Doboz TSNM (Touch Sensing Note Memory)

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
OIP
Common Wiggler
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:43 pm

Post by OIP » Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:07 am

it's alive! finished before the rack to hold it in

Image

beautiful + musical little unit, lost an hour instantly just testing the basic keyboard function.

nice to build, first real time doing SMD and the generous spacing is great.

Image

i didn't cut the trace on the teensy and just programmed it offboard, i'm guessing this is fine unless i plug the USB in while it's powered from the rack power.

MPR121 seems to work well but one of the pads seems a tiny bit inconsistent, i will test more and might try reflowing couple of the pins. need to quickly run over it all and tidy up anyway.

User avatar
NS4W
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1182
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:42 am

Post by NS4W » Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:57 am

How do I orientate the LTP-747KR led displays? How do I locate pin one? :despair:

User avatar
pieter
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1586
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:59 pm
Location: UK

Post by pieter » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:01 am

From the assembly notes:
LTP-747KR: text should face jacks
This unambiguously determines the orientation.

User avatar
NS4W
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1182
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:42 am

Post by NS4W » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:07 am

pieter wrote:From the assembly notes:
LTP-747KR: text should face jacks
This unambiguously determines the orientation.
Thanks! Somehow I missed that. :doh:

User avatar
tetsutestu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:57 pm
Location: Japan
Contact:

Friend my TSNM I think

Post by tetsutestu » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:17 am

I foolishly tried to power my TSNM with the cable plugged into the expander header and now the module is busted. Nothing obvious burnt up and there was no smoke, but it doesn't power on at all anymore.
Does anyone have an idea of what to look at in fixing the module? Is there are part that would directly be affected by powering it on through the expander header?
Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks in advance~~~

User avatar
pieter
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1586
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:59 pm
Location: UK

Post by pieter » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:04 am

Perhaps one or both of the microchips are gone. Use a multimeter to check the voltages on the various pins of the chips. It could be as simple as replacing the chips. Also check the resistors near the expander header ("near" in the signal path). Any low-value resistors may have been blown.

Good luck.

User avatar
Gnapp
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 4:02 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Gnapp » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:31 am

I made the same genius move as you did, @tetsutestu. So if you manage to revive your module, please let me know how you did it. Thanks!

pld
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:15 am
Location: Germany

Post by pld » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:54 am

So you used a 10-pin power connector on the expansion port? Depending on cable orientation that sends either -12V or +12V into the +3V3 of the module, anything running of that (see the schematic: Teensy, 595s, MPR, but ideally not the DAC since it has a separate supply) might have been affected. The Teensy at least can probably be tested on its own.

User avatar
Waz
Wiggling with Scurvy
Posts: 2745
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Detroit

Post by Waz » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:04 pm

Is there a way to play an arpeggated sequence, lock it, then use the plates to transpose it? Or is transpose only for the sequencer section?

User avatar
tetsutestu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:57 pm
Location: Japan
Contact:

Post by tetsutestu » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:51 pm

Fixed it! Just replaced the Teensy and it works like new~~~
Gnapp wrote:I made the same genius move as you did, @tetsutestu. So if you manage to revive your module, please let me know how you did it. Thanks!

User avatar
tetsutestu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:57 pm
Location: Japan
Contact:

Post by tetsutestu » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:52 pm

Thanks for the advice~~ Tested everything and found that only the teensy was fried. Replaced it and now we're golden!
I appreciate the help!
pld wrote:So you used a 10-pin power connector on the expansion port? Depending on cable orientation that sends either -12V or +12V into the +3V3 of the module, anything running of that (see the schematic: Teensy, 595s, MPR, but ideally not the DAC since it has a separate supply) might have been affected. The Teensy at least can probably be tested on its own.

User avatar
wm.wragg
Common Wiggler
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:21 am
Location: Brighton, UK

Post by wm.wragg » Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:32 am

Waz wrote:Is there a way to play an arpeggated sequence, lock it, then use the plates to transpose it? Or is transpose only for the sequencer section?
No I’m afraid not. You can play an arpeggiated sequence, lock it, and then transpose by octaves, using the octave plates, but not by notes.

