Intellijel Tetrapad

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
Hovercraft
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1120
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:22 am
Location: DC

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by Hovercraft » Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Considering Tete comes with two expander cables and two connectors--I think it's still in the plans. The Tete functions are complex, so there's a lot of decisions to make (and programming) to incorporate a 2nd Tetrapad. I love the Tete, but don't like subdividing the controller pads too much, so I'll definitely be picking up another Tetrapad.

User avatar
windchill
Common Wiggler
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:48 am

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by windchill » Sun Feb 16, 2020 6:13 pm

Thanks xcc and Parnelli that's good enough for me, I'm ordering a Tete in the morning.
I have one slight disappointment, from reading the manual - the notes mode doesn't seem to have the Rene-style x and y trig and cv inputs. Sure, it's available in voltage mode but then you lose all the note mode features.

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1662
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by kisielk » Mon Feb 17, 2020 8:08 am

Notes mode is not an x / y grid. You can quantize the outputs of voltages mode and use x and y modulation to get that kind of sequencing.
Intellijel R&D

Parnelli
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:04 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by Parnelli » Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:05 pm

Thanks for the tip! You folks really did a great job on this!

Now all I have to do is buy either a new computer to upgrade my old Tetrapad or just buy a new Tetrapad with the right software.

User avatar
kisielk
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1662
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:38 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by kisielk » Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:34 pm

You should be able to upgrade it on most Windows or macOS computers. If you're having trouble just email support@intellijel.com and someone will help walk you through it.
Intellijel R&D

User avatar
xcc
Common Wiggler
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by xcc » Thu Feb 20, 2020 10:53 pm

Has anyone had issues with record length when looping? Mine has stopped being predictable, sometimes looping for two steps, sometimes 17, etc. this is with loop length set to usually 64 or 128. This is being clocked by Pams.

User avatar
windchill
Common Wiggler
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:48 am

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by windchill » Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:15 am

So my Rene has gone and I now have a Tetrapad and Tete.
What a fantastic pair they make!
More intuitive to use and easier to play than I expected, and so powerful.
Even the tiny screen is fine - much to my surprise.
Highly recommended.

It would be nice to have some very basic probability control in the sequencer, as I personally find a little automatic variation essential, but it's a VERY small point and it's early days with the firmware.

Parnelli
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1178
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:04 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by Parnelli » Fri Feb 21, 2020 11:37 am

kisielk wrote:
Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:34 pm
You should be able to upgrade it on most Windows or macOS computers. If you're having trouble just email support@intellijel.com and someone will help walk you through it.
I've already contacted you folks and you were gracious enough to offer me to send it in so you could upgrade it. The problem is on my end as my computers run Win 98 and XP Pro. I want to buy a new computer, but I cannot now afford what I'd like to get, and I can't see throwing money at a cheap one just for this sort of thing, it's less expensive to buy a new module for now, and there's always a use for the older unit.

Thank You. :tu:

autopoiesis
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:00 pm

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by autopoiesis » Fri Feb 21, 2020 11:49 am

windchill wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:15 am
It would be nice to have some very basic probability control in the sequencer, as I personally find a little automatic variation essential, but it's a VERY small point and it's early days with the firmware.
If you mean some kind of stochastic change over step position, you could try sending an external random source (even simple noise would work) into a Tete CV input assigned to "Bank CV (CLK)". Turning up the attenuator will introduce more random variation over which voltage bank is selected at each new clock pulse (offset from whatever order you have sequenced the banks in already).

User avatar
windchill
Common Wiggler
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 6:48 am

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by windchill » Fri Feb 21, 2020 12:26 pm

autopoiesis wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 11:49 am
windchill wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:15 am
It would be nice to have some very basic probability control in the sequencer, as I personally find a little automatic variation essential, but it's a VERY small point and it's early days with the firmware.
If you mean some kind of stochastic change over step position, you could try sending an external random source (even simple noise would work) into a Tete CV input assigned to "Bank CV (CLK)". Turning up the attenuator will introduce more random variation over which voltage bank is selected at each new clock pulse (offset from whatever order you have sequenced the banks in already).
Thanks for that - I already experimented with that and it works. I was thinking more along the lines of the way Intellijel's Steppy handles step probability. Sure I can use another sequencer to fire gates (I have a varigate and plan to replace it with a Steppy at some point) but it would be nice to have it on board the tete for use in notes mode... though of course it might just add an unwelcome level of fiddly complexity.

peachesandbacon
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:27 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by peachesandbacon » Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:59 am

Thinking of picking up a tetrapad and a tete.
Will this combo feasibly replace my voltage block?

