Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
Dunk_91
Common Wiggler
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 5:37 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Dunk_91 » Thu Mar 19, 2020 11:55 am

I can confirm that single cycle waveform's bug is fixed! ;)

User avatar
kogz23
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:37 pm
Location: OAKLAND

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by kogz23 » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:50 pm

Probably dreaming, but I wonder if it would be possible to add a Yamaha "loop remix" like function to the OS.
It is a great feature in those Yamahas...

User avatar
Tonemod
Common Wiggler
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 6:56 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Tonemod » Fri Mar 20, 2020 12:10 pm

Dunk_91 wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 11:55 am
I can confirm that single cycle waveform's bug is fixed! ;)
It works :yay:

User avatar
cafe-de-la-jungle
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by cafe-de-la-jungle » Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:08 am

Works great also here! Thank you Marco! :hail: :hail: :hail:

cuttingeugen
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by cuttingeugen » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:43 am

Marco Alpert wrote:
Wed Mar 18, 2020 2:29 pm
Marco Alpert wrote:
Tue Mar 17, 2020 2:29 pm
quaidscape wrote:
Tue Mar 17, 2020 11:03 am
Hi Marco, any chance of an update/patch this week?

thanks!
We're doing final testing on the update now. Unless we find anything catastrophic, it should be available very soon.
We just posted v2.03. Thanks so much to everyone here who helped us track these down. Much appreciated!

Here are the release notes:

Changes in version 2.03_200318:

– Fixes a bug that could result in a sample not being properly saved after user sampling.

– Fixes a bug that could result in a sample not being properly saved after truncation.

– Fixes a bug that resulted in display lockup when displaying a sample of fewer than 1728 samples.

– On the Sampling Setup page, adds a “Wait” alert after sampling while the sample is being saved to card, then switches to the Erase Recorded Sample dialog.
I really appreciate the new update however I'm sorry to report another serious bug regarding saving recordings. If you leave the recording menu by pressing sampling setup during the recording then the “Wait” alert it's not shown and the sample will not be saved.

bmoussay
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:48 pm
Location: Paris France

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by bmoussay » Sat Mar 21, 2020 10:46 am

Thank Marco and the Rossum team for the update,
Especially the “non saving” bug was really a problem.

About cuttingeugen’s post.

Yesterday I recorded quite a long sample and instead of pressing sample to stop the sampling process I inadvertently pressed sampling setup.
The following happened:
- no “wait” window showed up
- neither any “erase/keep” dialog showed up.
- the small green progress bar at the top of the screen showed.
- the sample was actually saved.

So I was more lucky than cuttingeugen but I can confirm the lack of dialogs when pressing “sampling setup”

Best

B

User avatar
quaidscape
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 8:35 am
Location: omaha

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by quaidscape » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:06 pm

Thanks, Rossum, for the recent update. Hope everyone is doing OK health-wise and in decent spirits.

User avatar
Marco Alpert
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:57 pm
Location: California

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Marco Alpert » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:45 pm

quaidscape wrote:
Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:06 pm
Thanks, Rossum, for the recent update. Hope everyone is doing OK health-wise and in decent spirits.
Thanks for the kind sentiment. We're all working from home and are, so far, all healthy (or at least as healthy as we normally are). Hope everyone else here is as well.
Marketing Guy at Rossum Electro-Music

User avatar
Marco Alpert
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:57 pm
Location: California

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Marco Alpert » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:53 pm

bmoussay wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 10:46 am
Thank Marco and the Rossum team for the update,
Especially the “non saving” bug was really a problem.

About cuttingeugen’s post.

Yesterday I recorded quite a long sample and instead of pressing sample to stop the sampling process I inadvertently pressed sampling setup.
The following happened:
- no “wait” window showed up
- neither any “erase/keep” dialog showed up.
- the small green progress bar at the top of the screen showed.
- the sample was actually saved.

