1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Post by Gyroscope » Sun May 26, 2019 9:45 am

DruidTek wrote:
Gyroscope wrote:
DruidTek wrote:Yes, that's normal. The Start and End points are only active in Sample Mode.
Ok thanks. That's really annoying and I hope something can be done in a next update. To be able to truncate and manipulate samples and use them in whichever mode we want.
The Slicer is just for slicing up the wav file and mapping each slice to a different note. Why would you need to adjust the Start and End points? If you only wanted to use certain slices, then just program those notes? You can use the ADSR to manipulate the behaviour of the individual slices.
I made a mistake in my first post. Instead of Slice mode I should've wrote Clip mode. So adjusting sample start and end points in Sample mode and use the new resulting sample in Clip mode.

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Post by Gyroscope » Tue May 28, 2019 6:23 am

Nobody else wish we could have basic sample editing functions? Simple chopping, trimming and deleting certain parts without having to resort to the computer. :despair:

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5620
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Tue May 28, 2019 10:44 am

it has no trimming ?
i´m on the fence to get one. But i´d need to have some basic trimming
:hmm:
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
WMD Geiger Counter: 180.- / Dotcom Q960: 700.- / Q119: 430 /
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 850.-, like new, quasi unused.

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Post by Gyroscope » Tue May 28, 2019 11:12 am

Funky40 wrote:it has no trimming ?
i´m on the fence to get one. But i´d need to have some basic trimming
:hmm:
You won't have it. Maybe later but not for now.

User avatar
scragz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Post by scragz » Tue May 28, 2019 9:47 pm

Funky40 wrote:it has no trimming ?
i´m on the fence to get one. But i´d need to have some basic trimming
:hmm:
You can very easily set the start and end points that it plays from to trim it up. I end up doing this for pretty much everything I record on there. You can't edit the sample or chop out parts from the middle though.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5620
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Wed May 29, 2019 3:14 pm

scragz wrote:
Funky40 wrote:it has no trimming ?
i´m on the fence to get one. But i´d need to have some basic trimming
:hmm:
You can very easily set the start and end points that it plays from to trim it up. I end up doing this for pretty much everything I record on there. You can't edit the sample or chop out parts from the middle though.
ok, that sounds like it does what i´d need to have.
much Thanks scragz
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
WMD Geiger Counter: 180.- / Dotcom Q960: 700.- / Q119: 430 /
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 850.-, like new, quasi unused.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5620
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:39 am

Funky40 wrote:it has no trimming ?
Ha, i just wanted to ask the same thing again :hmm: :lol:
i have now a bitbox


1. the midi default channel is *allways* set to 10 after startup it seems ?
other settings get overwritten at powercycles ?



2. i have several feature requests (which make totally sense /simple to implement)
Should i go into the 1010 Forum to post those there ? does this make sense ?


the bitbox is nice to operate. Glad i got one now.
But i would not have wanted one pre FW 2.0.
means also: i will wait until i look at the blackbox again. seems to lack several things right now.
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
WMD Geiger Counter: 180.- / Dotcom Q960: 700.- / Q119: 430 /
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 850.-, like new, quasi unused.

User avatar
Shledge
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2861
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Shledge » Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:03 am

I don't like how allergic they are to put in destructive editing like trimming. I even gave UI/UX suggestions to make it work and they've admitted that it's a popular request.

I'm really happy they have threshold recording now, but they still miss a lot of basics that people take for granted when it comes to samplers. It's a shame, because it's the only intuitive sampler module out there at the moment.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5620
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:11 am

Shledge wrote:I don't like how allergic they are to put in destructive editing like trimming.


It's a shame, because it's the only intuitive sampler module out there at the moment.
You mean the 1010 Guys are allergic vs. that suggestion ?
hmm...... :hmm:

Yes, the BB feels intuitive to operate.
The basic Concept is great. Yes, seems to lack still quite some basic functionality.
probably i still move towards ITB and use battery to play back samples.
( sequenzed from DT or Cirklon as i do with the BB )

personally i got the BB for quantised groove sampling.
Not donne that for now.
I think i will be happy with the BB.

It feels really good to create some Drm sample sets within euro on that touch display.
I´d gladly use the BB also as kind of a mini MPC ( NOT using the sequenzer part in my MPC).
But the operational functionality would have to be enhanced to not lose the fun doing so.
well, i will do me now some 1-2-3-4 Drum/percussion sets to have them ready at any time ;)
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
WMD Geiger Counter: 180.- / Dotcom Q960: 700.- / Q119: 430 /
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 850.-, like new, quasi unused.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5620
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:18 am

why i´m here:

i trigger the pads/sounds from midi.
now, i would like to use the EXT5-8 as CV inputs.


i run now a sinewave into EXT5 for test purposes to check the modulation thing.
but it triggers my sample


is there a way to disable the pad triggering aspect of EXT5-8 ?
or is the only workaround to NOT load any samples into these specific slots ?
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
WMD Geiger Counter: 180.- / Dotcom Q960: 700.- / Q119: 430 /
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 850.-, like new, quasi unused.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Post by bemushroomed » Fri Jul 12, 2019 2:25 pm

Shledge wrote:I don't like how allergic they are to put in destructive editing like trimming.
I get the feeling that 1010music company is mainly 1 guy, at least the one doing the programming.. so i think it's more about not having the time to do everything.. there's a lot of modules now that needs updating, bug fixing, etc.

