1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
kall
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:13 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by kall » Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:31 am

bemushroomed wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:39 pm
Preview Edition 3.0 is out

Dear all,

We hope you are all healthy and doing well. For those who have some extra time at home, please enjoy this beta version of bitbox 3.0. Please know that this is a preliminary version and is not yet suitable for live use. There are a number of new features, including the following:

Folder based presets. Please backup your content before trying this new version. It will rearrange your presets (as many of you requested). More details can be found here https://1010music.com/wp-content/upload ... x-v1.5.pdf
Granular mode
Crossfade looping
A filter per pad with the ability to modulate it via CV
The ability to load multisamples, up to 32 samples across one preset
MIDI learn mode
16 note polyphony shared across all sample pads
Support for exFAT micro SD cards that can go up to 256GB and beyond
On screen piano and grid based keyboards

Please check it out and let us know what you think. Please also tell us if you find any problems so we can fix them.

https://1010music.com/wp-content/upload ... box299.zip
What a list. I just want to say thank you to 1010music for this. They could have easily left some of the flashy audio related features like granular mode, multisampling or the filter for the new device. I think there wouldn't even have been any complaints if they only ported back non-audio features, but it's all here. Send effects are really not something you need inside a euro sampler anyway imho and the only per pad effect, filter, is here. Really looking forward to digging into this, and mapping a full MIDI mixer controller to my bitbox.

Control
Common Wiggler
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:15 pm
Location: Oakland, California

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Control » Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:46 pm

Wow! Can’t wait to try this beta firmware. Thanks so much!

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2328
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:45 pm

A fix is out

https://1010music.com/wp-content/upload ... box29a.zip

Version 2.9.A fixes the following problems in 2.9.9:
EXT1-4 aren't visible.
Playing a specific set of MIDI notes into the box will crash it
It is easy to overwhelm the box playing a polyphonic pad

User avatar
Hirsbro
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:40 am
Location: Tisvildeleje Denmark

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Hirsbro » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:30 am

:party: can't wait for the bitbox mkii :hyper:

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Gyroscope » Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm

Has anybody tried the new cross-fade looping options? Does it work well?

I had the Bitbox in the past but I had to get rid of it because of all the clicks and pops.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2328
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:06 pm

Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm
Has anybody tried the new cross-fade looping options? Does it work well?

I had the Bitbox in the past but I had to get rid of it because of all the clicks and pops.
clicks and pops is user error.

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1816
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:09 pm

bemushroomed wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:06 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm
Has anybody tried the new cross-fade looping options? Does it work well?

I had the Bitbox in the past but I had to get rid of it because of all the clicks and pops.
clicks and pops is user error.
I think what he means is that if your samples are not clipping, and you have the start and stop points edited so they occur on zero crossing points, you should not experience any pops or clicks.

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Gyroscope » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:31 pm

bemushroomed wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:06 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm
Has anybody tried the new cross-fade looping options? Does it work well?

I had the Bitbox in the past but I had to get rid of it because of all the clicks and pops.
clicks and pops is user error.
Feel better now?

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Gyroscope » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:33 pm

mritenburg wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:09 pm
bemushroomed wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:06 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm
Has anybody tried the new cross-fade looping options? Does it work well?

I had the Bitbox in the past but I had to get rid of it because of all the clicks and pops.
clicks and pops is user error.
I think what he means is that if your samples are not clipping, and you have the start and stop points edited so they occur on zero crossing points, you should not experience any pops or clicks.
Yeah I imagine if you edit the samples beforehand in the computer you can get seamless loops. I want to know if you now can avoid pops and clicks without having to treat your samples in the computer.

User avatar
scragz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:41 pm

Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:33 pm
Yeah I imagine if you edit the samples beforehand in the computer you can get seamless loops. I want to know if you now can avoid pops and clicks without having to treat your samples in the computer.
You can change the start and end points from within Bitbox but I'm looking now and the editor doesn't show a horizontal line for zero cross point? Odd....

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1816
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:50 pm

scragz wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:41 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:33 pm
Yeah I imagine if you edit the samples beforehand in the computer you can get seamless loops. I want to know if you now can avoid pops and clicks without having to treat your samples in the computer.
You can change the start and end points from within Bitbox but I'm looking now and the editor doesn't show a horizontal line for zero cross point? Odd....

You’re right. I just noticed that right now. I’ve never had problems with pops or clips, so I never bothered to look.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2328
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:06 pm

Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:31 pm

Feel better now?
Not really, just pointing out that it's not a problem with the unit itself.

I do wish that the built-in hit detection was better though, but even in Cubase this stuff requires manual editing so meh, probably wouldn't save me a lot of time. Editing it on the bitbox is otherwise quite fast.. i might even prefer it to using a mouse. often i don't though because i sample with my PC, not with the bitbox..

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by LDT » Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:32 pm

Has any of you wished for a Save And Load pad function?
Like, if I pick a sample, tune it and carefully set loop points, so I can use it polyphonicly as a four voice pad, then this little “instrument” only lives inside a full 16 pad preset, right? So if I am working on something else, and want to use that “instrument” again, there is no way of loading it with said editing. I think that is a missed opportunity.
-Lars

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2328
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:37 pm

LDT wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:32 pm
Has any of you wished for a Save And Load pad function?
Like, if I pick a sample, tune it and carefully set loop points, so I can use it polyphonicly as a four voice pad, then this little “instrument” only lives inside a full 16 pad preset, right? So if I am working on something else, and want to use that “instrument” again, there is no way of loading it with said editing. I think that is a missed opportunity.
Well, have you suggested it to them? If not then you have missed an opportunity to get it implemented. It would be impossible for them to make every function possible, without knowing there's a demand for something.

