Braids Renaissance (robot speech, 10 new chord modes)

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 638
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: Braids Renaissance (robot speech, 10 new chord modes)

Post by xcc » Fri Dec 25, 2020 5:52 pm

th0mas wrote:
Fri Dec 25, 2020 5:25 pm
Find "wave" in the global list and press the encoder
That should do it. The Braids interface is deceptively simple.

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2099
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: VA
Contact:

Re: Braids Renaissance (robot speech, 10 new chord modes)

Post by dooj88 » Fri Feb 19, 2021 9:26 am

i have to say i've been using this since you announced it, and absolutely love it. the SAM models make some really interestingly glitchy sounds.

and while i'm here, since you're knowledgeable with firmware modification, wondering if bytebeat alogs would be possible to use on braids. might be worth it for me to finally crack into the code to mess around with if you think it's not impossible.

ArchieFunker
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 1:49 pm

Re:

Post by ArchieFunker » Fri Feb 19, 2021 1:44 pm

pisrecords wrote:
Wed Mar 27, 2019 8:56 pm
:sb: thanks for this firmware !!!
i love a lot the chord modes. very helpful for my live performance !

i am using braids renassance 0.4 with Winter Modular Eloquenser . i use 1 sequencer cv out for control oscillators modes in META . the sequenser only have quantized output . i use it in SEMITONES , but i have a little problem :
some Braids OSC modes not change well . these are varying between 2, generating noise. as when a quantizer can not define correctly between 2 notes. This, if I remember correctly, did not happen to me with other firmwares.
I'm a full on noob when it comes to this stuff, but what I have done to dial in and switch through waves using META, is use the SEQ "module" on my Pico System 3. The unquantized steps allow me to dial in 4 different waveforms, then sequence trough them using a random pulse, or trigger from a different sequencer. Using the little step switch to select 2, 3, or 4 steps in the SEQ makes it interesting. I can't remember if I was able to get the full range of waveforms though, either way it was a fairly broad range.

PS. Thank you for all the hard work on this firmware Th0mas, I absolutely love it!

User avatar
th0mas
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 722
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:36 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: Braids Renaissance (robot speech, 10 new chord modes)

Post by th0mas » Sat Feb 20, 2021 1:26 pm

dooj88 wrote:
Fri Feb 19, 2021 9:26 am
i have to say i've been using this since you announced it, and absolutely love it. the SAM models make some really interestingly glitchy sounds.

and while i'm here, since you're knowledgeable with firmware modification, wondering if bytebeat alogs would be possible to use on braids. might be worth it for me to finally crack into the code to mess around with if you think it's not impossible.
On Braids, yes, it would work. I believe Bees in the Trees might have bytebeat algos.

You will likely have issue fitting more algos into Braids Renaissance. I think I was like 60 bytes away from filling the stack? Something like that. You will probably have to remove something in order to add anything new.

If you try this feel free to start a new thread about modifying Braids firmware and ping me on it, I'd be happy to help when I have time

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”