1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
studio460
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1082
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 10:35 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by studio460 » Fri Feb 12, 2021 11:35 pm

For the only spent (I got a second Bitbox on a super-killer Sweetwater deal), I am super f'ing happy with my Bitbox v2 and fxbox as-is. Would it be nice if it did X, Y, or Z? I guess so, but both products as-released are super-products in my book. They both do exactly what I bought them for, and am really, really pleased with both.
Image

User avatar
scragz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:35 am

rayultine wrote:
Fri Feb 12, 2021 9:04 am
I love how Aaron of 1010music is suddenly surprised on his own forum that people would want to import multisamples into the bitbox, and he has no idea about how to do that easily.
I spent a whole weekend trying to get the wav metadata shit working for velocity multisamples using the wav standard and the fields bitbox claims to support. Finally posted asking for a known working sample using the metadata to examine or wondering if maybe the feature doesn't work.... They assured me it works but could not provide a test wav in the correct format..... How do you know it works without tests???

I gave up. I ended up making slices and using velocity for slice selection but it didn't seem to like the long files and would pop and crackle out so I gave up on those too.

User avatar
Electro Something
Common Wiggler
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Electro Something » Sun Feb 14, 2021 1:58 pm

How many sources can the Bitbox and Bitbox Micro record simultaneously? I see 8 mono inputs?

User avatar
scragz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Sun Feb 14, 2021 4:11 pm

Electro Something wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 1:58 pm
How many sources can the Bitbox and Bitbox Micro record simultaneously? I see 8 mono inputs?
Bitbox has two inputs and can only record a single stereo or mono sample at a time.

User avatar
Peng33
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:25 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Peng33 » Sun Feb 14, 2021 7:56 pm

Electro Something wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 1:58 pm
How many sources can the Bitbox and Bitbox Micro record simultaneously? I see 8 mono inputs?
If you are looking to multitrack in the same form factor (albeit, as a stand-alone unit), 1010 Music's Bluebox can record up to 6 stereo or 12 mono tracks (or any combination thereof) simultaneously.

enno
Common Wiggler
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 3:14 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by enno » Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:35 am

I am trying to figure out if I can "mix in" external audio into my bitbox - not via samples but just playing another voice through the bitbox.

Does anyone know?

Niche usecase but I want to pack a couple of modules into a small case and want to figure out if I can do without a mixer!

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 11196
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Mon Feb 15, 2021 7:40 am

scragz wrote:
Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:35 am
rayultine wrote:
Fri Feb 12, 2021 9:04 am
I love how Aaron of 1010music is suddenly surprised on his own forum that people would want to import multisamples into the bitbox, and he has no idea about how to do that easily.
I spent a whole weekend trying to get the wav metadata shit working for velocity multisamples using the wav standard and the fields bitbox claims to support. Finally posted asking for a known working sample using the metadata to examine or wondering if maybe the feature doesn't work.... They assured me it works but could not provide a test wav in the correct format..... How do you know it works without tests???

I gave up. I ended up making slices and using velocity for slice selection but it didn't seem to like the long files and would pop and crackle out so I gave up on those too.
Wouldn't it be possible to create a multisample using the on-board process and then check its metadata?

Crap. I was hoping I'd be able to use Reaper to make multisamples on the computer and import them on the Micro.

Also, anybody else having severe issues with crackling at even medium polyphony? I'm on the latest firmware and have set up limits to polyphony per pad to 8, but I get crackling (the unbearable-freaking-the-LEDs-out kind) even with just two pads at a total if 16 notes possible polyphony.

It could be a multisample issue!
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
Spacelordmother
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 5:40 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Spacelordmother » Mon Feb 15, 2021 7:45 am

enno wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:35 am
I am trying to figure out if I can "mix in" external audio into my bitbox - not via samples but just playing another voice through the bitbox.

Does anyone know?

