1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2350
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:26 am

Gyroscope wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:05 am
If you work for 1010 Music, your annoying attitude ain't helping no one.
If you don't work for them, acting as their representative and moderating this thread is fucking weird.
How am i "moderating the thread" lol i'm just helping people out posting updates whenever i see them, if you're not on the official forum constantly they're easy to miss... pretty sure that's not against the forum rules, to help people or to be very active in a thread. I also don't see why anyone would assume active forum members of a certain thread are "representatives" of the company?? That's some really weird thinking.

But if you have any real arguments please let me hear them, quote what i said that is "annoying" or wrong? A bit hard to defend myself when all you have are some really vague accusations. thanks.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2488
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Zymos » Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:29 pm

exper wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:52 am


Good review but he kind of skipped too fast through the granular mode. That’s kind of what I’ve been excited for. Need more examples of it.
It just doesn’t seem like there’s all that much to it, compared to something like Nebulae2.

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Gyroscope » Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:31 pm

bemushroomed wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:26 am
Gyroscope wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:05 am
If you work for 1010 Music, your annoying attitude ain't helping no one.
If you don't work for them, acting as their representative and moderating this thread is fucking weird.
How am i "moderating the thread" lol i'm just helping people out posting updates whenever i see them, if you're not on the official forum constantly they're easy to miss... pretty sure that's not against the forum rules, to help people or to be very active in a thread. I also don't see why anyone would assume active forum members of a certain thread are "representatives" of the company?? That's some really weird thinking.

But if you have any real arguments please let me hear them, quote what i said that is "annoying" or wrong? A bit hard to defend myself when all you have are some really vague accusations. thanks.
Just on the last page:

- clicks and pops is user error
- Well, have you suggested it to them? If not then you have missed an opportunity to get it implemented.

Annoying and not helpful at all.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2350
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:08 pm

Gyroscope wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:31 pm

- clicks and pops is user error
- Well, have you suggested it to them? If not then you have missed an opportunity to get it implemented.

Annoying and not helpful at all.
How would i be able to know, If you're not giving me all the information (e.g that you know it's your own fault that you get clicks and pops).

Maybe not leave out vital information and you will get less annoyed. You'd be surprised of how often people complain or criticize things and without letting the manufacturer even know they have a problem with it.. Again, it's very easy to write that you did e.g contact the manufacturer, i can only guess or ask, i prefer to ask.
Last edited by bemushroomed on Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1820
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:09 pm

Zymos wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:29 pm
exper wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:52 am


Good review but he kind of skipped too fast through the granular mode. That’s kind of what I’ve been excited for. Need more examples of it.
It just doesn’t seem like there’s all that much to it, compared to something like Nebulae2.
I was trying it out yesterday. It seems like Grain Size, Spread, and Grain Count need CV inputs. Also, I agree that you need a slow CV to get more interesting textures.

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Gyroscope » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:10 pm

bemushroomed wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:08 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:31 pm

- clicks and pops is user error
- Well, have you suggested it to them? If not then you have missed an opportunity to get it implemented.

Annoying and not helpful at all.
If you're not giving me all the information (e.g that you know it's your own fault that you get clicks and pops) then how would i be able to help / give constructive criticism? Maybe not leave out vital information and you will get less annoyed.
I'll put you on Ignore now and we'll stop wasting everybody's time.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5735
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Funky40 » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:39 pm

SORRY THIS IS OT !......and in fact a rant .......vs. a wiggler:


Gyroscope wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:05 am
If you work for 1010 Music, your annoying attitude ain't helping no one.
If you don't work for them, acting as their representative and moderating this thread is fucking weird.
the only annoying thing i saw here was your post.

some people surf daily here and have a good sense who is here to be part of the community in a constructive way and who´s not.
"faulty" posts can happen, to everybody.
Whatever i saw "bemushroomed" posting here was allways in the sense and vain of how this forum should work.
But your post is the type of thing we ***really*** do not need to have here.

its exactly those type of posts as yours is, which makes people stop chimming in to discuss and help !
while it was your post which did NOT add anything here in any way.
so please stop that attitude !


and no, i´m NOT a moderator !*
(* and have NO intention to be)
but if i was, had i thrown you out of the forum immediately. Yes, for just that post
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
lowered prices: Dotcom Q960: 650.- / Q119: 420 / ( i also have one or much likely two 19" Frames)
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 830.-, like new, quasi unused.

