4ms Pods

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe., lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
joeSeggiola
Common Wiggler
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by joeSeggiola » Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:25 am

Nice idea. Is it easy to drill the holes? I'd say the metal bends easily, doesn't it?

User avatar
presidentofvice
Common Wiggler
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by presidentofvice » Sat Feb 15, 2020 10:31 am

joeSeggiola wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:25 am
Nice idea. Is it easy to drill the holes? I'd say the metal bends easily, doesn't it?
It does bend for sure. I supported it with wood blocks and cardboard, and used the original panel from the mult as a drill template. It was pretty easy. Not much clearance though, so you have to be careful there.

User avatar
joeSeggiola
Common Wiggler
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by joeSeggiola » Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:36 am

presidentofvice wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 10:31 am
It does bend for sure. I supported it with wood blocks and cardboard, and used the original panel from the mult as a drill template. It was pretty easy. Not much clearance though, so you have to be careful there.
Got it, thanks. So, you mounted a multiple module by removing its original faceplate? I thought you just soldered some plugs together.

User avatar
presidentofvice
Common Wiggler
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by presidentofvice » Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:58 am

joeSeggiola wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:36 am
presidentofvice wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 10:31 am
It does bend for sure. I supported it with wood blocks and cardboard, and used the original panel from the mult as a drill template. It was pretty easy. Not much clearance though, so you have to be careful there.
Got it, thanks. So, you mounted a multiple module by removing its original faceplate? I thought you just soldered some plugs together.
You could totally do that, but I was lazy and had a 2hp mult handy. If you solder your own you’ll need it to be no deeper than 16mm or so, or you’ll have clearance issues with the power supply.

User avatar
Granny
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:33 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by Granny » Fri May 15, 2020 5:47 pm

anybody tried longer dc cables to connect two pods?

adaris
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 559
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:49 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by adaris » Fri May 15, 2020 6:05 pm

Granny wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 5:47 pm
anybody tried longer dc cables to connect two pods?
Yes, I've used Adafruit 5' extension cables without any problems.

User avatar
Granny
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:33 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by Granny » Sat May 16, 2020 6:14 am

adaris wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 6:05 pm
Granny wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 5:47 pm
anybody tried longer dc cables to connect two pods?
Yes, I've used Adafruit 5' extension cables without any problems.
thanks for the info! i know that it should be working fine and i already bought a longer dc cable for guitar pedals (waiting for the last module to put in the pod), but its just nice to get some feedback

this could also be quite handy
https://www.adafruit.com/product/1125

adaris
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 559
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:49 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by adaris » Sat May 16, 2020 7:00 am

Granny wrote:
Sat May 16, 2020 6:14 am
adaris wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 6:05 pm
Granny wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 5:47 pm
anybody tried longer dc cables to connect two pods?
Yes, I've used Adafruit 5' extension cables without any problems.
thanks for the info! i know that it should be working fine and i already bought a longer dc cable for guitar pedals (waiting for the last module to put in the pod), but its just nice to get some feedback

this could also be quite handy
https://www.adafruit.com/product/1125
Yep, I actually have several of those. Definitely handy.

User avatar
joeSeggiola
Common Wiggler
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:59 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by joeSeggiola » Sat May 16, 2020 8:07 pm

Granny wrote:
Sat May 16, 2020 6:14 am
this could also be quite handy
https://www.adafruit.com/product/1125
Noice! Ordered a couple from AliExpress, thanks for the idea.

User avatar
hinterlands303
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 902
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:57 pm
Location: Detroit

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by hinterlands303 » Sun May 17, 2020 12:38 pm

Has anyone fit a Doepfer SEM filter into a PodX? It seems like the depth is exactly the same (55mm) which is cutting it pretty close.

User avatar
indigoid
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by indigoid » Fri May 22, 2020 12:40 am

Just received a pair of powered Pod64x this week to re-home my Pittsburgh Modular VRL in a more portable format. Everything works, but I'm fairly disappointed by the power supply in them.

* It needs way more standoffs to support the bus board! Plugging into some of the shrouded headers causes the bus board to bend horribly. Not cool. Kinda feels half-assed TBH
* Like almost every Euro case I've owned, it also needs more power headers. That 6hp space is empty because I ran out of connectors. Time to get the crimpers out again. It's not as if I'm using tons of tiny modules...
Screen Shot 2020-05-22 at 3.36.26 pm.png
Zap him again! ZAP THE SONOFABITCH AGAIN!

User avatar
indigoid
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by indigoid » Fri May 22, 2020 12:43 am

hinterlands303 wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 12:38 pm
Has anyone fit a Doepfer SEM filter into a PodX? It seems like the depth is exactly the same (55mm) which is cutting it pretty close.
I have that filter. Here it is in a Pod64X:
doepfer-sem-pod64x.jpg
There's enough room to slide the connector of one of the Pittsburgh Modular "patch noodles" underneath, so if you needed to run a ribbon cable under the module it would be ok.

Also I need to do some dusting. Urgh.
Zap him again! ZAP THE SONOFABITCH AGAIN!

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2015
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by monads » Fri May 29, 2020 7:18 pm

The Adafruit items for in-line power switch and extension cable are really sweet! Thanks for those links guys!!!

User avatar
Flohr
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 728
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:58 am
Location: ATL

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by Flohr » Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:12 pm

indigoid wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 12:40 am
* Like almost every Euro case I've owned, it also needs more power headers. That 6hp space is empty because I ran out of connectors. Time to get the crimpers out again. It's not as if I'm using tons of tiny modules...
Do you just not like the idea of using a flying bus to expand? Or does it not fit? I know its not ideal to attach a multi power cable to a bus (would be better to have more bus slots) but I've done it on other cases and it seemed fine?

