WMD Metron sequencer

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2527
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by Zymos » Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:29 pm

After wanting this since I saw it demoed almost 2 years ago, I finally got it. But I think mine’s broken, I can’t seem to effortlessly make awesome beats like Alex does in all the videos.

But really, I’m coming up with super cool stuff- “burst” is giving me something I never could have gotten so easily before. Here’s my drum rig now, though the arrangement is different in real life, it was too fiddly to drag around everything on my phone.

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1000287

I do think Axxent and a 2nd Voltera are going to be next though.

User avatar
rbhansen
Common Wiggler
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:10 am
Location: California

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by rbhansen » Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:02 pm

Zymos wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:29 pm
After wanting this since I saw it demoed almost 2 years ago, I finally got it. But I think mine’s broken, I can’t seem to effortlessly make awesome beats like Alex does in all the videos.
:lol:

Mine's on the way too...should be here this week!

User avatar
lmixl
Common Wiggler
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:12 pm
Location: Riverside County

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by lmixl » Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:35 am

is it still in production?

User avatar
mkasthe
Common Wiggler
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:35 pm
Location: New York City

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by mkasthe » Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:56 am

lmixl wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:35 am
is it still in production?
uhm...yes

it might be out of stock everywhere, but that's because of COVID.
Made in Italy and exported to NYC
Instagram: The Analog Kid

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2527
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by Zymos » Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:32 pm

They are in stock right now on WMDs site. They seem to come and go- I assume they just assemble a few every now and then. Several retailers have them too.

User avatar
lmixl
Common Wiggler
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:12 pm
Location: Riverside County

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by lmixl » Sat Jun 27, 2020 2:33 pm

Thanks

User avatar
WMDevices
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 700
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:35 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by WMDevices » Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:04 am

lmixl wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:35 am
is it still in production?
Yes, fully in production. The parts have a long lead time, and we build them in batches, but spaced out (COVID hasn't helped us get them back in stock either). We also service dealer orders before they come into stock on our website, and have been hard to keep in stock because demand is high.

Thanks! -WM
Check out the growing number of WMD Demo Videos | WMD Website

User avatar
lmixl
Common Wiggler
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:12 pm
Location: Riverside County

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by lmixl » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:39 pm

Good to hear that! Thanks!

User avatar
Zymos
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2527
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:14 pm
Location: ABQ,NM

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by Zymos » Sat Jul 04, 2020 5:19 pm

So, I just bought Erica Cymbals, and had read earlier in this thread about issues with accents.
I’m not seeing any problem at all, it works just like you’d expect. I didn’t mess with the trimmers, the screw slots of both were straight vertical, FWIW.
There’s also a jumper for accent ext/int- that might be important though I’m not sure what it does.

trigger303
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:42 pm

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by trigger303 » Wed Jul 08, 2020 7:53 pm

Very sorry for bringing up old topic again... but actually, isn't there a possibility to implement multiple COMPOSE SCENE tracks...?

Already Metron is really powerful sequencer, but with that feature, it will go much further !

If it is realized, I will strongly use it... for example, I program preset sounds for Crater, Chimera, Fracture, Crucible on separate COMPOSE SCENE tracks, and I can recall them later...individually!
Please, please...

User avatar
Joey P.
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 1:55 am
Location: Washington DC

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by Joey P. » Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:39 pm

Hey....is there a way to clear fill FX that have been recorded via the REC button?

Thanks,

User avatar
honeysmack
Common Wiggler
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 12:23 am
Location: Acid Planet
Contact:

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by honeysmack » Sun Jul 12, 2020 6:22 am

Couple of questions if I may:

1. Anyone had experience clocking Metron via MIDI clock from Intellijel's uMIDI, or would you go uMIDI -> PAMs -> Metron?

2. As a rough idea how do people work out how many Voltera's they need to accompany the Metron?

I haven't bought one as yet, very close: wonder if the Metron/Voltera combo will replace my Varigate8+/Voltage Block and/or my Beatstep Pro (I've asked this a long time ago, but wanted to see how people are going now). I'm still keeping my Varigate 4+ and Metropolis, but might ditch the Beatstep Pro?

I make Acid Techno (bangers) 909+303, so my modular rig is focused on percussion/drum modules that compliments the Roland x0x boxes.

thanks for reading

jamynmusic
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:35 am
Location: vancouver

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by jamynmusic » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:49 am

theotteryears wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 6:27 am
is it possible to use SBUS to send program changes to a voltage block and a SSM at the same time if I have both?



Just thought I’d bump this post, I’m curious as well and haven’t seen any response :) anyone?

User avatar
NastyNachos
Common Wiggler
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:44 pm
Location: Denver
Contact:

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by NastyNachos » Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:39 pm

Yes, anything connected to the same busboard will react to SBus messages... It will be the same message to both modules.

User avatar
mkasthe
Common Wiggler
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:35 pm
Location: New York City

Re: WMD Metron sequencer

Post by mkasthe » Mon Jul 13, 2020 4:06 pm

WMD / Alex - Any future thoughts about possibility of adjusting gate length on Axxent (even on a per-track basis instead of on a per-step basis)?

I was thinking about a creative way of using Axxent to drive the individual inputs (Next, X, Y, Origin) of a Noise Eng Mimetic Digitalis, but if you have multiple subsequent steps active on Axxent it is treated as a very long gate so it will only recognize the first step.
Made in Italy and exported to NYC
Instagram: The Analog Kid

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”