User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5735
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Funky40 » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:40 pm

Gyroscope wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:10 pm
I'll put you on Ignore now and we'll stop wasting everybody's time.
thanks for the tip !

edit: how can i put somebody on ignore ?
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
lowered prices: Dotcom Q960: 650.- / Q119: 420 / ( i also have one or much likely two 19" Frames)
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 830.-, like new, quasi unused.

User avatar
Voltcontrol
Ravey Dave
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:31 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Voltcontrol » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:50 pm

Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:31 pm
bemushroomed wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:06 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm
Has anybody tried the new cross-fade looping options? Does it work well?

I had the Bitbox in the past but I had to get rid of it because of all the clicks and pops.
clicks and pops is user error.
Feel better now?
Haha, I sure know who SHOULD go in the ignore section or stand in the chill out corner for a good while.
Not adding anyone to the ignore list peronally, I like a bit of drama.

Loving the new mini 1010 Music Euro module by the way.
Last edited by Voltcontrol on Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1820
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:51 pm

Voltcontrol wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:50 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:31 pm
bemushroomed wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:06 pm
Gyroscope wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:55 pm
Has anybody tried the new cross-fade looping options? Does it work well?

I had the Bitbox in the past but I had to get rid of it because of all the clicks and pops.
clicks and pops is user error.
Feel better now?
Haha, I sure know who SHOULD go in the ignore section or stand in the chill out corner for a good while.
Not adding anyone to the ignore list peronally, I like a bit of drama.
It keeps people looking at threads and thinking about products. Free publicity.

User avatar
Voltcontrol
Ravey Dave
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 1:31 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Voltcontrol » Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:54 pm

mritenburg wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 1:51 pm
Free publicity.
Very true. Most of the attention this product is getting here is well deserved though.

User avatar
rayultine
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Memphis TN

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by rayultine » Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:03 pm

did bitbox mk1 have the multisample bank creator feature? holy shit that rooooooolz

Gyroscope
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 421
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 2:27 pm
Location: In the North

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Gyroscope » Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:25 pm

I just wanted to know if the new cross-fade option worked well. Sorry to every one. I love you.

mattcolville
Common Wiggler
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:45 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mattcolville » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:01 pm

bemushroomed wrote:
Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:31 am

Here's an illustration i made for you

Image

i bet if you load up that clicking sample in an editor you'll see it doesn't start correctly.

Never tried the library that comes with the module though.
Sorry this took so long to reply, I only now had time to come back to this. I was super happy to see your reply because I thought "Ah I bet this is it!" And it seemed to make sense to me. Even if this isn't the problem, it was a useful exercise, thank you.

But here are the samples I'm using, viewed in Audacity.

Image

They look right to me? They look like they're starting at zero. But holy moley do they pop and click. Like, the BitBox isn't usable.

http://squaremans.com/BitBox/BeatSample.wav

Each sample by itself sounds fine? But then when I try to play them together the thing goes crazy.

This can't be normal, if everyone who bought this thing and loaded up the pre-installed samples had this problem no one would ever use this thing.

Having dug into this, I should probably post this on the 1010 forums.

Here, I can also link the actual samples.

http://squaremans.com/BitBox/HHC3.wav
http://squaremans.com/BitBox/Kick3.wav
Last edited by mattcolville on Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2350
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:09 pm

mattcolville wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:01 pm


They look right to me? They look like they're starting at zero. But holy moley do they pop and click. Like, the BitBox isn't usable.

http://squaremans.com/BitBox/BeatSample.wav

Each sample by itself sounds fine? But then when I try to play them together the thing goes crazy.

This can't be normal, if everyone who bought this thing and loaded up the pre-installed samples had this problem no one would ever use this thing.

Having dug into this, I should probably post this on the 1010 forums.
Is the end of the sample also at 0.0, that's also important, otherwise you will get clicks and pops.

