First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1305
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: Re:

Post by behndy » Fri Feb 07, 2020 4:00 pm

davidjames wrote:
Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:50 pm
behndy, thanks for reminding me I have this idea to try. Maze looks pretty great and it would offer a different spin on dcbb's patch. You wouldn't be able to have more than 4 inputs, but with mixing and routing there's tons of possible variation. And a quantizer after maze would be good to keep things in scale, if thats your bag. Also, Maze just looks super useful for all sorts of other patches. My wallet hates you right now.
i'm HELPING!
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
hel1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:31 am
Location: Netherlands/Italy

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by hel1 » Sun Feb 09, 2020 5:24 am

Mannstrane wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 12:44 pm
Had a noobie question to ask for anyone who owns a Harmonaig.

I am looking to take a CV sequence from an Eloquencer into the Harmonaig that then goes out multiple CV voice inputs to Chainsaw. The Harmonaig seems to have a very hard time tracking and holding the quanitzed CV signal. Even when adjusting the bias knob on the Harmonaig.

Example would be: Sequence Eloquencer for C1 C2 C3 C4. Harmonaig will randomly skip C1 and go C1# or B1. Seems to have a much harder time tracking at lower voltages.
I will try to reproduce this for you when I'm back next week, but I don't remember having this problem at all

User avatar
Catchthehare
Common Wiggler
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:06 am
Location: London

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Catchthehare » Mon Feb 10, 2020 5:33 am

Mannstrane wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 12:44 pm
Had a noobie question to ask for anyone who owns a Harmonaig.

I am looking to take a CV sequence from an Eloquencer into the Harmonaig that then goes out multiple CV voice inputs to Chainsaw. The Harmonaig seems to have a very hard time tracking and holding the quanitzed CV signal. Even when adjusting the bias knob on the Harmonaig.

Example would be: Sequence Eloquencer for C1 C2 C3 C4. Harmonaig will randomly skip C1 and go C1# or B1. Seems to have a much harder time tracking at lower voltages.

I can send a quantized CV (Eloquencer) to Uscale II without it drifting.
Unquantized CV from Pressurepoints, o_C (Sequin) work with Harmonaig.

Is this something that everyone just lives with? Is this normal behavior for the Harmonaig?

Thank you
I have this issue when using sequencers, that the notes would flicker between each other and it is tricky to get Harmonaig to track accurately. If I turn up the CV attenuator all the way up then Harmonaig tracks accurately, and then I can pitch down octaves as needed. I don't know if something is amiss with my unit of if this is typical behaviour? Seems a little extreme that Harmonaig will only track accurately if the attenuator is all the way +

Mannstrane
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Mannstrane » Mon Feb 10, 2020 12:51 pm

Catchthehare wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 5:33 am
I have this issue when using sequencers, that the notes would flicker between each other and it is tricky to get Harmonaig to track accurately. If I turn up the CV attenuator all the way up then Harmonaig tracks accurately, and then I can pitch down octaves as needed. I don't know if something is amiss with my unit of if this is typical behaviour? Seems a little extreme that Harmonaig will only track accurately if the attenuator is all the way +
Yes. Sounds exactly the same behavior as mine. I guess the only way to sequence with it would be unquantized sequence such as Pressure Points. Kind of a bit more work when you already have a mono sequence playing from a quantized source and just want chords to go with it. Even though I can't stand uScale II for the menu's being a pain. The uScale II can take a quantized cv input without loosing tracking.

I wonder if a firmware update from Instruo could have it work better with quantized CV input. Has anyone contacted Instruo about this?

pelang
Common Wiggler
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:30 pm
Location: switzerland
Contact:

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by pelang » Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:07 pm

Just checked with a ER-101 sequencer and harmonaig tracks fine here. Maybe a "scratchy" potentiometer? Did you try to wiggle it 30-40 times back and fort ?

Arneb
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:50 pm

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Arneb » Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:43 pm

Unless you're having something interposed between the Eloquencer and Harmonaig, having Eloquencer transpose the whole sequence a couple cents up or down might fix it.

(I don't know Eloquencer, but I guess your average feature monster sequencer can do this.)

User avatar
Naenyn
Common Wiggler
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:37 am
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Naenyn » Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:59 pm

A patch question regarding the Harmonàig. I recently got mine .. and was thinking it'd be neat to patch the four quantized outputs to one oscillator via a sequential switch. I am using a MTM Turing Machine to create a melody, which is then quantized by the Harmonàig. What I'm stuck on though is how to trigger quickly playing back the four notes via the switch then stop after the four notes have been played. I feel like I need some kind of toggle that switches off a gate after 4 triggers .. but not sure how I could accomplish that. Any thoughts? :hmm:
-n :ninja:

My for sale thread
My generative / synth eurorack on Modulargrid
1U Tile Rack | 60hp Overflow Pod
You can also find me on MuffWiggler's Discord

User avatar
davidjames
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 11:53 am
Location: Austin

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by davidjames » Mon Feb 10, 2020 11:45 pm

