Doboz TSNM (Touch Sensing Note Memory)

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
airfrankenstein
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by airfrankenstein » Mon Mar 04, 2019 1:46 am

delete

User avatar
airfrankenstein
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by airfrankenstein » Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:10 am

shellfritsch wrote:Dominox
make sure the diodes are oriented correctly. i was getting high voltages on my outputs because one was facing the wrong way. i had assumed they were both oriented in the same direction.
Despite the fact that my diodes are apparently properly oriented I'm getting 10.28v on the trigger and gate outs. I've checked connectivity around IC6 and all seems ok. shellfritsch would you mind posting a pic of your diodes on the board ?

Could MPR121 have anything to do with this ?

User avatar
pinkflag16
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 429
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:17 pm
Location: Some Faraway Beach

Post by pinkflag16 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:54 am

Will this ever be available as a finished module?

User avatar
autodafe
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:14 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by autodafe » Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:07 pm

ALl of a sudden my TSNM is failing, after months of normal operation...
the display only shows a vertical red line, and nothing else happens...
AI am afraid something bad came from my poer adaptor (uZeus) or it accidentalky got in contact with some patch cable putting voltages on pcb tracks...who knows
Is this "vertical" red line meaning something ? the teensy area smells a bit but I was apparently able to "reflash" it...
Any helping idea appreciated...

User avatar
airfrankenstein
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by airfrankenstein » Fri Apr 05, 2019 6:06 am

:bang: :bang: :party: the IDE 16pin cable was faulty! works perfectly now.

User avatar
airfrankenstein
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

fried my doboz!? no more notes

Post by airfrankenstein » Mon Jul 29, 2019 5:26 am

I plugged my TSNM wrong this morning. I turned everything off s quick as I could and started it up again.
- seemed to work.then it stopped producing notes/no more v/oct
gates triggers clock all working...but no more response from touch plates ----could i have fried the MPR121? When I remove it the module works the same way except no notes.

User avatar
ikkini
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Angers - France

Post by ikkini » Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:34 pm

Hi folks,

I'm trying to build mine, but IC7 is way too small for my skills and equipment... :sadbanana:

Does anybody know about a thru hole equivalent ?

OIP
Common Wiggler
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:43 pm

Post by OIP » Wed Aug 07, 2019 8:38 pm

do you mean IC3, the DAC? it's pretty teeny but if you can tack the two corners, then with thin solder and flux + wick you should be able to get it all down.

doesn't seem to be any different package for that exact part (https://au.mouser.com/Search/Refine?Ntk ... =190549115) but it might be possible to sub another DAC with the same pinout if there are through hole available. the hassle of that would be less than getting a couple bits of SMD equipment though. even just a hollow hoof tip makes drag soldering a breeze.

User avatar
airfrankenstein
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by airfrankenstein » Thu Aug 08, 2019 12:35 am

ikkini wrote:Hi folks,

I'm trying to build mine, but IC7 is way too small for my skills and equipment... :sadbanana:

Does anybody know about a thru hole equivalent ?
The circuit could almost be built entirely as through hole, but to do the smd components you could also try filing down the tip of your soldering iron to get a finer point.

User avatar
ikkini
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Angers - France

Post by ikkini » Thu Aug 08, 2019 4:13 am

Thanks for your replies ! :sb:

I meant IC3, of course ! :hail:

Well, I'll give it another try then. I hope I won't burn the component or the PCB, I've already unsoldered it once.

User avatar
ikkini
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Angers - France

Post by ikkini » Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:01 pm

edit. problem solved and module finished ! :banana:

johmannbush
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 4:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

J3 jumper

Post by johmannbush » Sat Sep 07, 2019 1:39 pm

Is a jumper on J3 required for this to work? Also, can someone confirm for me that cutting the Teensy power is just a safety measure to keep me from powering by USB and Eurorack simultaneously?

Thanks for help!

User avatar
ikkini
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Angers - France

Post by ikkini » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:36 am

I didn't solder J3 and it works perfectly.

Concerning the Teensy, that's waht is claimed in the manual.