So I was more lucky than cuttingeugen but I can confirm the lack of dialogs when pressing “sampling setup”

Best

B
Not sure what's going on for cuttingeugen, but your experience is exactly what's expected. The "Wait" and "Erase/Keep" dialogs only appear on the Sampling Setup page, so if you leave that page (by pressing Sampling Setup) while recording, you won't see them. However, if you return to the Sampling Setup page with 30 seconds of the end of sampling, you'll find the "Erase/Keep" dialog waiting for you. The sample will be saved in any case (unless you choose to erase it).
Marketing Guy at Rossum Electro-Music

User avatar
Sinamsis
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 4206
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Sinamsis » Sun Mar 22, 2020 9:05 pm

The new update is great. I got some single cycle waveforms going and synthesized some great PM'd drum sounds. I tried chopping and exploding a drum loop but couldn't really get anywhere with it. Anyone having luck with this and have tips? In the end I'm not certain this is something I'll spend much time on, as I feel like I could it much more easily elsewhere, and there's so much more to dig into here.

Otherwise, not sure if it's possible, but if there was a cursor to show sample position during playback it would make manual adjustments to start/end and loop points much faster for a simpleton like me.

Another thing that would be cool would be if you could switch zones and continue playing through the selected sample as if it were triggered from the beginning, if that makes sense. I haven't tried zone switching continuously to see if this is an option, but it would be pretty fun to throw a few drum breaks spread across the different zones on a channel and use a random source to flip between them.

droningspaghettimonster
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 525
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:18 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by droningspaghettimonster » Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:21 am

are there known issues with scrubbing?

User avatar
kogz23
Common Wiggler
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:37 pm
Location: OAKLAND

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by kogz23 » Tue Mar 24, 2020 7:12 pm

I'm going to dive into some scrubbing seeing as I'm housebound.
CV able reverse would be awesome!
Thanks for the update, hope everyone is doing well and healthy out there.

User avatar
joey
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:51 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by joey » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:32 am

did this jam live on instagram today

all sounds coming from the assimil8or through different processing chains


User avatar
c0rpse
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:54 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by c0rpse » Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:44 am

Would it be possible to use the Zone CV as a reset to Zone 1 trigger when you are in zone cycle or random?
VINO MALO | Designer and Software Developer for WMD

parasabda
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:24 am
Location: Bangkok

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by parasabda » Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:48 am

I tried to read everything in this thread but it got a bit out of hand.

Anyone having issues with maximum amounts of files per folder? I've managed to get something like 900+ files to read in one folder but after that files seem to be missing (as it the file is there but not recognized by the A8). Is there a confirmed maximum amount of files? I've recently put a bunch of time into programming classic drum machines into mine and reached a limit. Made a video for all those out there either interested in getting this (in my opinion super fast and hands on sampler) or maybe as encouragement for owners to spend more time with their Assimil8or!


User avatar
wavejockey
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 255
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:07 am
Location: belgium

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by wavejockey » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:28 am

maximum per folder is 1000

parasabda
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:24 am
Location: Bangkok

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by parasabda » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:08 am

wavejockey wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:28 am
maximum per folder is 1000
okay that makes sense. does this include the preset files or only wav files? thanks!

also getting close to 1000 seems to take a very long time to load even though the files are mostly very short samples. Any ways to format my samples to speed this up?

Marmosets.Kingkong
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:27 pm

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by Marmosets.Kingkong » Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:46 am

Hi everyone,

Who can solve this problem. please help.

I have this problem from version 2.0 but I wait for the new firmware to fix this.
But today I update to 2.03 but the problem still happened

So the problem is ..

In zone mode,When I scrolled down to selected sample in another folder,the warning above have showed ' Import Garbage Collect" .
Then I clicked encoder to load it,It went to File Op window.I choose ' Load '
I checked to the sample start/end page which normally we can see and edit the start and end of wave.
But here is only see ' Loading...'. and the sample and sounds never come.

And after this problem happenned,it effect to normal mode too ( channel mode).
So that's mean i can't load the sample from different folder anymore,even short or long samples.
And sometime the module is stop and freezing.

REALLY CONCERN ABOUT THIS. :(
If Someone know how to fix this,please help

Thanks.

rsillsley
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:48 am
Location: malaga spain

Companion App??