I agree that it does sounds pretty useful.

User avatar
selfdestroyer
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 3:42 pm
Location: Fresno, CA USA
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by selfdestroyer » Wed Apr 29, 2020 5:01 pm

There used to be some scripts floating around to help make the XML files for programs. I messed around with this one for sometime but it never worked correctly for me https://github.com/ywwg/bitbox-editor

Anyone know of a app/utility/script to aid in making programs/kits on a Mac/PC ?
My DIY / Music Blog They Remain Silent

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by LDT » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:27 am

bemushroomed wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 4:37 pm
LDT wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:32 pm
Has any of you wished for a Save And Load pad function?
Like, if I pick a sample, tune it and carefully set loop points, so I can use it polyphonicly as a four voice pad, then this little “instrument” only lives inside a full 16 pad preset, right? So if I am working on something else, and want to use that “instrument” again, there is no way of loading it with said editing. I think that is a missed opportunity.
Well, have you suggested it to them? If not then you have missed an opportunity to get it implemented. It would be impossible for them to make every function possible, without knowing there's a demand for something.

I agree that it does sounds pretty useful.
Yes, I have. I was just interested in knowing if I was alone with this. My setup is becoming more and more polyphonic, and I got really exited about how cool it was to have a lot of small four note sample players in Bitbox. Beautiful things can be done with just one sample. But then I was bummed out, when I found that the settings of one pad, can not be ported to other full presets. Except for using pen and paper to jot down the exact tuning and loop points.
-Lars

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by DruidTek » Thu Apr 30, 2020 8:00 am

LDT wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:27 am

Has any of you wished for a Save And Load pad function?
That's a great request and one that has been asked for on the forum several times before. No doubt there's tons of little refinements that could be added to help improve the workflow overall, but as their products have slowly become more and more popular, they have been increasingly swamped with feature requests. They do listen to user feedback and are quite prolific with firmware updates, but it's easy to forget that they are a very small team and it will take a while for them to wade through the ocean of requests and slowly implement them.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2328
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Thu Apr 30, 2020 8:07 am

I get the feeling that there's 1 person (Aaron?) doing most of the stuff there.. so its pretty impressive overall, there's quite a few modules now..

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by DruidTek » Thu Apr 30, 2020 8:59 am

Loopop just uploaded a review of bitbox micro vs bitbox mk2 on YouTube

The new auto multi-sampling of velocity layers is wicked!


2Disk
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 4:13 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by 2Disk » Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:02 am

LDT wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:27 am
I was just interested in knowing if I was alone with this.
Definitely not, but I for one had simply not thought of it hehe. Fantastic idea though, would be lovely to see it implemented :yay:

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Gyroscope » Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:05 am

bemushroomed wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:06 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:31 pm

Feel better now?
Not really, just pointing out that it's not a problem with the unit itself.

I do wish that the built-in hit detection was better though, but even in Cubase this stuff requires manual editing so meh, probably wouldn't save me a lot of time. Editing it on the bitbox is otherwise quite fast.. i might even prefer it to using a mouse. often i don't though because i sample with my PC, not with the bitbox..
If you work for 1010 Music, your annoying attitude ain't helping no one.
If you don't work for them, acting as their representative and moderating this thread is fucking weird.

User avatar
exper
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 9981
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:41 am
Location: Southern NJ

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by exper » Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:52 am

DruidTek wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 8:59 am
Loopop just uploaded a review of bitbox micro vs bitbox mk2 on YouTube

The new auto multi-sampling of velocity layers is wicked!

Good review but he kind of skipped too fast through the granular mode. That’s kind of what I’ve been excited for. Need more examples of it.
Current system:
http://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/5549
________________________________________

FS/T: Modules/Google Case/Grayscale Panels.
viewtopic.php?f=74&t=229687

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by DruidTek » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:29 am

exper wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:52 am
Good review but he kind of skipped too fast through the granular mode. That’s kind of what I’ve been excited for. Need more examples of it.
It's great. Reminds me a lot of Paul's Extreme Sound Stretch, if you're ever heard of that. Instantly turns any sample into a slowly evolving atmospheric soundscape.

User avatar
exper
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 9981
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:41 am
Location: Southern NJ

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by exper » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:34 am

DruidTek wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:29 am
exper wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:52 am
Good review but he kind of skipped too fast through the granular mode. That’s kind of what I’ve been excited for. Need more examples of it.
It's great. Reminds me a lot of Paul's Extreme Sound Stretch, if you're ever heard of that. Instantly turns any sample into a slowly evolving atmospheric soundscape.

Thanks. I love my Nebulae 2 but IF I wanted the BB Micro it would have to be sacrificed. I’d need to know if I would have satisfactory granular sounds still. I know it won’t do the PVOC sounds of the Nebulae 2, but I’d like to hear it doing slowed stretching, ambient clouds, etc.
Current system:
http://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/5549
________________________________________

FS/T: Modules/Google Case/Grayscale Panels.
viewtopic.php?f=74&t=229687

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by DruidTek » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:38 am

Here's a more in-depth video on it demonstrated on blackbox


Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”