User avatar
ikkini
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Angers - France

Post by ikkini » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:24 am

I've recorded an extended demo of this great module :

[video][/video]

Trashcan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:54 am
Location: Edinburgh

Post by Trashcan » Fri Sep 27, 2019 5:32 am

Hey!
I've just received a DIY kit for this, upon inspection there is a short between two of the pads on ic3 (see pic),checking with the schematic Vout and Vfb are linked I'm assuming this is hopefully the same on everyone's board? Obviously don't want to go ahead of this is wrong, looked at the other pics in this thread by now are clear enough for me to see
Thanks!Image
[/img]
Where you come from is gone, where you thought you were going to, weren't never there! And where you are, ain't no good unless you can get away from it!

User avatar
ikkini
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 677
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 3:13 pm
Location: Angers - France

Post by ikkini » Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:05 am

That's normal ! :tu:

User avatar
ronski
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by ronski » Fri Nov 01, 2019 5:49 pm

Just finished mine, great build and lovely module.
Even the power header was easy to solder in, I find that with some pcb's the ground pins are a bit harder to solder in. I was lucky enough that my first touch board worked, I still have a spare backup now. I can share the ebay seller if anyone's interested.

Trashcan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:54 am
Location: Edinburgh

Post by Trashcan » Sat Nov 02, 2019 3:43 am

@ronski I'd be interested in your source as my board has gone missing on the way from China!
Where you come from is gone, where you thought you were going to, weren't never there! And where you are, ain't no good unless you can get away from it!

User avatar
ronski
Common Wiggler
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:10 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by ronski » Sat Nov 02, 2019 8:45 am

Trashcan wrote:@ronski I'd be interested in your source as my board has gone missing on the way from China!
I've ordered from a UK located source on Ebay.
I'm adding in both the product and the link to the user as the auction will probably expire as time passes by.

This Ebay user

This product

User avatar
Chopper
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:17 am
Location: London

Post by Chopper » Sun Nov 03, 2019 6:36 pm

ronski
you gotta build me one of those for sure... (your ex-neighbour here... :wink: )

User avatar
gonkulator
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:56 pm
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA

Post by gonkulator » Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:08 pm

ikkini wrote:I've recorded an extended demo of this great module :

[video][/video]
Thanks for doing that
Racks
Solaris Site
Stuff for sale
Stuff for sale shown on Modulargrid
WTB: Black panels


Unflappably nonchalant, with some exceptions

User avatar
loopt
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:16 am

Post by loopt » Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:11 pm

ikkini wrote:I've recorded an extended demo of this great module...
Thank you, ikkini.
Very nice overview.

terje_t
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: Doboz TSNM (Touch Sensing Note Memory)

Post by terje_t » Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:13 pm

Hi all,

I'm sorry if my exact problem has been up already, I couldn't find anything that fit exactly. My module is mostly working, except I'm seeing rather high voltages on the pitch output. Every other output seems to be working fine.

The pitch output tracks 1v/oct correctly, but I can't get it below 3V or so when calibrating. That leads me to believe something is wrong with my circuit. I took a couple measurements with a multimeter. This is from a default (uncalibrated) module outputting a C, without any of the transpose lights on:

VOUT on IC3 (DAC): 1.44V
VREF on IC3 (DAC): 2.48V
Pitch output: 4.62V

Sending this voltage to any of my oscillators brings them into dog whistle territory of course.

Does anyone know what might be up here?

Thanks!

User avatar
shellfritsch
Common Wiggler
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:57 am
Location: Glendale, CA
Contact:

Re: Doboz TSNM (Touch Sensing Note Memory)

Post by shellfritsch » Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:31 pm

when i first built mine i accidentally had D2 installed backwards and that gave me a higher v/oct pitch. maybe double check it's correctly oriented?

if you can post clear close-up photos of your board here other builders might be able to spot an error.

terje_t
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:09 am
Location: Norway

Re: Doboz TSNM (Touch Sensing Note Memory)

Post by terje_t » Sun Dec 29, 2019 4:22 pm

shellfritsch wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:31 pm
when i first built mine i accidentally had D2 installed backwards and that gave me a higher v/oct pitch. maybe double check it's correctly oriented?

if you can post clear close-up photos of your board here other builders might be able to spot an error.
Hi,

Thanks, I should have mentioned this specifically because it was the closest match to my issue. Both my diodes are facing the correct way.

I will post images of my board tomorrow.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”