bit of head scratching I've managed to get it all working. I am now able to record perfect loops which are in sync with each other.

What's changed:
- Pamela's New Workout set to PPQN: 04
- PNW set to output a gate at x1 (instead of x16)
- New FAT32 formatted 32GB microSD SanDisk card (before I had a 128GB Samsung card, exFAT)

I can now record 2 bars, quantized to 1 bar. Sync is great.

Perhaps this will be useful to someone else unable to sync to analog clock.
:tu:
Good job, man.
...but Cynthia, my Daddy never had a heath kit..

FS: SSF Entity

User avatar
Bobbfett
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Bobbfett » Wed Mar 24, 2021 11:00 am

Ok, noob question here, just ordered a micro. I can’t find anywhere if you can modulate, for example playing a drum sample, the decay on each trigger hit for a bit variation, is that possible, or do you modulate length instead.

Thanx
Br Bobb

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Wed Mar 24, 2021 6:27 pm

Bobbfett wrote:
Wed Mar 24, 2021 11:00 am
Ok, noob question here, just ordered a micro. I can’t find anywhere if you can modulate, for example playing a drum sample, the decay on each trigger hit for a bit variation, is that possible, or do you modulate length instead.

Thanx
Br Bobb
The manual has some parameter grids showing what parameters are CV’able. You might be better off using a VCA though.

User avatar
Bobbfett
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Bobbfett » Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:40 am

I see that you can cv the leingth, maby the envelope adapts to the length so it’s basically same as decay. Big wonder from me is why is there only cv or midi here as a source, it would be so amazing if you could also choose an internal s&h, probably not to hard to implement, I have 4 on the quad drum voice and it just makes it more alive. Maby a feature request.

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:43 am

Bobbfett wrote:
Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:40 am
I see that you can cv the leingth, maby the envelope adapts to the length so it’s basically same as decay. Big wonder from me is why is there only cv or midi here as a source, it would be so amazing if you could also choose an internal s&h, probably not to hard to implement, I have 4 on the quad drum voice and it just makes it more alive. Maby a feature request.
Yeah internal modulation would be great. Maybe suggest it in their forum.

User avatar
Bobbfett
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Bobbfett » Thu Mar 25, 2021 8:17 am

Me and a friend have suggested it on the forum.

Please comment, the more the merrier

https://forum.1010music.com/forum/produ ... ion-source

mrerdat
Common Wiggler
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:38 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mrerdat » Thu Mar 25, 2021 11:41 am

Haven't seen anyone post about the 1.1 firmware for the Micro that came out this month but it's definitely worth mentioning (cut/paste from 1010 site):

Micro now has some new features:
The ability to configure the outputs to everything from OUT1 - OUT8 plus master L and master R. This was a top request from you.
Improved polyphony and granular processing. We've improved the performance and you should find you can now play more notes at once.

https://forum.1010music.com/forum/produ ... ersion-1-1

User avatar
auxpin
Common Wiggler
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2020 2:33 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by auxpin » Thu Mar 25, 2021 11:56 am

mrerdat wrote:
Thu Mar 25, 2021 11:41 am
Haven't seen anyone post about the 1.1 firmware for the Micro that came out this month but it's definitely worth mentioning (cut/paste from 1010 site):

Micro now has some new features:
The ability to configure the outputs to everything from OUT1 - OUT8 plus master L and master R. This was a top request from you.
Improved polyphony and granular processing. We've improved the performance and you should find you can now play more notes at once.

https://forum.1010music.com/forum/produ ... ersion-1-1
Brilliant, I'd totally missed this and had also requested the output configure changes on their forum. Cheers mrerdat :tu:
- - - - - - - - - - - - -
dual.bandcamp.com
- - - - - - - - - - - - -

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 11243
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:43 am

I already tested the new firmware. Make sure to apply the changes on the output page, not just the individual assignment!
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

1n
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:25 am
Location: UK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by 1n » Sat Mar 27, 2021 9:28 am

Edit: successfully loaded 1.1.7. All fine.

1010 customer support was quick and friendly. Thanks, Steve!
Last edited by 1n on Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Sat Mar 27, 2021 1:12 pm

1n wrote:
Sat Mar 27, 2021 9:28 am
I already had 1.1.5.