Niche usecase but I want to pack a couple of modules into a small case and want to figure out if I can do without a mixer!
You can monitor the live inputs on channel 1 and 2, so -- yup!

enno
Common Wiggler
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 3:14 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by enno » Mon Feb 15, 2021 9:13 am

Spacelordmother wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 7:45 am
enno wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 6:35 am
I am trying to figure out if I can "mix in" external audio into my bitbox - not via samples but just playing another voice through the bitbox.

Does anyone know?

Niche usecase but I want to pack a couple of modules into a small case and want to figure out if I can do without a mixer!
You can monitor the live inputs on channel 1 and 2, so -- yup!
I tried that but didn’t get it to work - what settings do I need for that? Thanks for your help!!

User avatar
Spacelordmother
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2021 5:40 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Spacelordmother » Mon Feb 15, 2021 10:36 am

Set your inputs to audio under the tools menu. Then from the recording screen set "REC MON" to ON.

User avatar
rayultine
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 727
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Memphis TN

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by rayultine » Mon Feb 15, 2021 11:25 am

Paranormal Patroler wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 7:40 am
scragz wrote:
Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:35 am
rayultine wrote:
Fri Feb 12, 2021 9:04 am
I love how Aaron of 1010music is suddenly surprised on his own forum that people would want to import multisamples into the bitbox, and he has no idea about how to do that easily.
I spent a whole weekend trying to get the wav metadata shit working for velocity multisamples using the wav standard and the fields bitbox claims to support. Finally posted asking for a known working sample using the metadata to examine or wondering if maybe the feature doesn't work.... They assured me it works but could not provide a test wav in the correct format..... How do you know it works without tests???

I gave up. I ended up making slices and using velocity for slice selection but it didn't seem to like the long files and would pop and crackle out so I gave up on those too.
Wouldn't it be possible to create a multisample using the on-board process and then check its metadata?

Crap. I was hoping I'd be able to use Reaper to make multisamples on the computer and import them on the Micro.
PP - Aaron has clearly specified the necessary metadata and formatting. It just can't be manually or automatically done in a DAW like Reaper. You have to bounce to an audio editing software like Audacity or Sound Forge. Blehhh

enno
Common Wiggler
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 3:14 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by enno » Mon Feb 15, 2021 11:28 am

Spacelordmother wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 10:36 am
Set your inputs to audio under the tools menu. Then from the recording screen set "REC MON" to ON.
Hero - thanks!

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 11196
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Mon Feb 15, 2021 12:17 pm

rayultine wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 11:25 am
Paranormal Patroler wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 7:40 am
scragz wrote:
Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:35 am
rayultine wrote:
Fri Feb 12, 2021 9:04 am
I love how Aaron of 1010music is suddenly surprised on his own forum that people would want to import multisamples into the bitbox, and he has no idea about how to do that easily.
I spent a whole weekend trying to get the wav metadata shit working for velocity multisamples using the wav standard and the fields bitbox claims to support. Finally posted asking for a known working sample using the metadata to examine or wondering if maybe the feature doesn't work.... They assured me it works but could not provide a test wav in the correct format..... How do you know it works without tests???

I gave up. I ended up making slices and using velocity for slice selection but it didn't seem to like the long files and would pop and crackle out so I gave up on those too.
Wouldn't it be possible to create a multisample using the on-board process and then check its metadata?

Crap. I was hoping I'd be able to use Reaper to make multisamples on the computer and import them on the Micro.
PP - Aaron has clearly specified the necessary metadata and formatting. It just can't be manually or automatically done in a DAW like Reaper. You have to bounce to an audio editing software like Audacity or Sound Forge. Blehhh
Scripting it on Reaper would habe been too easy! Any link to the requirements? I'll try Audacity, thankfully it's the other audio software in my computer.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
scragz
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by scragz » Mon Feb 15, 2021 12:29 pm

rayultine wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 11:25 am
Paranormal Patroler wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 7:40 am
scragz wrote:
Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:35 am
rayultine wrote:
Fri Feb 12, 2021 9:04 am
I love how Aaron of 1010music is suddenly surprised on his own forum that people would want to import multisamples into the bitbox, and he has no idea about how to do that easily.
I spent a whole weekend trying to get the wav metadata shit working for velocity multisamples using the wav standard and the fields bitbox claims to support. Finally posted asking for a known working sample using the metadata to examine or wondering if maybe the feature doesn't work.... They assured me it works but could not provide a test wav in the correct format..... How do you know it works without tests???