User avatar
xcc
Common Wiggler
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by xcc » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:19 am

peachesandbacon wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:59 am
Thinking of picking up a tetrapad and a tete.
Will this combo feasibly replace my voltage block?
It did for me, but it probably depends on what you need exactly. It does everything i used my VB for and a ton more, but it won’t do eight quantized sequences at once if that’s what you need.

peachesandbacon
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:27 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by peachesandbacon » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:22 am

xcc wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:19 am
peachesandbacon wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:59 am
Thinking of picking up a tetrapad and a tete.
Will this combo feasibly replace my voltage block?
It did for me, but it probably depends on what you need exactly. It does everything i used my VB for and a ton more, but it won’t do eight quantized sequences at once if that’s what you need.
I tend to use maybe 3 outputs for v/oct quantised cv and then the other outputs as just modulating cv inputs.

What’s the total outputs including tete?

Also there’s only 4 pads, but way more outputs, how do you control the other outputs?

User avatar
xcc
Common Wiggler
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by xcc » Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:27 pm

peachesandbacon wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:22 am
xcc wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:19 am
peachesandbacon wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:59 am
Thinking of picking up a tetrapad and a tete.
Will this combo feasibly replace my voltage block?
It did for me, but it probably depends on what you need exactly. It does everything i used my VB for and a ton more, but it won’t do eight quantized sequences at once if that’s what you need.
I tend to use maybe 3 outputs for v/oct quantised cv and then the other outputs as just modulating cv inputs.

What’s the total outputs including tete?

Also there’s only 4 pads, but way more outputs, how do you control the other outputs?
You’d probably be fine then. I’m just scratching the surface after a few weeks. Each pad has two outputs, and the Tete has two assignable outputs. The manual can show you better than I can what’ll you can do with them. Like if you assign a pad as a fader, one output sends voltage as you move the fader that’s easily quantized or not and the other output sends voltage based on the pressure which is great as a modulator of whatever parameter. Or in Euclidean mode one output sends triggers and the other sends quantizable voltage that could be melody or whatever. Can easily turn latching on so that the fader or button stays where you leave it, which is really fun for controlling or sequencing VCAs.

peachesandbacon
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:27 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by peachesandbacon » Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:51 pm

xcc wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 4:27 pm
peachesandbacon wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:22 am
xcc wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:19 am
peachesandbacon wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:59 am
Thinking of picking up a tetrapad and a tete.
Will this combo feasibly replace my voltage block?
It did for me, but it probably depends on what you need exactly. It does everything i used my VB for and a ton more, but it won’t do eight quantized sequences at once if that’s what you need.
I tend to use maybe 3 outputs for v/oct quantised cv and then the other outputs as just modulating cv inputs.

What’s the total outputs including tete?

Also there’s only 4 pads, but way more outputs, how do you control the other outputs?
You’d probably be fine then. I’m just scratching the surface after a few weeks. Each pad has two outputs, and the Tete has two assignable outputs. The manual can show you better than I can what’ll you can do with them. Like if you assign a pad as a fader, one output sends voltage as you move the fader that’s easily quantized or not and the other output sends voltage based on the pressure which is great as a modulator of whatever parameter. Or in Euclidean mode one output sends triggers and the other sends quantizable voltage that could be melody or whatever. Can easily turn latching on so that the fader or button stays where you leave it, which is really fun for controlling or sequencing VCAs.
Great! Thank you.

One question: Can I record any cv without Tete and just with Tetrapad? Or do I need Tete to do any recording?

autopoiesis
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 6:00 pm

Re: Intellijel Tetrapad

Post by autopoiesis » Sun Feb 23, 2020 5:23 pm

you need the expander to record anything.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”