FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
XiXora
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:39 am
Location: London, UK

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by XiXora » Thu Jan 23, 2020 7:59 pm

Oh, that's super disappointing on the Poly 2…

User avatar
Jumbuktu
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1204
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Jumbuktu » Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:43 pm

chaosick wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:06 am
$700 for a powerful 2 track sequencer is a bit excessive, while $1000 for a super powerful 8 track sequencer including multiple lines of drum programming within a track, MIDI, Din Sync, and other stuff, that all works together internally calibrated as one device..is so so worth it and makes a bunch of other things redundant, IMO.
I think that is a bit unfair to the Vector. Without the expander, it is still an 8-track sequencer, not 2 tracks. As well as the two full sets of 3 CV / gate/ Velocity outputs, there are two MIDI outs that can drive as many voices as you want. You can drive a drum machine with or without the expander. I have a Dreadbox L'il Erebus in my rack, and using MIDI I can utilise the duophonic capabilities. Plus, you can use up to three tracks to drive each set of CV / Gate outputs - to create polymetric effects, which uses up six tracks. I don't plan to get the expander at this stage, and I don't see the price as excessive , although I grant that is not a casual purchase. After trying a number of other options, this one is the first in-box solution that has worked for me.

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Common Wiggler
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Fri Jan 24, 2020 2:41 am

Jumbuktu wrote:
Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:43 pm

I think that is a bit unfair to the Vector. Without the expander, it is still an 8-track sequencer, not 2 tracks. As well as the two full sets of 3 CV / gate/ Velocity outputs, there are two MIDI outs that can drive as many voices as you want. You can drive a drum machine with or without the expander. I have a Dreadbox L'il Erebus in my rack, and using MIDI I can utilise the duophonic capabilities. Plus, you can use up to three tracks to drive each set of CV / Gate outputs - to create polymetric effects, which uses up six tracks. I don't plan to get the expander at this stage, and I don't see the price as excessive , although I grant that is not a casual purchase. After trying a number of other options, this one is the first in-box solution that has worked for me.
Agreed!

phobik
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 11:16 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by phobik » Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:16 am

any idea what processor the vector has/how fast/powerful it is, or if it's running at full capacity already or how many more features can be added?

User avatar
Innerself2007
Common Wiggler
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Central NJ

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Innerself2007 » Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:52 am

Quick question, how do you get into the drum tracks? I followed the instructions from the Five 12 forum but not seeing anything about drum tracks, I have the latest firmware installed. The instructions say 2nd globals page, does that mean I press globals 2 times? its very confusing for me. The only thing I see that resembles this is parts showing 5-6 not 5-8 and nothing says "Drum" when I turn the encoder.
Is the information in the forum the only place to find instructions? Its an odd place, a proper updated manual would be helpful on the website.
Thanks for any help.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2419
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Zymos » Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:23 am

There is an updated ver 1.4 manual. http://45.56.118.96/VectorUserGuideV1.4.pdf

Here’s the bit about getting to the parts: Press Global, press Next you’ll be on the Parts page. Turn encoder 1 until you are on part 5 or higher, turn encoder 6 until it says chord or drum, then shift+clear to initiate the change.
It looks more complicated typed out than it really is..

User avatar
Innerself2007
Common Wiggler
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Central NJ

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Innerself2007 » Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:53 am

Zymos wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:23 am
There is an updated ver 1.4 manual. http://45.56.118.96/VectorUserGuideV1.4.pdf

Here’s the bit about getting to the parts: Press Global, press Next you’ll be on the Parts page. Turn encoder 1 until you are on part 5 or higher, turn encoder 6 until it says chord or drum, then shift+clear to initiate the change.
It looks more complicated typed out than it really is..
Awesome! Thanks for the updated manual, that should help immensely.
Also thanks for the instructions, I will give this another go tonight.
Thanks again

User avatar
Innerself2007
Common Wiggler
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Central NJ

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Innerself2007 » Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:43 am

Zymos wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:23 am
There is an updated ver 1.4 manual. http://45.56.118.96/VectorUserGuideV1.4.pdf

Here’s the bit about getting to the parts: Press Global, press Next you’ll be on the Parts page. Turn encoder 1 until you are on part 5 or higher, turn encoder 6 until it says chord or drum, then shift+clear to initiate the change.
It looks more complicated typed out than it really is..
Just wanted to say that I was able to get the Drum tracks working last night so all is good. The updated manual was a big help and exactly what I needed. Thanks again!

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2419
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Zymos » Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:43 am

:tu: glad you got it figured out!

mmontazeri
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 11:13 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by mmontazeri » Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:18 am

Any idea when retailers will be getting more? PC in particular. Thanks!

kesserich
Common Wiggler
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:35 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by kesserich » Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:59 pm

Has anyone been able to successfully use the j-exp triggers in the expander? I'm have difficulty getting them to work. The expander itself seems fine because I can get it out output gates for parts but the trig jacks aren't working for input or output.