Loaded the 1.1.7 Bin on SD card and ran start-up + '>' button as per instructions; successful message shows; restarts - screen shows version 1.1.5.

What might I be doing wrong?
Sounds like you’re doing it right. Are you holding the right arrow button before powering up? Maybe re-download the bin file and/or try a different SD card?

1n
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:25 am
Location: UK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by 1n » Sat Mar 27, 2021 2:06 pm

xcc wrote:
Sat Mar 27, 2021 1:12 pm
1n wrote:
Sat Mar 27, 2021 9:28 am
I already had 1.1.5.

Loaded the 1.1.7 Bin on SD card and ran start-up + '>' button as per instructions; successful message shows; restarts - screen shows version 1.1.5.

What might I be doing wrong?
Sounds like you’re doing it right. Are you holding the right arrow button before powering up? Maybe re-download the bin file and/or try a different SD card?
Yes, all by the book. Different SD card...good idea... next stop.

User avatar
Bobbfett
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Bobbfett » Tue Mar 30, 2021 1:24 pm

Been tinkering a while now, my god, luv this module

williamjturkel
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:50 am
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by williamjturkel » Thu Apr 01, 2021 8:47 am

Is it possible to configure the Bitbox Micro so that you can use the Keys screens to play another synth voice by spitting out pitch CV and gate for each press?

1n
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 644
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:25 am
Location: UK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by 1n » Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:38 pm

Edit: solution found, non-issue, removed post.

RussiaZero23
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:53 am
Location: Clearwater ID 83552

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by RussiaZero23 » Tue Apr 06, 2021 2:43 pm

That was my main problem with the Bitbox MKII. Its a sampler and we have well over 30 years of sampler history to draw upon. yet some very basic features are missing and buggy at times. I sold my hardware samplers thinking this could replace them and I find that it can not. 16 multi sample samples per patch is rough.

hitchy96
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:53 am
Location: Plymouth, England

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by hitchy96 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:57 pm

Hey guys, I’m debating laying down £430 for a bitbox mk2 and selling my sample drum. Any love out there for the mk2? Should I go for it? Sell me the bitbox!! I’m not sure😂 tell me your favourite things to do with it? Would be much appreciated!

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:20 pm

hitchy96 wrote:
Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:57 pm
Hey guys, I’m debating laying down £430 for a bitbox mk2 and selling my sample drum. Any love out there for the mk2? Should I go for it? Sell me the bitbox!! I’m not sure😂 tell me your favourite things to do with it? Would be much appreciated!
I sold my Sample Drum and Squid Salmple after getting the Bitbox (Micro in my case). No regrets, even though I loved those other samplers.

For me, I love the Bitbox for its easy recording/synced looping and visual tools for putting things together. For you coming from the SD it's hard to beat an extra 14 samples at a time. I think one of the biggest wins for the BB is the auto slice detection which makes it insanely fast and easy to turn all kinds of live samples into auto sliced magic. That's something even the Octatrack can't do. Super fun.

hitchy96
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 18, 2017 8:53 am
Location: Plymouth, England

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by hitchy96 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:35 pm

Another 16 would be great to be fair! How does it handle longer playback of stems? I had an idea to load in ambient stems and field recordings to then loop up and create soundscapes! I also would like to slice drum breaks but I know that will be way more intuitive than the sample drum, although I do love it!

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by xcc » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:43 pm

hitchy96 wrote:
Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:35 pm
Another 16 would be great to be fair! How does it handle longer playback of stems? I had an idea to load in ambient stems and field recordings to then loop up and create soundscapes! I also would like to slice drum breaks but I know that will be way more intuitive than the sample drum, although I do love it!
I haven't used it for anything super long, but as far as I know it runs off the card so it should do that easily. I really liked the way the Sample Drum sliced, but you'll probably dig the slicing in the Bitbox.

VatOS
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 1:22 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by VatOS » Fri Apr 09, 2021 11:09 am

Have one on the way, just wondering, is anyone using the midi inputs, and for what purpose? Thinking about whether or not a Maschine controller can trigger the pads for instance.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”