32 bit float and 44.1KHz.. not really optimal for bitbox.. 44.1 means it will have to do some real-time converting to 48KHz.. 32bit float, wow.. does it even handle that, the bitbox is 24-bit. If i remember correctly "float" is exceptionally demanding too, not something i use for samples.
Last edited by bemushroomed on Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Tonefloat01
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:06 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Tonefloat01 » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:10 pm

Did you put a fade in at the beginning of each sample and at the end?
The space you occupy determines the time that you live in.

mattcolville
Common Wiggler
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:45 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mattcolville » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:16 pm

bemushroomed wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:09 pm
mattcolville wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:01 pm


They look right to me? They look like they're starting at zero. But holy moley do they pop and click. Like, the BitBox isn't usable.

http://squaremans.com/BitBox/BeatSample.wav

Each sample by itself sounds fine? But then when I try to play them together the thing goes crazy.

This can't be normal, if everyone who bought this thing and loaded up the pre-installed samples had this problem no one would ever use this thing.

Having dug into this, I should probably post this on the 1010 forums.
Is the end of the sample also at 0.0, that's also important, otherwise you will get clicks and pops.

32 bit float and 44.1KHz.. not really optimal for bitbox.. 44.1 means it will have to do some real-time converting to 48KHz.. 32bit float, wow.. does it even handle that, the bitbox is 24-bit. If i remember correctly "float" is exceptionally demanding too, not something i use for samples.
I think those are just the settings for the audacity project? The samples are both at 44.1, one is at 24 bit the other is 16bit. I edited my post above to attach them.

The samples both end at 0.
Last edited by mattcolville on Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mattcolville
Common Wiggler
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:45 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mattcolville » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:16 pm

Tonefloat01 wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:10 pm
Did you put a fade in at the beginning of each sample and at the end?
Nope. This is the BitBox going into my Alesis Mutimix 8, recorded into Audacity. No effects or filters.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2350
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:28 pm

mattcolville wrote:
Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:16 pm

Nope. This is the BitBox going into my Alesis Mutimix 8, recorded into Audacity. No effects or filters.
Both samples looks good, tested the two files with my Bitbox, no clicks or pops whatsoever, even if played together.

Maybe its an audio problem with the mixer, sound gets overdriven if both are played? try lowering the volume for both.

But again, convert these to 48khz, otherwise you will get more latency and its more demanding for the bitbox to process..

mattcolville
Common Wiggler
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:45 pm
Location: Orange County, CA

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mattcolville » Fri May 01, 2020 7:03 pm

Welp, unable to fix the problem though sample rates or mixer levels, I just downloaded the disk image again and it seems to be working normally.

Which means the problem had something? to do with my settings? I must have changed some default setting somewhere, maybe the levels? Posting this now only in the hopes that if someone else has my problem they can see what I did.

Keltie
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 672
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 11:33 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Keltie » Fri May 01, 2020 7:14 pm

Just throwing this out there... the compressor on the BB outs maybe?

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1820
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Fri May 08, 2020 9:26 am

Does anyone know if the BitBox mk2 will be firmware compatible with the ToolBox? In other words, can you run the ToolBox firmware on the BitBox mk2 hardware?
Disappointment with any module is usually a failure of imagination.

It’s not Glitch, it’s not Granular, what in the f*** is that?!?!


User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by DruidTek » Sat May 09, 2020 6:21 am

mritenburg wrote:
Fri May 08, 2020 9:26 am
Does anyone know if the BitBox mk2 will be firmware compatible with the ToolBox? In other words, can you run the ToolBox firmware on the BitBox mk2 hardware?
I don't think it's possible as they're very different hardware configurations. Bitbox is very input driven (20 gate inputs/8 EXT CV inputs) toolbox is output driven (8 gate outs/8 CV outs/4 MIDI outs, etc)

User avatar
Shledge
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2983
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Shledge » Sat May 09, 2020 7:29 am

...still no destructible editing? I'm kind of glad I sold my bitbox. Not a bad module, just underdeveloped firmware. Felt like I was a beta tester more than anything.

The mini version looks interesting, but not putting my hopes up.

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by DruidTek » Sat May 09, 2020 7:54 am

Shledge wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 7:29 am
...still no destructible editing?
If you mean being able to trim samples and re-save them and/or resampling, those features were added a long time ago.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”