User avatar
tetsutestu
Common Wiggler
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:57 pm
Location: Japan
Contact:

Post by tetsutestu » Mon Sep 03, 2018 8:25 am

ZZ Ardoz wrote:
cranleigh wrote:I've built mine and everything works marvelously, except the pressure output, which emits a constant -10.5 volts. Has anyone else experienced that or have any thoughts?

thanks!
The "extra" pin on the teensy, the one that's not on the edge, is the pressure output - measure there and see if it is constant. If it looks good, then reflow R16, R17, R18 and R19, C10 and the TL072 at IC5. If none of that works, you might have a faulty 121 board.
Same problem here - although my Pressure out was +11v the whole time.
Followed your advice and now everything works perfectly.
Thank you!

iheartmodular
Common Wiggler
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:00 am
Location: Planet Earth

Post by iheartmodular » Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:34 am

Doboz closed down?

OIP
Common Wiggler
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:43 pm

Post by OIP » Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:38 am

how do you mean? the website is still up and i just saw the TSNM pop up in stock again at modular addict recently

iheartmodular
Common Wiggler
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:00 am
Location: Planet Earth

Post by iheartmodular » Tue Sep 04, 2018 6:46 am

no response from contact email for months :(

terrible customer service other people say same above

JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Post by JC14 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:34 am

Can't seem to find if/how you can import empty step values in the sequencer...
..... Can it be done?

JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Post by JC14 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 3:07 am

Mailed this same question to Doboz, but no reply so far.
Must say I'm a bit concerned about their response time, especially when hearing that others have the same experience.
Makes me having second thoughts about getting the TSNM.

User avatar
woodster
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1305
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:36 am
Location: UK

Post by woodster » Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:20 am

I also sent a message asking to order 2x TSNM and am yet to get a response. Similar thing happened with XIIO but I did manage to buy that from Doboz so I hold onto hope.

iheartmodular
Common Wiggler
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:00 am
Location: Planet Earth

Post by iheartmodular » Tue Sep 11, 2018 11:54 am

i feel abandoned :sadbanana:

but sincerely hope everything okay mate seem like nice person tsmn is very good module

User avatar
fluffymuff
Common Wiggler
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:41 am
Location: Leeds

Post by fluffymuff » Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:34 pm

I finally managed to finish building this and it looks like it works except the 2nd and 3rd columns of the left hand display are not showing anything, regardless of what mode i'm in. Could anyone point me in the right direction to find a fix? Thanks!

Image

P.S. i've done all the usual checking of solder joints and can't see any bridges or unsoldered parts

420troll
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 12:04 pm
Location: Canada

nothing

Post by 420troll » Fri Sep 14, 2018 10:08 pm

oops

JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Post by JC14 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:21 am

JC14 wrote:Can't seem to find if/how you can import empty step values in the sequencer...
..... Can it be done?

Does anybody know if this is possible?

:hmm:

User avatar
NS4W
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1182
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:42 am

Post by NS4W » Fri Sep 21, 2018 3:12 am

JC14 wrote:
JC14 wrote:Can't seem to find if/how you can import empty step values in the sequencer...
..... Can it be done?

Does anybody know if this is possible?

:hmm:
1. Program your sequence in SEQUENCE LEARN. Exit learn mode.
2. Enter SEQUENCE EDITOR and go to the step you want a rest/silence. Hold upper transpose plate and rotate encoder to turn on or off trigger on that step.

You should now have an empty step! :ripbanana:

PS:
My module is finally alive after replacing a non working MPR121 board, just as many others have reported here. So thats a hot tip if its not working properly!

JC14
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:54 am

Post by JC14 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:56 am

NS4W wrote:
JC14 wrote:
JC14 wrote:Can't seem to find if/how you can import empty step values in the sequencer...
..... Can it be done?

Does anybody know if this is possible?

:hmm:
1. Program your sequence in SEQUENCE LEARN. Exit learn mode.
2. Enter SEQUENCE EDITOR and go to the step you want a rest/silence. Hold upper transpose plate and rotate encoder to turn on or off trigger on that step.

You should now have an empty step! :ripbanana:

PS:
My module is finally alive after replacing a non working MPR121 board, just as many others have reported here. So thats a hot tip if its not working properly!

Great! Thanks! .... Now I only need a response from Doboz after several weeks of trying :confused:

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”