1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
Shledge
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2979
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Shledge » Sat May 09, 2020 8:35 am

Since when? I sold it literally prior to the preview firmware. 2.5 had threshold recording among other things, but no destructive editing abilities. They even fobbed it off on the forum as being difficult to implement due to UI concerns despite me giving UI/UX suggestions to make it work.

EDIT: checked current manual and preview firmware, no mention of it!

User avatar
DruidTek
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 463
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:06 am
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by DruidTek » Sat May 09, 2020 11:52 am

Sorry, it was actually blackbox that's had the trim feature for quite a while, it was ported over to bitbox sometime in the last couple of beta's, but I can't remember when.
It's in the File menu when you load a sample. There's so many different firmware revisions floating around, I can't keep track. :oops:

User avatar
mritenburg
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1816
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:17 pm
Location: Boston

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mritenburg » Sat May 09, 2020 11:55 am

DruidTek wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 11:52 am
Sorry, it was actually blackbox that's had the trim feature for quite a while, it was ported over to bitbox sometime in the last couple of beta's, but I can't remember when.
It's in the File menu when you load a sample. There's so many different firmware revisions floating around, I can't keep track. :oops:
It’s definitely in v2.9.A
D3E5C18B-2DD5-4BD8-B47D-2FE0A8533D58.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Disappointment with any module is usually a failure of imagination.

Buchla 200e Generative Patch


User avatar
Funky40
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5719
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: on a big voyage

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Funky40 » Sat May 09, 2020 4:49 pm

and it powers now up with the last project that was used ! :goo:


Not having this was the reason i finally quasi never used my bitbox.

plus the lack of un-destructive backmove of the cursor in the renaming dialog.
( to edit names, and to add a "1." to the project i wanted to be loaded at start up)


its a great module, but such small things can let me to avoid patching something.
For sale / reduced prices ( swiss (we are NON-EU)/ in case it makes sense_ EU/WW)(CHF +- = $):
lowered prices: Dotcom Q960: 650.- / Q119: 420 / ( i also have one or much likely two 19" Frames)
ATV A-Frame incl. Accu and Bag: 830.-, like new, quasi unused.

User avatar
scragz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Sat May 09, 2020 5:00 pm

Funky40 wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 4:49 pm
and it powers now up with the last project that was used ! :goo:
Yeah! I noticed this too. So much more convenient.

User avatar
ipnoteca
cane morto
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:01 am
Location: tokyo

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by ipnoteca » Tue May 12, 2020 11:15 pm

can anyone please confirm if it's possible to use at same time granular and slices?
i've blown a fuse...

previously robocoder

YOUTUBE http://www.youtube.com/user/ipnoteca
INSTAGRAM http://www.instagram.com/ipnoteca/

User avatar
scragz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Tue May 12, 2020 11:34 pm

ipnoteca wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 11:15 pm
can anyone please confirm if it's possible to use at same time granular and slices?
You have to pick sample, clip, slicer, or granular. Can only be one at a time.

User avatar
ipnoteca
cane morto
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:01 am
Location: tokyo

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by ipnoteca » Wed May 13, 2020 2:01 am

scragz wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 11:34 pm
ipnoteca wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 11:15 pm
can anyone please confirm if it's possible to use at same time granular and slices?
You have to pick sample, clip, slicer, or granular. Can only be one at a time.
thank you @scragz thought so...too bad is not possible to go granular over slices
i've blown a fuse...

previously robocoder

YOUTUBE http://www.youtube.com/user/ipnoteca
INSTAGRAM http://www.instagram.com/ipnoteca/

User avatar
rayultine
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Memphis TN

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by rayultine » Sun May 17, 2020 6:54 pm

Hey all, I can't figure out something. What is the rationale for the upcoming Bitbox micro to have a couple of really useful features that aren't going to exist in the full bitbox mk2? The Midi out and increased number / flexible assignment of outputs are a huge deal to me.

Why handicap the more expensive unit? Even the leloop youtube comparison tips the scales in favor of the micro version.

I posted this on facebook and got one reply "The big one looks to have more total inputs and a quicker workflow." yes, and of course the 75% larger touch screen is very nice. But what else is going to distinguish it from the version 1 and the micro bitbox?

User avatar
dbeats
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:50 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by dbeats » Mon May 18, 2020 1:10 pm

rayultine wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 6:54 pm
Hey all, I can't figure out something. What is the rationale for the upcoming Bitbox micro to have a couple of really useful features that aren't going to exist in the full bitbox mk2? The Midi out and increased number / flexible assignment of outputs are a huge deal to me.
+1

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3586
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by mdoudoroff » Mon May 18, 2020 1:44 pm

I also thought it was odd to not see the MIDI out and more output flexibility in the Mk2. I would speculate that while the Micro is (obviously) a totally new design focused purely on the Bitbox firmware, the Mk2 is exactly the same hardware as the original Series 1 except for a new microprocessor and whatever minimal adjustments had to be made to accommodate it. Perhaps the Mk2 upgrade required only component swaps, and no new circuit boards? Perhaps they weren’t ready to redesign the module, or perhaps making the changes for parity with the Micro would complicate matters for the forthcoming Synthbox and Effectsbox firmwares that are meant to run on the same hardware?

multimas
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:19 am
Location: NW Italy

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by multimas » Mon May 18, 2020 3:17 pm

Sorry i'm confused, Bitbox Mk2 is it out of production? maybe a new model has to come out? not the micro.