Naenyn wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:59 pm
A patch question regarding the Harmonàig. I recently got mine .. and was thinking it'd be neat to patch the four quantized outputs to one oscillator via a sequential switch. I am using a MTM Turing Machine to create a melody, which is then quantized by the Harmonàig. What I'm stuck on though is how to trigger quickly playing back the four notes via the switch then stop after the four notes have been played. I feel like I need some kind of toggle that switches off a gate after 4 triggers .. but not sure how I could accomplish that. Any thoughts? :hmm:
One way would be a burst generator (see the notes above in the thread re: the strum patch). I use the Noise Engineering Variatic Erumption which allows you to set the length of the burst. It also has preset burst rhythms which you can choose from, syncs to a clock, is two channels, and has an end-of-burst gate out, which I use to reset my switch. :party:
FS: DSI Pro 2, Mutable, more!
viewtopic.php?p=3062675

User avatar
Naenyn
Common Wiggler
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:37 am
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Naenyn » Tue Feb 11, 2020 2:57 pm

davidjames wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 11:45 pm
I use the Noise Engineering Variatic Erumption which allows you to set the length of the burst.
Thanks for the tip! I will check it out.

When I was originally working on the problem, I had resetting figured out.. but now I can't remember how I was going to handle that.. never mind how I'd handle start/stop and loop length. It seems like a sequential switch would be perfect for routing the pitch CV, but my brain is failing on the logic. :bang:
-n :ninja:

My for sale thread
My generative / synth eurorack on Modulargrid
1U Tile Rack | 60hp Overflow Pod
You can also find me on MuffWiggler's Discord

Mannstrane
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Mannstrane » Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:10 pm

pelang wrote:
Mon Feb 10, 2020 3:07 pm
Just checked with a ER-101 sequencer and harmonaig tracks fine here. Maybe a "scratchy" potentiometer? Did you try to wiggle it 30-40 times back and fort ?
I haven't tried rocking it back and forth 30-40 times. Will have to try that. So if you have 16 steps with 4 notes C0 C1 C2 C3 with the ER-101 and all Harmonaig notes selected, you don't have any tracking issues?

If I turn the bias knob counter clockwise its pretty unstable. If I turn it clockwise, then it does better but I'm transposed higher. I have an ER-101 on order. Problem is, when I get the ER-101, I will be out of my 30 days for returning the unit back to Perfect Circuit. All quantized CV sequencers I have exhibit the same issue. (Eloquencer, FLXS-1)

pelang
Common Wiggler
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:30 pm
Location: switzerland
Contact:

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by pelang » Wed Feb 12, 2020 2:09 pm

yes, C's on a few octaves. However, as I used the attenuator I hade to "find" the C's with the ER-101. After that it was stable.
My point is if your potentiometer is "scratchy" it would mess up the incoming CV. Wiggle the poti can help sometimes.

User avatar
hel1
Common Wiggler
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:31 am
Location: Netherlands/Italy

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by hel1 » Mon Feb 17, 2020 2:48 pm

hel1 wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 5:24 am
Mannstrane wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 12:44 pm
Had a noobie question to ask for anyone who owns a Harmonaig.

I am looking to take a CV sequence from an Eloquencer into the Harmonaig that then goes out multiple CV voice inputs to Chainsaw. The Harmonaig seems to have a very hard time tracking and holding the quanitzed CV signal. Even when adjusting the bias knob on the Harmonaig.

Example would be: Sequence Eloquencer for C1 C2 C3 C4. Harmonaig will randomly skip C1 and go C1# or B1. Seems to have a much harder time tracking at lower voltages.
I will try to reproduce this for you when I'm back next week, but I don't remember having this problem at all
no, sorry, mine behaves very well

Mannstrane
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Mannstrane » Mon Feb 17, 2020 7:01 pm

Here is a video:



C0-C3. I go to match output octave of Eloquencer and Harmonaig can't hold the notes. Works at higher octave offset but not lower.

User avatar
Naenyn
Common Wiggler
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:37 am
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Naenyn » Tue Feb 18, 2020 2:00 am

Mannstrane wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:10 pm
Problem is, when I get the ER-101, I will be out of my 30 days for returning the unit back to Perfect Circuit.
I wouldn’t worry too much about this. Jason @ Instruo is pretty amazing. I bet he can help.
-n :ninja:

My for sale thread
My generative / synth eurorack on Modulargrid
1U Tile Rack | 60hp Overflow Pod
You can also find me on MuffWiggler's Discord

pelang
Common Wiggler
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:30 pm
Location: switzerland
Contact:

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by pelang » Tue Feb 18, 2020 6:06 am

Mannstrane wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 7:01 pm
Here is a video:



C0-C3. I go to match output octave of Eloquencer and Harmonaig can't hold the notes. Works at higher octave offset but not lower.
I don't think Harmonaig is calibrated by nature to a 1V/Oct. You may need to dial in from your sequencer the right voltage to get the C's from Harmonaig.
BTW: you can as well double tap on the buttom to have fine-tune and course.

Mannstrane
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2019 1:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: First look at the Instruo Harmonàig harmony quantizer

Post by Mannstrane » Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:58 am

Got quantize to work! Jason had me clear the offsets by holding transpose and pressing C twice. I don't remember ever storing offsets originally. Thanks for everyone's help!

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”