Post by rsillsley » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:35 am

Hi there - i have read here about a companion app for the Assiml8or that allows me to create presets on the computer - anyone for a link for this. Running El Capitan,,,

Thanks n advance Russell

User avatar
mdoudoroff
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:10 am
Location: New York City

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by mdoudoroff » Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:54 am

I think what you want may be this:
Revert wrote:
Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:41 pm
Hey folks. I've added support for Zones and made a few other tweaks. 8-)

https://revert-files.s3-eu-west-1.amazo ... l8+1.5.zip

Some notes about this Assimil8

* OSX Only
* Caveat: Probably a bunch of bugs in this
* This is good for pulling together WAV Files into the right structure for the Assimil8or
* Zones work - best to just hit the auto button to get the CV ranges set for now.
* Right now one-direction WAV(s) -> Projects
* Note: Future version will be able to open/modify projects - but this will take some work as there are a lot of settings that I could overwrite.
* Cannot edit advanced channel settings just yet (but the plumbing is in there)
* Let me know how it goes and if it is useful.
* I built it for myself and it's just quick to pull stuff together to get started, esp with zones.
* Go easy - this is my first time learning Swift programming!
It seems the pagination system on this forum is misconfigured. If I try to get a link to the post, the link leads to the wrong page. (e.g., viewtopic.php?f=16&t=192914&p=3101375&h ... t#p3101375)

rsillsley
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:48 am
Location: malaga spain

Gate Delay / Cirklon CVIO

Post by rsillsley » Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:20 am

3.6 msec seems to be minimium reliable delay!

User avatar
spacenoodle
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 711
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by spacenoodle » Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:44 pm

Is there a way to remotely stop sampling? I mean, you can start sampling with CV and that's great. But it would be REALLY great to have the ability to do full punch in/out recording at specific points in a sequence.

buyingitwontmakeucool
Common Wiggler
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:10 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by buyingitwontmakeucool » Sun Mar 29, 2020 5:06 pm

spacenoodle wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:44 pm
Is there a way to remotely stop sampling? I mean, you can start sampling with CV and that's great. But it would be REALLY great to have the ability to do full punch in/out recording at specific points in a sequence.
8. Once armed, sampling can be triggered by pushing the Sample button, having the incoming audio exceed the programmed threshold level, or in response to the selected CV exceeding 1.6 volts

9. Sampling will stop when either:
> The preset sampling time has elapsed
> The sample memory is filled
> You press the Sample button a second time
> The selected CV rises above 1.6 volts for a second time

User avatar
spacenoodle
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 711
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Madison, WI

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by spacenoodle » Sun Mar 29, 2020 6:43 pm

buyingitwontmakeucool wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 5:06 pm
spacenoodle wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 3:44 pm
Is there a way to remotely stop sampling? I mean, you can start sampling with CV and that's great. But it would be REALLY great to have the ability to do full punch in/out recording at specific points in a sequence.
8. Once armed, sampling can be triggered by pushing the Sample button, having the incoming audio exceed the programmed threshold level, or in response to the selected CV exceeding 1.6 volts

9. Sampling will stop when either:
> The preset sampling time has elapsed
> The sample memory is filled
> You press the Sample button a second time
> The selected CV rises above 1.6 volts for a second time
Oh wow, I totally missed that. Fantastic! Thx

User avatar
cafe-de-la-jungle
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:38 am

Re: Rossum Electro-Music Assimil8or

Post by cafe-de-la-jungle » Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:14 am

Hi Guys,

Does anyone encountered samples being crossed like this (I understand that A8 can`t find the file location?)
I was working yesterday, I did save the preset, etc.


Image

I did check my sample list and they are fine:

Image

I checked also yaml file:

Preset 1 :
Name : 1
Channel 1 :
Release : 0.1800
MixLevel : -47.8
MixMod : 0A 1.00
Zone 1 :
Sample : 10-Kick Zoned.wav
Channel 2 :
Bits : 12.0
Aliasing : 77
MixLevel : -49.8
ZonesRT : 3
MixMod : 0A 1.00
Zone 1 :
Sample : 12-Snare Whitey.wav
SampleEnd : 93664
LevelOffset : +2.7
Zone 2 :
Sample : 12-Snare Whitey.wav
SampleEnd : 93664
LevelOffset : -9.5
MinVoltage : -2.50
Zone 3 :
Sample : 12-Snare Whitey.wav
SampleEnd : 93664
LevelOffset : -5.0
MinVoltage : -3.75
Zone 4 :
Sample : 12-Snare Whitey.wav
SampleEnd : 93664
LevelOffset : -4.9
MinVoltage : -5.00


I can recreate this easily but I would like to avoid this behavior in the future. Any help would be much appreciated.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”