User avatar
dbeats
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:50 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by dbeats » Mon May 18, 2020 3:22 pm

mdoudoroff wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 1:44 pm
...perhaps making the changes for parity with the Micro would complicate matters for the forthcoming Synthbox and Effectsbox firmwares that are meant to run on the same hardware?
Sounds very logical to me. Otherwise hard to explain (to excuse).

User avatar
scragz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Mon May 18, 2020 3:23 pm

multimas wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 3:17 pm
Sorry i'm confused, Bitbox Mk2 is it out of production? maybe a new model has to come out? not the micro.
This is the new revision

multimas
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:19 am
Location: NW Italy

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by multimas » Tue May 19, 2020 1:31 am

scragz wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 3:23 pm
[This is the new revision
ah, I had missed it "coming in june"

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 906
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by LDT » Tue May 19, 2020 2:16 am

multimas wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 3:17 pm
Sorry i'm confused, Bitbox Mk2 is it out of production? maybe a new model has to come out? not the micro.
No, Mk2 is the new wide version (same front as mk1) that is going to come out in june, together with the slimmer micro version.
-Lars

Halfgeleider
Common Wiggler
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 1:53 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Halfgeleider » Wed May 20, 2020 2:41 pm

Is there a manual available for the latest firmware? Cant seem to find it...

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2328
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by bemushroomed » Wed May 20, 2020 2:47 pm

Halfgeleider wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 2:41 pm
Is there a manual available for the latest firmware? Cant seem to find it...
No, and the firmware is still in BETA so it's probably not something we should expect before we see the final version.

Edit: ...and just like that 3.0 Final was released. https://forum.1010music.com/forum/produ ... bitbox-3-0

User avatar
Switchzik
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:41 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Switchzik » Thu May 21, 2020 7:49 am

Hi everyone.
I've quickly been through the manual but couldn't find the info.
(BTW, I'm interested by the micro.)

When using midi, can the bitbox respond to trig, gate length, velocity and pitch ?

Also can it record line level audio, say coming from an iPad ? Whitout the need of an amplifier.

Thanks !

User avatar
scragz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Thu May 21, 2020 10:53 am

Switchzik wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 7:49 am
When using midi, can the bitbox respond to trig, gate length, velocity and pitch ?
On the global channel where each key maps to a single pad it doesn't respond to pitch. If you set a pad to have its own channel then it works like an old school sampler where each key changes pitch. By default velocity is mapped to volume but you can assign it to other parameters. You can change launch mode for each pad to trigger or gate depending if you want it constrained to gate length.

User avatar
boboter
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 817
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by boboter » Thu May 21, 2020 12:08 pm

In the description of the 3.0 firmware it says:

"The ability to load multisamples, up to 32 samples across one preset"

Does that mean if you load a multisample containing eg 20 single samples to one cell, would the other 15 cells then share 12 samples in total?
jogging house ... new album 'chants' out now.

User avatar
Switchzik
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:41 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Switchzik » Fri May 22, 2020 8:02 am

scragz wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 10:53 am
Switchzik wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 7:49 am
When using midi, can the bitbox respond to trig, gate length, velocity and pitch ?
On the global channel where each key maps to a single pad it doesn't respond to pitch. If you set a pad to have its own channel then it works like an old school sampler where each key changes pitch. By default velocity is mapped to volume but you can assign it to other parameters. You can change launch mode for each pad to trigger or gate depending if you want it constrained to gate length.
Thanks for your answer ! Sounds good.

Griuk_negyvas
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:24 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Griuk_negyvas » Tue May 26, 2020 4:02 pm

Install version 3.1 not work triggers. can play samples only with toggle. somebody have same problem?

User avatar
dbeats
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:50 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by dbeats » Tue May 26, 2020 4:24 pm

Griuk_negyvas wrote:
Tue May 26, 2020 4:02 pm
Install version 3.1 not work triggers. can play samples only with toggle. somebody have same problem?
You mean 3.0.1, I guess. Can't confirm that - triggering samples works fine, as always. So does toggle. No problems at all.

Griuk_negyvas
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 5:24 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Griuk_negyvas » Tue May 26, 2020 4:43 pm

dbeats wrote:
Tue May 26, 2020 4:24 pm
Griuk_negyvas wrote:
Tue May 26, 2020 4:02 pm
Install version 3.1 not work triggers. can play samples only with toggle. somebody have same problem?
You mean 3.0.1, I guess. Can't confirm that - triggering samples works fine, as always. So does toggle. No problems at all.
Yes 3.0.1. Sorry. tgiggers still not work. try with nerdseq, wogglebug, ALM Pam. Only toggle work. :hmm:

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”