The simplest scenario I can't get to work: Use the j-exp triggers to output clock dividers. Page 5 of the v1.4 manual says:
```
J-EXP TRIGS: For the optional Jack Expander module, these are set to output clock divisions by default. The first 6 triggers can also be config- ured as inputs, see page 16 for more details. Trigger outputs use a 2-step edit process: Turn the encoder to pick a value, push the encoder to activate it.
```
So I got to globals -> routing and set Trig 1 to 'W'. I am expecting this to mean that the once per whole note, the J-Exp trig #1 will output a trigger but I never get any voltage.

joskery
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by joskery » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:35 pm

Can try this in a few days. Which firmware version?

kesserich
Common Wiggler
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:35 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by kesserich » Sat Feb 15, 2020 7:05 pm

Firmware is 1.4.0.

I also made sure that the none of the Parts are attempting to use any of the J-Exp trigs in their Control screen. All parts are using MDC(via MIDI), and 'auto' reset. I thought things might get weird if part of the sequence was saying 'hey, output clock divisions through J-Exp trig 1' while another part of the sequencer was saying 'reset whenever you get voltage from J-Exp trig 1'. But it does not seem to matter.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2419
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Zymos » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:19 pm

I use the jexp triggers constantly as extra clock sources, they work just like they are supposed to. I’d contact Jim, sounds like it may be broken.
Last edited by Zymos on Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Tomorrow Sounds Good
Common Wiggler
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:24 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Tomorrow Sounds Good » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:23 pm

To setup routing, navigate to the 3rd page of Globals: Press the
GLOBAL button, then NEXT twice, to the page titled ROUTING. To setup
a trigger out to work with a drum part, use Encoder 9 to scroll to the
sub-page for 'RUN, CLOCK, RESET' or 'J-EXP TRIGS', then hold SHIFT
while turning the Encoder for the trigger you want to map. Turn until
you see D5.1, about 4 clicks depending on where the trigger was set
originally. The 'D' is for drums, '5' is for Part 5, and '1' is the
first drum voice. From there, release the shift key and turn the
encoder to pick the drum part and voice you want the trigger to
output. All four parts (5-8) will show up regardless of whether they
are currently drum parts or not.

For setting up Gate and/or Velocity CVs, turn Encoder 9 to get to the
appropriat sub-page, such as 'CV OUT 3-4' or 'CV OUT 5-6'. Turn the
encoder for the desired output to pick the drum part, then hold SHIFT
and turn to pick the desired voice.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2419
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Zymos » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:37 pm

They aren’t trying to use a drum track, but simply output triggers. (Unless you are responding to someone else?)

It’s all done on pg 5/10 of globals.

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4128
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by Sinamsis » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:48 pm

I had the same issue. At first we thought it was an issue with the new firmware. It turns out my expander pooped out. Not sure why. It might have been my fault for all I know. But Jim took care of me.

kesserich
Common Wiggler
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:35 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by kesserich » Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:13 pm

Sinamsis wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:48 pm
I had the same issue. At first we thought it was an issue with the new firmware. It turns out my expander pooped out. Not sure why. It might have been my fault for all I know. But Jim took care of me.
Gotcha. I'll hit up Jim and see what he says. Thanks for help everybody!

joskery
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by joskery » Mon Feb 17, 2020 3:51 am


User avatar
gonkulator
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1433
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:56 pm
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by gonkulator » Tue Feb 18, 2020 6:21 pm

I finally ordered one with an expander last weekend.

I got to meet James at NAMM last month. I found him really friendly, and committed to the task. He even came over to our booth and was real interested in our keyboard. I wish him a lot of success.
Racks
Solaris Site
Stuff for sale
Stuff for sale shown on Modulargrid
WTB: Black panels


Unflappably nonchalant, with some exceptions

kesserich
Common Wiggler
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:35 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer Teaser

Post by kesserich » Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:41 pm

kesserich wrote:
Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:13 pm
Sinamsis wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:48 pm
I had the same issue. At first we thought it was an issue with the new firmware. It turns out my expander pooped out. Not sure why. It might have been my fault for all I know. But Jim took care of me.
Gotcha. I'll hit up Jim and see what he says. Thanks for help everybody!
So I contacted Jim and was he very helpful. He instructed me to boot vector up into disk mode, backup my projects, and try throwing away my preferences. When I did this the expander worked perfectly. I then copied my projects back onto the vector and expander continued to work perfectly. I was even able to switch T1 to 'ext' and use an incoming trigger train to drive the sequencer. I guess this implies it was user error but I'm still confused as to which software setting I fucked up.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”