1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
OHEXOH
Common Wiggler
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 2:32 pm
Location: Portland
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by OHEXOH » Sat Aug 01, 2020 12:25 am

GregIcky wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 5:57 pm
I’m just scratching the surface of the Micros features. Sending gates to one-shots. It’s basically going to replace my STS. The lack of any screen and trying to remember button combos for basic editing was a bummer. The Micro is pretty amazing considering what you can do with it.

I read that you can’t record cv because the inputs are not DC coupled. But that you CAN record modulation onto the SD card from a DAW. I’m not sure how you would do that exactly. But if it’s true, seems like you could record gate or even note sequences onto it then trigger them in loop mode. If you actually do that I would imagine you could make some pretty complex rhythm patterns.

How does one record modulation into a .wave tho? Is it even possible?
You can record cv.
Gear for sale (Reverb): https://bit.ly/2Sb90oc

GregIcky
Common Wiggler
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:27 pm
Location: PNW

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by GregIcky » Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:13 pm

Is there any talk of a screensaver for the BB micro? Do any of there other box modules have one? I turned my screen brightness down all the way and it’s still pretty darn bright. I’m guessing it will burn in pretty bad over time.

User avatar
pekbro
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:16 am
Location: Maui

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by pekbro » Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:21 pm

GregIcky wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:13 pm
Is there any talk of a screensaver for the BB micro? Do any of there other box modules have one? I turned my screen brightness down all the way and it’s still pretty darn bright. I’m guessing it will burn in pretty bad over time.
There is no screen saver in the old ones at least. TBH the burn thing isn't really a problem that I've noticed
with either of my two 1010 modules over a few years time.

User avatar
Ray Diode
El Popo
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:34 pm
Location: Crab Nebula, AUS

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Ray Diode » Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:43 pm

GregIcky wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:13 pm
Is there any talk of a screensaver for the BB micro? Do any of there other box modules have one? I turned my screen brightness down all the way and it’s still pretty darn bright. I’m guessing it will burn in pretty bad over time.
the new micro firmware updates the ‘flickering when screen brightness reduced’ issue I believe 👍🏽
Alphatown | Phonku Bot | Oscillator Repair Team
| Weird Fiction Records |

GregIcky
Common Wiggler
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:27 pm
Location: PNW

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by GregIcky » Fri Aug 07, 2020 7:28 pm

Ray Diode wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:43 pm
GregIcky wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:13 pm
Is there any talk of a screensaver for the BB micro? Do any of there other box modules have one? I turned my screen brightness down all the way and it’s still pretty darn bright. I’m guessing it will burn in pretty bad over time.
the new micro firmware updates the ‘flickering when screen brightness reduced’ issue I believe 👍🏽
My screen has never flickered. It's fine. I just don't want my screen burned in after having it been on for 6 months or a year (ever!)

GregIcky
Common Wiggler
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:27 pm
Location: PNW

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by GregIcky » Fri Aug 07, 2020 7:30 pm

pekbro wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:21 pm
GregIcky wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 4:13 pm
Is there any talk of a screensaver for the BB micro? Do any of there other box modules have one? I turned my screen brightness down all the way and it’s still pretty darn bright. I’m guessing it will burn in pretty bad over time.
There is no screen saver in the old ones at least. TBH the burn thing isn't really a problem that I've noticed
with either of my two 1010 modules over a few years time.
Ah ok, I read that after my last comment. Good to know.

I'm not having any of the issues that people have been talking about. Just recorded some samples straight out of a volca - even turned up the level in the bitbox until it peaked then took it down a few turns.... no clicks or pops... sounds perfect. Thing rules.

Phil Frog
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 7:30 am
Location: EU

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Phil Frog » Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:25 pm

Never had any issue with my Bitbox mk2 …
And I just noticed the manual was online, good!

keef321
Common Wiggler
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 2:01 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by keef321 » Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:18 pm

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone has tried the mutli-sampling functionality yet, but in the sense of mapping multiple drum hits samples on one pad? I was hoping I could put several loop friendly 'drum rides' on one pad, and then change the loop utilising a quantized CV signal from a sequencer?

Fingers crossed, thanks

User avatar
exper
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10100
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 6:41 am
Location: Southern NJ

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by exper » Sun Aug 09, 2020 2:36 pm

Warning. They released a new firmware for the micro. It made things even worse. This thing is going back now.

I installed the firmware, it booted and then I went to adjust the brightness (it was back at 100%) and it made all of my modules go haywire. I turned the system off, restarted and within a couple of seconds everything went haywire again.

I wanted this thing to work but I’m not blowing up my other modules for one.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
FS/T: Goike Folding Case / Grayscale Panels
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”