I gave up. I ended up making slices and using velocity for slice selection but it didn't seem to like the long files and would pop and crackle out so I gave up on those too.
Wouldn't it be possible to create a multisample using the on-board process and then check its metadata?

Crap. I was hoping I'd be able to use Reaper to make multisamples on the computer and import them on the Micro.
PP - Aaron has clearly specified the necessary metadata and formatting. It just can't be manually or automatically done in a DAW like Reaper. You have to bounce to an audio editing software like Audacity or Sound Forge. Blehhh
Pretty sure the way it works on bitbox created multisamples is with XML files in the presets. I only have OG Bitbox so I can't look at what the created multisamples are to copy off that. I tried hitting New Multi -> Rec and it just crashes the whole OS.

They clearly specified the metadata but I made samples in the correct format and it doesn't seem like bitbox reads the velocity values for single note velocity multisamples even though it says it should.

Those inst chunks are pretty obscure parts of the spec and when they are used it's usually for splitting up the notes, not velocity.

User avatar
vytis
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:30 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by vytis » Mon Feb 15, 2021 2:52 pm

Bitbox mk1, latest firmware here. Having some trouble trying to figure out how to record loops in sync with a clock from Pamela's New Workout. My recordings don't loop beautifully like in the video demo. They aren't cut to the right length (say, 2 bars).

Here's how I have it set up:
- PNW is sending a steady gate at x16 to Bitbox clock input.
- Bitbox recording to one of the slots. Length: 2 bars, Rec Quant: 1 bar (I've tried 1/2, 1/4 etc).
- Hit record, it does its counting and stops recording. The loop is there, but it's something like 20% longer than 2 bars and doesn't loop nicely.

No doubt this is user error. What am I doing wrong? Wrong clock? Wrong settings?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Electro Something
Common Wiggler
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by Electro Something » Mon Feb 15, 2021 5:06 pm

Peng33 wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 7:56 pm
If you are looking to multitrack in the same form factor (albeit, as a stand-alone unit), 1010 Music's Bluebox can record up to 6 stereo or 12 mono tracks (or any combination thereof) simultaneously.
Yeah that's exactly what I'm going for. A shame the Bluebox isn't eurorack.

User avatar
vytis
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 7:30 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by vytis » Tue Feb 16, 2021 4:40 pm

Here's a follow up to my previous investigation...

After a bit of head scratching I've managed to get it all working. I am now able to record perfect loops which are in sync with each other.

What's changed:
- Pamela's New Workout set to PPQN: 04
- PNW set to output a gate at x1 (instead of x16)
- New FAT32 formatted 32GB microSD SanDisk card (before I had a 128GB Samsung card, exFAT)

I can now record 2 bars, quantized to 1 bar. Sync is great.

Perhaps this will be useful to someone else unable to sync to analog clock.

User avatar
SOPiiAC
Common Wiggler
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:47 pm

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by SOPiiAC » Mon Feb 22, 2021 10:17 pm

Anyone that owns a Micro wish they had the MK2 instead? Vice versa? Trying to decide between the two and it is hard.

enno
Common Wiggler
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 3:14 am

Re: 1010 Music Bitbox - Sampler/Looper

Post by enno » Tue Feb 23, 2021 6:04 am

I'm on the MK2.
For me the main "pro" is the large screen, very nice to navigate, particularly when chopping up samples
On the other hand, I rarely use more than 8 samples for playback. So in that respect I could have saved some money and HP and gone with the micro.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”