Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
wavejockey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:07 am
Location: belgium

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by wavejockey » Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:58 pm

loop bug:
it is simple : if you change the end point , you're f*ckd ; you cannot loop the sample anymore
truncate & you're good to go
but that is not good for play-ability/finding loop points

can i add:
would be nice if we could slice the first 8 beats/slices of a long(er) loop to the first 8 zones on a (first) channel and then the next 8 beats (of the same original loop) to the next 8 zones of the next channel and so on ; a nice solution for slicing longer loops/beats/...
(something like re-populate ; could be a 1 click solution/algoritm)

funqpatrol
Common Wiggler
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 8:14 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by funqpatrol » Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:43 pm

Hey guys, can someone confirm firm that live recording and playing is possible on the ass8? I've heard ppl swearing this is possible. True?

User avatar
Zerius
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:37 pm
Location: BZH

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Zerius » Fri Feb 28, 2020 6:15 pm

Yes you can do both, check it here


User avatar
witchbutter
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:20 am
Location: PDX
Contact:

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by witchbutter » Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:31 pm

wavejockey wrote:
Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:58 pm
loop bug:
it is simple : if you change the end point , you're f*ckd ; you cannot loop the sample anymore
I'm having the same issue with firmware 2.01. If I touch loop start or loop stop the screen freezes although sounds still play, the only way to fix is to power off :bang:

User avatar
wavejockey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:07 am
Location: belgium

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by wavejockey » Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:01 am

aha, we might be on to something here as i never touch the (end/start) loop points, i only work with the end/start points and the looping button
so mine assimil8tor never freezes but just stops looping/playing

User avatar
cafe-de-la-jungle
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by cafe-de-la-jungle » Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:35 pm

I`m having also a weird behavior with single-cycle waveforms. Once a load them they are working fine but if press the 'Sample start' button screen hangs and I have to reboot the device. Is there any fix for that ? :bang: :bang:
FOR SALE: Frap Tools Uno 84HP Case.

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4251
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Sinamsis » Sat Feb 29, 2020 6:35 pm

cafe-de-la-jungle wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:35 pm
I`m having also a weird behavior with single-cycle waveforms. Once a load them they are working fine but if press the 'Sample start' button screen hangs and I have to reboot the device. Is there any fix for that ? :bang: :bang:
Glad i'm not the only one haha.

User avatar
witchbutter
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 12:20 am
Location: PDX
Contact:

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by witchbutter » Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:33 pm

Does anyone know where to download the previous stable firmware 1.11_190917? Download links are only for 2.01 which is very much broken for me

User avatar
cafe-de-la-jungle
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by cafe-de-la-jungle » Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:36 am

witchbutter wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:33 pm
Does anyone know where to download the previous stable firmware 1.11_190917? Download links are only for 2.01 which is very much broken for me
+1 on this. I have sent an email to Rossum requesting this but so far no answer. Perhaps someone is still using the old and can upload it? :hail:
FOR SALE: Frap Tools Uno 84HP Case.

User avatar
cafe-de-la-jungle
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by cafe-de-la-jungle » Mon Mar 02, 2020 4:54 am

Guys,

I have a couple of thoughts after a week of using A8 and future requests which probably you can tell me if they are considered or not possible.

1. CV for Sample Level

This would leave the Pan/Mix section for fader operation.

2. Drum/Accent Mode

An alternative to section 1, dunno if possible but worth mentioning

3. Choke groups!

Let`s say to have at least two choke groups would be awesome - could be implemented in the Channels section.

4. Naming presets

Small request to consider when you save and set up the name of the preset the new letter start not from the beginning but from the last used letter.
FOR SALE: Frap Tools Uno 84HP Case.

Sam Botstein
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:34 pm
Location: Rossum Electro-Music
Contact:

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Sam Botstein » Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:02 pm

cafe-de-la-jungle wrote:
Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:36 am
witchbutter wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:33 pm
Does anyone know where to download the previous stable firmware 1.11_190917? Download links are only for 2.01 which is very much broken for me
+1 on this. I have sent an email to Rossum requesting this but so far no answer. Perhaps someone is still using the old and can upload it? :hail:
Please check private messages on this forum and please check your spam folder and whitelist rossum-electro.com.

sine language
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:31 am
Location: Oz

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by sine language » Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:56 am

Oh dear, just bought one of these. Now I read about the current firmware issue

Edit: just read through the thread and realised how much effort Rossum have put into fixing issues and adopting feedback so I’m not concerned that they will sort this out. Will be patient from now on! I’m sure it will be amazing once the 2.0 issues are resolved
Last edited by sine language on Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

isi909
Common Wiggler
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 2:13 pm

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by isi909 » Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:00 am

sine language wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:56 am
Oh dear, just bought one of these. Now I read about the current firmware being broken. Oh man what have I done
du you even phasemodulate bro....!

