FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
nrg242
Common Wiggler
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:29 pm
Location: United States

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by nrg242 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 12:32 pm

i'm not sure if the beta FW info is to be posted publicly so check your PM.

Daduk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:24 am

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Daduk » Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:39 pm

Another annoying thing on the Eloquencer which I hope the Vector does different. If you want to Divide a track it works perfectly fine and divides against the masterclock, so divide by 2, it plays back the track twice as slow but with Repeat if I set it to REP 2 on say track 02, instead of multiplying the clock, and say TRACK 02 plays twice as fast as TRACK 01, it plays half as fast because it repeats each step twice before moving to the next step. Is this different on the Vector, does Rep by 2 actually does play that track twice as fast as the rest? Thanks again.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:55 pm

If I understand what you are saying, that sounds to me like the way it <should> work, with the number of steps and the tempo division being totally separate. If you want it to take as long as another track that’s going 1X the tempo, then you can just speed up the other track.
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

Daduk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:24 am

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Daduk » Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:09 pm

Actually what i mean is the way Pams new workout works. I set a tempo of 1 on track 1, tempo of 2 on track 2, track 2 runs twice as fast as track one.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:26 pm

I don’t know how Eloquencer works, but on Vector it’s just like you’d expect. Each part of Vector has its own tempo setting, with divisions and multiples of the global tempo. Just with that, it’s pretty simple and predictable- if one part has a speed of 4, it will play 4 times in the time it takes a part with a speed of 1 to play once.

But each step can also have its own length and number of repeats, both of which effect the time it takes to play through the pattern once.
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

Daduk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:24 am

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Daduk » Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:36 pm

Zymos wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:26 pm
I don’t know how Eloquencer works, but on Vector it’s just like you’d expect. Each part of Vector has its own tempo setting, with divisions and multiples of the global tempo. Just with that, it’s pretty simple and predictable- if one part has a speed of 4, it will play 4 times in the time it takes a part with a speed of 1 to play once.

But each step can also have its own length and number of repeats, both of which effect the time it takes to play through the pattern once.
Thats great man! Exactly what I hoped for. If you select multiply/Repeat 4 on the Elo, it will play 4 steps on that specific step and then proceed to the next step. Not quitte what one would expect.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:43 pm

Same on Vector, because repeat is a per step parameter. But rate is for the part as a whole.
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

autopoiesis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1162
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:00 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by autopoiesis » Thu Oct 15, 2020 5:07 am

Daduk wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:36 pm
Zymos wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 8:26 pm
I don’t know how Eloquencer works, but on Vector it’s just like you’d expect. Each part of Vector has its own tempo setting, with divisions and multiples of the global tempo. Just with that, it’s pretty simple and predictable- if one part has a speed of 4, it will play 4 times in the time it takes a part with a speed of 1 to play once.

But each step can also have its own length and number of repeats, both of which effect the time it takes to play through the pattern once.
Thats great man! Exactly what I hoped for. If you select multiply/Repeat 4 on the Elo, it will play 4 steps on that specific step and then proceed to the next step. Not quitte what one would expect.
if you don't want the RYK M185-style step repeat (repeat the same step n times at the same tempo as the rest of the sequencer track), you can use the Ratchet parameter (instead of Step Repeat) on Vector

vraufen
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by vraufen » Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:49 am

can you use a subsequence to apply a kind of vibrato or just slow detune on a sequence? Kind of like slowly modulating pitch bend

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:59 am

Nope, it can only transpose in whole notes.
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

vraufen
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by vraufen » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:05 am

Zymos wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:59 am
Nope, it can only transpose in whole notes.
:waah: If anyone is attending synthbooth, maybe they could ask if that would be possible to implement for me :goo:

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3945
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by mdoudoroff » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:26 am

Why not just patch that downstream?

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:52 am

vraufen wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:05 am
Zymos wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:59 am
Nope, it can only transpose in whole notes.
:waah: If anyone is attending synthbooth, maybe they could ask if that would be possible to implement for me :goo:
Better to make a feature request on the five12 forum...

(agree, seems easy enough to do outside of the sequencer)
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

vraufen
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by vraufen » Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:25 pm

mdoudoroff wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:26 am
Why not just patch that downstream?
Saves those downstream modules for other tasks

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:35 pm

Many/most oscillators have an FM input with attenuator- plug in an LFO and you’re set.
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3945
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by mdoudoroff » Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:19 pm

vraufen wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:25 pm
mdoudoroff wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:26 am
Why not just patch that downstream?
Saves those downstream modules for other tasks
:picard:

vraufen
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by vraufen » Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:39 pm

mdoudoroff wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:19 pm
vraufen wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:25 pm
mdoudoroff wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:26 am
Why not just patch that downstream?
Saves those downstream modules for other tasks
:picard:
? Not everyone has an endless supply of modules

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3945
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by mdoudoroff » Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:21 pm

vraufen wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:39 pm
? Not everyone has an endless supply of modules
Pretty much nobody has an endless supply of modules. We all work within limitations. Also, see multiples and stackables.