Halfgeleider
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 1:53 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by Halfgeleider » Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:17 am

@funky40, whem Midi is used to trigger cells, modulation is not possible.

User avatar
pekbro
Common Wiggler
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:16 am
Location: Maui

Post by pekbro » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:00 pm

I wonder if the MOK waverazor firmware will be compatible with the bitbox,
I've had the plugin since day 1, it's pretty interesting imho. I could see it
requiring a faster processor like the blackbox though.

I expect they wouldn't be able to give it away for free either. There should
be some means of getting it to 1010 users, barring hardware or licensing issues.
One would think so anyway...

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5620
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Post by Funky40 » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:31 pm

Halfgeleider wrote:@funky40, whem Midi is used to trigger cells, modulation is not possible.
i thought i read that in the Manual, yes.
But IIRC was modulation by CV running *when* triggering the sample by midi.
need to check that again.
......modular is occupied with another patch right now.

another thing: input level for recording seemed quite low, is it ?
i fed it my normal outgoing modular signals and it was weak as fuck.
need to check this also again.



there are halfassed corners that i get.
others i don´t.
speaking in general.
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
WMD Geiger Counter: 180.- / Dotcom Q960: 700.- / Q119: 430 /
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 850.-, like new, quasi unused.

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 405
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Post by Gyroscope » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:11 am

The new firmware for Blackbox (1.1) now supports destructive editing. Maybe this will soon be the case with Bitbox too.

User avatar
gummyboy
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:30 am
Location: Seoul

Post by gummyboy » Sun Jul 14, 2019 10:08 pm

Hi.
I have simple questions. Sorry if this has been questioned...

1. If I have 8 signals going into all 8 "CV Modulators" inputs, do I lose last column of "CV Triggers"(4 trig. inputs)?

2. Can I have subfolder on the disk to organize samples? Does bitbox read them without problem?

Please someone help me before sale ends!!!!

Thanks in advanced.

User avatar
rayultine
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Memphis TN

Post by rayultine » Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:06 pm

What sale do you speak of?

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Post by DruidTek » Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:04 am

gummyboy wrote:Hi.
I have simple questions. Sorry if this has been questioned...

1. If I have 8 signals going into all 8 "CV Modulators" inputs, do I lose last column of "CV Triggers"(4 trig. inputs)?

2. Can I have subfolder on the disk to organize samples? Does bitbox read them without problem?

Please someone help me before sale ends!!!!

Thanks in advanced.
Yes to both

User avatar
gummyboy
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:30 am
Location: Seoul

Post by gummyboy » Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:22 pm

DruidTek wrote:
gummyboy wrote:Hi.
I have simple questions. Sorry if this has been questioned...

1. If I have 8 signals going into all 8 "CV Modulators" inputs, do I lose last column of "CV Triggers"(4 trig. inputs)?

2. Can I have subfolder on the disk to organize samples? Does bitbox read them without problem?

Please someone help me before sale ends!!!!

Thanks in advanced.
Yes to both
Thank you

User avatar
gummyboy
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:30 am
Location: Seoul

Post by gummyboy » Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:23 pm

rayultine wrote:What sale do you speak of?
It ended...

User avatar
gummyboy
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 370
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 10:30 am
Location: Seoul

Post by gummyboy » Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:33 pm

Is bitbox 2.0(or 2.2) just new firmware or new hardware version?

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Post by bemushroomed » Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:23 pm

gummyboy wrote:Is bitbox 2.0(or 2.2) just new firmware or new hardware version?
I see that a 2.0 version is up on modular grid and approved by the dev, but i really think that's a mistake... 2.0 (and 2.5, which is the latest) is just the firmware. There is no 2.0 Bitbox unit on their site...

shanebroderick
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 2:24 pm
Location: Boston

Post by shanebroderick » Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:22 pm

How large is internal memory / storage drive on the bitbox?

I would like to dump a portion of my drum machine sample library onto this.

User avatar
scragz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Post by scragz » Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:24 pm

shanebroderick wrote:How large is internal memory / storage drive on the bitbox?

I would like to dump a portion of my drum machine sample library onto this.
It uses a MicroSD. I think 32GB is the suggested max.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Post by bemushroomed » Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:25 pm

shanebroderick wrote:How large is internal memory / storage drive on the bitbox?

I would like to dump a portion of my drum machine sample library onto this.
It will fit, no problem... it uses micro SD cards, there are really large ones.. i have a 32gb one..

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”