How do YOU transpose a melody?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

User avatar
esmeets
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 919
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

How do YOU transpose a melody?

Post by esmeets » Sun May 14, 2017 9:50 am

Hi,

Just curious how you guys and girls transpose a melody ;)
I usually use an iPad as my main Euro sequencer so all the transposing happens in the iPad software (Cubasis for example).

But now I'm thinking of buying Seek or Disting to play a midi file and use a quantizer with transpose CV (2hp tune?) and trigger the transpose with some random like A-149.

How do YOU achieve this?
Thanks for the input

User avatar
starthief
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 5071
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:39 am
Location: St Louis, MO
Contact:

Post by starthief » Sun May 14, 2017 9:55 am

I just transpose in my DAW where I sequence everything.

User avatar
nectarios
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2790
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:44 am

Post by nectarios » Sun May 14, 2017 10:10 am

Doepfer A-185-2 precision adder, with some offset from PP, Rene, Modcan Touch Sequencer.

chysn
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 991
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 10:04 pm
Location: SE Michigan USA

Post by chysn » Sun May 14, 2017 10:19 am

Little Phatty (keyboard or MIDI) and the Mix channel of Lifeforms Distro.
Current Rack: https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/354385
Hemisphere Suite: https://github.com/Chysn/O_C-HemisphereSuite/wiki

"Man must shape his tools lest they shape him." --Arthur Miller

User avatar
pieter
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1857
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:59 pm
Location: UK

Post by pieter » Sun May 14, 2017 10:26 am

Varigate 8+ Track mode.

User avatar
void23
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:34 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post by void23 » Sun May 14, 2017 11:21 am

nectarios wrote:Doepfer A-185-2 precision adder, with some offset from PP, Rene, Modcan Touch Sequencer.
Precision adder and a quantizer to force to scale. Specifically, I'm using a Disting and an O_c.

User avatar
moofi
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1506
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Here
Contact:

Post by moofi » Sun May 14, 2017 12:21 pm

Two sequencers (one at an accordingly slower, barfitting tempo) adding up for transposition.

kbithecrowing
Common Wiggler
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 11:25 pm

Post by kbithecrowing » Sun May 14, 2017 12:36 pm

Seek can transpose a sequence on-board, and I think you might be able to choose between pre and post quantization. Read through the manual, that moduale can do lots of cool stuff.

User avatar
brandonlogic
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2907
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:17 am
Location: Milwaukee WI

Post by brandonlogic » Sun May 14, 2017 12:51 pm

I like to transpose in real time, playing the second sequencer instead of clocking it. I use q-bit octone to write a sequence up to 8 steps, then I use meng qi voltage memeory in its manual mode like a keybaord to transpose the sequence. I use a nice cheap diy module PAMT to add the votages, which is also fun for performance as it has momentary octave buttons you can use to play with the octices as the sequence is running.

Here's and video example of it. Using the arp mode on the voltage memeory here where if you press more than one pad it arps between them!
This ones on sound cloud too: https://soundcloud.com/brandon-logic/mo ... hbook-8-27

Also it's fun to transpose sequences that aren't clock synced
Here's another example using just a 2 step sequence and the vm

User avatar
mutierend
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 615
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:21 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post by mutierend » Sun May 14, 2017 3:26 pm

I use a Koma Komplex, so I'll transpose by patching CV Out of sequencer B to Transpose In on sequencer A.

User avatar
esmeets
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 919
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by esmeets » Sun May 14, 2017 4:30 pm

Thanks so far!
No one here using a quantizer with transpose CV?
Sequencer (quantized pitch cv) --> quantizer (only for transpose) --> VCO

User avatar
insula
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:59 am
Location: @Madrid

Post by insula » Sun May 14, 2017 4:38 pm

i use a intellijel unity mixer, u can transpose using a intellijel uScale.... but it is a non 1V/oct input,

User avatar
pitri
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 385
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:35 am

Post by pitri » Sun May 14, 2017 4:39 pm

what also works:
seq->attenuator->quantizer
adjust attenuator to taste

User avatar
WaveRider
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1659
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 1:08 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by WaveRider » Sun May 14, 2017 7:50 pm

esmeets wrote:Thanks so far!
No one here using a quantizer with transpose CV?
Sequencer (quantized pitch cv) --> quantizer (only for transpose) --> VCO
yes, I use it on my quantizers.


but lately i prefer to modulate (adding cv offset before quantizer) or both

I also use precision adder, transpose in some sequencers, unity mixer, etc

my last track is a good transposition demo :bananaguitar:

User avatar
captjrab
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 695
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:10 pm
Location: SF, CA
Contact:

Post by captjrab » Sun May 14, 2017 8:22 pm

Two sequencers.
Sequencer 1 into vco 1v/oct
Sequencer 2 into vco fm in to transpose
I like the Rene PP/Brains combo for this

User avatar
tauburn
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 1:13 pm
Location: usa

Post by tauburn » Sun May 14, 2017 9:03 pm

to this day i have never used a sequencer for melody and rely on random voltage and S&H. now that i have ornament and crime for quantization it is working alot better. soon i will be using the digitakt into yarns for midi sequencing once it comes out.