User avatar
quaidscape
Common Wiggler
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:35 am
Location: omaha

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by quaidscape » Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:23 am

You're only having the issue with start/end when using specifically single cycle waveforms?

sine language
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:31 am
Location: Oz

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by sine language » Tue Mar 03, 2020 2:03 pm

isi909 wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 7:00 am
sine language wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:56 am
Oh dear, just bought one of these. Now I read about the current firmware being broken. Oh man what have I done
du you even phasemodulate bro....!
I haven’t received it yet. I was hoping to PM waveforms along with basic sample playing, Live recording and playback. Is everybody having freezing issues with the new firmware?

User avatar
Tonemod
Common Wiggler
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 6:56 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Tonemod » Tue Mar 03, 2020 2:43 pm

quaidscape wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:23 am
You're only having the issue with start/end when using specifically single cycle waveforms?
I just rebooted my rack a bunch of times. The following causes a freeze with single cycle (AKWF) waveforms:

While looping or not:
Press "SAMPLE START"
Press "SAMPLE END"
Press "LOOP START"
Press "LOOP END LENGTH"

I can verify this has been happening for the past 2 versions of the firmware. Don't touch those buttons while playing live!

Would be great to have a 3 key combination to hard reboot the A8 :help:

User avatar
wavejockey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:07 am
Location: belgium

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by wavejockey » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:22 am

not only with SCW, to me it happens with every sample(s)

sine language
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:31 am
Location: Oz

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by sine language » Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:24 am

wavejockey wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:22 am
not only with SCW, to me it happens with every sample(s)
Are you saying that it’s impossible to actually play or sample,? Or only if you modify loop start / end. Is the machine useable in its current state otherwise?

sine language
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:31 am
Location: Oz

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by sine language » Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:28 am

A different question: does recording work using trigger to start and stop recording? Is it accurate enough to allow sample playback instantly without having to edit start and end points?

youwe9
Common Wiggler
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 4:05 am
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by youwe9 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 5:49 am

Hi,

a lot of bashing recently... well I like my Assimil8tor and I am sure Rossum will fix what is necessary

My Question: I am looking for a controller to "play" the A8 live in a flexible way. Right now I am using the voltage block,
but maybe someone has experience with something else or has some other ideas...?

Thanx

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4251
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Sinamsis » Wed Mar 04, 2020 6:25 am

youwe9 wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 5:49 am
Hi,

a lot of bashing recently... well I like my Assimil8tor and I am sure Rossum will fix what is necessary

My Question: I am looking for a controller to "play" the A8 live in a flexible way. Right now I am using the voltage block,
but maybe someone has experience with something else or has some other ideas...?

Thanx


Metron/Voltera is great. Also Vector sequencer.

youwe9
Common Wiggler
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 4:05 am
Location: Berlin Germany

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by youwe9 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 6:52 am

By "playing" I am mean having immediate access to different parameters in the A8 like pitch, bit reduction, loop endpoints...at different channels.
As a sequncer I use ER 101/102, the Voltage Block serves just as a 8 channel cv faderbox. I am looking to an alternative for that.
Can I use the Voltera standalone?

User avatar
wavejockey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:07 am
Location: belgium

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by wavejockey » Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:38 am

i am using the SDS Digital Rhytm which has enough CV out to drive one channel & keep it interesting + hands-on (!)
8 of them would be super ofcourse
but if i just need to 'drive' 4-8 channels with a gate and maybe some CV, then my MPC X is a nice complement

-if i really need 8 (mono!) channels + 2 CV each i use MIDI and my MUC810

User avatar
wavejockey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:07 am
Location: belgium

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by wavejockey » Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:43 am

sine language wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:28 am
A different question: does recording work using trigger to start and stop recording? Is it accurate enough to allow sample playback instantly without having to edit start and end points?
only start, which is a missed feature i think
also (below) threshold could trigger a sample stop but isn't implemented either

the start threshold is more than accurate enough

a trim (silence) feature would be great too

User avatar
c0rpse
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:54 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by c0rpse » Wed Mar 04, 2020 12:15 pm

wavejockey wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 11:43 am
sine language wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:28 am
A different question: does recording work using trigger to start and stop recording? Is it accurate enough to allow sample playback instantly without having to edit start and end points?
only start, which is a missed feature i think
also (below) threshold could trigger a sample stop but isn't implemented either

the start threshold is more than accurate enough

a trim (silence) feature would be great too
I don't believe this is correct. As I recall a second trigger will stop the recording. I've sent the reset out of Metron to get synced loops with no issues. I did not need to edit the start and end points, but I was re-triggering the sample every time the sequencer came around.

It might start a new recording as opposed to stopping recording, I can't remember the details, but I do know I have used triggers to get perfectly synced loops.
VINO MALO | Designer and Software Developer for WMD

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”