Nevertheless, this is a modular synthesizer forum. I thought you might have some MIDI-related trickery in mind, since Vector straddles both worlds, but if all you want is to mildly FM your modular oscillators, then your existing LFOs should do that job nicely and directly. No need to belabor the Vector.

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4442
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Sinamsis » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:50 pm

mdoudoroff wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 5:21 pm
vraufen wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 4:39 pm
? Not everyone has an endless supply of modules
Pretty much nobody has an endless supply of modules. We all work within limitations. Also, see multiples and stackables.

Nevertheless, this is a modular synthesizer forum. I thought you might have some MIDI-related trickery in mind, since Vector straddles both worlds, but if all you want is to mildly FM your modular oscillators, then your existing LFOs should do that job nicely and directly. No need to belabor the Vector.
Yeah... or use dedicated modules. The IME Argos Bleak does this. Or a precision adder and LFO. Not sure if a mixer would work for this well. But expecting all of this from module might be unreasonable. Personally I don’t want this feature. And if it comes at the cost of UI I DEF don’t want this feature.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Sat Oct 17, 2020 8:06 pm

Not something I’d ever use, myself.
But it would be one more selection out of a small handful of choices for the sub sequencer destination- I don’t think that’s going to ruin anyone’s user experience.

It’s not an outlandish request or anything, why NOT save an LFO and an extra cable if you can?
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4442
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Sinamsis » Sat Oct 17, 2020 8:22 pm

Zymos wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 8:06 pm
Not something I’d ever use, myself.
But it would be one more selection out of a small handful of choices for the sub sequencer destination- I don’t think that’s going to ruin anyone’s user experience.

It’s not an outlandish request or anything, why NOT save an LFO and an extra cable if you can?
I don’t feel strongly either way. But as it stands you have to cycle through each submenu to get to the top. Every additional submenu makes it harder. And there’s no built in LFO as it stands. It might make most sense to allow an external CV to modulate pitch in smaller increments than semitones of this is not already a feature. Anyways there are limited resources in terms of hardware and Jim’s time. So just like anyone can make a feature request, others are free to mention their disinterest in said feature.

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2693
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by Zymos » Sat Oct 17, 2020 8:39 pm

It wouldn’t be another sub menu, it would just be one more choice of a pretty short list. You can select transpose as a destination, and set the amount of transposition as +/- steps. What if you could pick “pitch” and the value was in cents? You can just roll your own LFO in the sub sequencer.

But whatever.....
I guess we don’t have the “beating a dead horse” smilie anymore?
maybe you’d like to buy some nice used modules? Free cables with purchase!!

viewtopic.php?f=74&t=235367&p=3313562&h ... s#p3313562

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3945
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by mdoudoroff » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:34 pm

Zymos wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 8:06 pm
It’s not an outlandish request or anything, why NOT save an LFO and an extra cable if you can?
No it’s not outlandish, but I wouldn’t say it’s reasonable either. Not to pick on vraufen: there are hundreds of unrealistic or unreasonable software requests on MW. I’ve started calling it the Disting effect—a handful of modules create the impression that anything can be accomplished with a little firmware update, so why not? Well, it can’t, and even if it technically can, everything has a price (as Sinamsis has noted). To be fair, Jim certainly does solicit feature requests for Vector.

Even setting aside appropriateness, subsequencers in Vector are simple eight step—stepped—sequencers. They’re not LFOs, there’s no slewing and not much resolution there to work with. They’re not going to be good at stuff like vibrato or detune—they’re designed for macro sequencing. And there’s plenty of room for improvement within that scope.

vraufen
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by vraufen » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:40 pm

I may have articulated my desire improperly. I am not after a fast lfo-vibrato effect, rather I would like a small variation of a couple cents applied from a subsequence so that each note is slightly out of tune in a sequenced (stepped lfo) fashion. I figured that since this sequencer has midi sequencing capabilities, with pitch bend being a standard midi protocol, that a slight pitch bend type thing could be applied to the cv outputs. All good, I will use a LFO
Last edited by vraufen on Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

vraufen
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 pm

Re: FIVE12 Eurorack Vector Sequencer

Post by vraufen » Sat Oct 17, 2020 9:40 pm

double post

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”