User avatar
Shledge
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3018
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2016 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post by Shledge » Sun May 14, 2017 9:47 pm

Disting in fraction precision adder mode.

User avatar
hinterlands303
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:57 pm
Location: Detroit

Post by hinterlands303 » Sun May 14, 2017 10:25 pm

I currently use the doepfer a-185-2 along with a secondary cv source (pressure points, silent way, sq-1, random cv, or just an offset) if I want to transpose BEFORE the quantizer so I can shift within the current scale. If I want to transpose the entire scale I do that with the transpose input of the a-156. Sometimes I'll use the a-185-2 post quantizer if I want scale transposition that I can turn on and off (or I'll use the a-151 to switch the transposition on and off).

User avatar
jwise
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 326
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:02 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by jwise » Sun May 14, 2017 11:23 pm

brandonlogic wrote:I like to transpose in real time, playing the second sequencer instead of clocking it. I use q-bit octone to write a sequence up to 8 steps, then I use meng qi voltage memeory in its manual mode like a keybaord to transpose the sequence. I use a nice cheap diy module PAMT to add the votages, which is also fun for performance as it has momentary octave buttons you can use to play with the octices as the sequence is running.

Here's and video example of it. Using the arp mode on the voltage memeory here where if you press more than one pad it arps between them!
This ones on sound cloud too: https://soundcloud.com/brandon-logic/mo ... hbook-8-27

Also it's fun to transpose sequences that aren't clock synced
Here's another example using just a 2 step sequence and the vm
Thanks for throwing down super knowledge. Got lost in your Instragram feed for the past hour checking out your patches and tips - loved learning about the Warps delay mode in the Parasites firmware!

User avatar
ersatzplanet
Synthwerks Design
Posts: 6955
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Seattle WA

Post by ersatzplanet » Sun May 14, 2017 11:41 pm

Synthwerks PGM-4X4. Transpose the pitch and other things (often the echo speed and modulation) at the same time.
-James

James Husted - Synthwerks, LLC - www.synthwerks.com - info@synthwerks.com - james@synthwerks.com
Synthwerks is a proud member of the Mostly Modular Trade Association (http://www.mostlymodular.com).
Always looking to trade for Doepfer P6 cases

User avatar
onre
Common Wiggler
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:47 pm
Location: Finland

Post by onre » Mon May 15, 2017 1:17 am

I have an ATmega with a bunch of A/D and D/A connected to it running a Forth, and have programmed a Forth word which recognizes incoming control voltages as notes, transposes them and outputs the result. It can do both chromatic and scalar transposition.

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2084
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: VA
Contact:

Post by dooj88 » Mon May 15, 2017 10:28 am

would multing out a sequence CV and sending it through an offset be a simple and viable way? if it's a attenuator/offset, presumably you'd have realtime control over the range of notes as well?

User avatar
subdo
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:03 am
Location: Washington DC
Contact:

Post by subdo » Mon May 15, 2017 10:40 am

Timely thread. I've just started doing this type of thing and I don't really have the modules to support it. I'm looking specifically at the new Tirana, a unity mixer and a transposing quantizer like O_C. However since I don't own any of these I tried using what I have to get there which is the two step sequencers on the BSP.

What I did on this sequence is I have the main melody line playing out of seq2 multed to a couple different sound sources and one of the inputs on a Triatt. I have seq1 going into a second input on the Triatt and the sum of those going to the v/o of my VCO. I wasn't sure how stable the tuning would be but I was pleasantly surprised. The result being seq1 being transposed by seq2.


[video][/video]

User avatar
esmeets
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 919
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by esmeets » Mon May 15, 2017 3:41 pm

esmeets wrote:Thanks so far!
No one here using a quantizer with transpose CV?
Sequencer (quantized pitch cv) --> quantizer (only for transpose) --> VCO
Thanks so far!
So no one is using a quantizer to transpose?

jarcorbo
Common Wiggler
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:35 am
Location: Portland, OR

Post by jarcorbo » Mon May 15, 2017 4:22 pm

I use Ornament & Crime now, but prior to that I always transposed through my Qunatimator via pressure points, A-149, or another sequencer like the Erica Pico Seq. The Pico Seq has internal quantization, so I was able to program transpositions/chord progressions no problem. The A149 is also fun for the surprises and you can also control the randomness. Occasionally I patched A149-->Pico Seq-->Quantimator for random changes that are diatonically confined.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”