User avatar
Flohr
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 728
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:58 am
Location: ATL

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by Flohr » Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:23 pm

Can anyone confirm whether Expert Sleepers stuff fits nicely in the new 34x or 64x? I have an ES-3 and an ES-5, and I am considering trying to pick up an ES-6 and an ESX-8CV but I don't want to house all of that in my main 6u or my MN skiff. I have a little Moog 60hp but its too shallow. Also I really don't know whether I should get the 34 or the 64. Obviously we all always need more hp, but I am really done with mish mashed cases. I want specific concepts and nothing else in the case. I am struggling to come up with 64hp worth of stuff to pair with my ES modules. I did a modulargrid of the 34 and added two buff mults and a Levit8. That would be assuming that its feasible to run a multi power cable like I mentioned in my reply to indigoid. If that's not possible than maybe just some passive stuff? Could ditch the mults, throw in a 2hp OR and 3 Quad-Atts. Another cool passive option might be the Doepfer Multicore. And then just stick the other end in main case so my ES box doesn't need to be anywhere near it. Anybody who uses ES stuff have ideas to fill out a 64x? I suppose I could have dedicated modulation sources to feed the ES-6 but that seems kind of boring.

kwaidan
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1853
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 3:14 pm

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by kwaidan » Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:47 pm

Flohr wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:12 pm
indigoid wrote:
Fri May 22, 2020 12:40 am
* Like almost every Euro case I've owned, it also needs more power headers. That 6hp space is empty because I ran out of connectors. Time to get the crimpers out again. It's not as if I'm using tons of tiny modules...
Do you just not like the idea of using a flying bus to expand? Or does it not fit? I know its not ideal to attach a multi power cable to a bus (would be better to have more bus slots) but I've done it on other cases and it seemed fine?
If you do not want to make your own power cable, 4ms sells cables with three or four headers for expansion—I forget the exact amount. The cables come with either 8 or 10 pins, and you have to connect the cable directly to each module, which can make things tricky.

You can also fit a flying bus in a Pod, but sometimes, things get tight.

A uZeus will not fit in the shallow pods; however, it will fit in the deeper units. A 4ms Power will fit in the shallow units.

User avatar
monads
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2015
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:05 am
Location: Odyssey Island
Contact:

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by monads » Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:06 pm

I think it's more people don't have the equip to make their own flying bus cable. I surely didn't, then picked up some ribbon cable, headers, and a crimper! I didn't want to at first but has come in handy for other cable needs. Agree with Kwaidan that things can get a little tight with the flying bus in a Pod!

User avatar
Hidden_Path
Common Wiggler
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:32 pm
Location: Texas

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by Hidden_Path » Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:17 am

Flohr wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:23 pm
Can anyone confirm whether Expert Sleepers stuff fits nicely in the new 34x or 64x?
My ES-3 MK3 was too deep for the Pod 64x. I believe the MK4 should fit, but don't have one to confirm.

Ellingferd
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by Ellingferd » Tue Jun 02, 2020 12:59 pm

Hidden_Path wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 9:17 am
Flohr wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:23 pm
Can anyone confirm whether Expert Sleepers stuff fits nicely in the new 34x or 64x?
My ES-3 MK3 was too deep for the Pod 64x. I believe the MK4 should fit, but don't have one to confirm.
I have my es9 in the new 34x. No problem.

User avatar
indigoid
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 7:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by indigoid » Sat Jun 06, 2020 8:18 pm

Flohr wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:12 pm
Do you just not like the idea of using a flying bus to expand? Or does it not fit?
No, I don't like it at all. The pods are OK for my application (these pods were always intended to be a more portable pair of enclosures for my beloved Voltage Research Lab, which on its own only needs 3 connectors) but it's pretty frustrating that 4ms seemed to have lots of available space (without making the bus board longer!) and didn't add more headers.

More headers would also have made it easier to populate and allowed shorter ribbon cables.

I find it weird actually. There seems to be a trend in Euro toward awful tiny cramped modules with terrible user interfaces, yet of the various cases I have here, only Doepfer and MDLR have a lot of power headers.
Zap him again! ZAP THE SONOFABITCH AGAIN!

timjim
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:10 pm

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by timjim » Sat Jun 06, 2020 9:00 pm

If anyone has a problem fitting that one module that's just a little too deep, you could try this. Use some M3 x10mm tapped metal spacers (usually used for spacing circuitboards). I got Brains to play nicely next to Pressure Points in my Pod 60.
IMG_1699 (1).JPG

User avatar
pinkandbluenoise
Common Wiggler
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 3:21 pm

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by pinkandbluenoise » Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:08 am

Does anyone know if a DPO will fit in the pod? The depth is supposedly 30mm, but I'm somewhat doubtful it'll fit.
sludgeflesh

kpreid
Common Wiggler
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:18 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by kpreid » Fri Jun 19, 2020 12:54 pm

Unfortunately, Make Noise seems to specify the depth of their modules ignoring the power connector sticking out.

I found a picture of the back of a DPO and it appears to be two stacked boards with a straight power connector on the rear board. Any module with two stacked boards (of the typical stacking depth) and a straight power connector on the rear board will not fit in a shallow Pod.

(If the power connector is on the front board or otherwise recessed, as Befaco's designs do for example, then it will fit.)

Inju
Common Wiggler
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2015 7:49 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by Inju » Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:40 pm

I just wanted to add to the community on a few limitations on the 4MS pods. I have two, one is the shallower version and I also have the 48X.

The shallower version currently houses my Benjolin and Stereo/FX Send Mixer and the 48X has a Cwejman VCO-2RM and MMF-1S. To complete my Cwejman voice, I added a 2HP ADSR envelope and 2HP Attenuator for output duty. I also added a 2HP Sequencer which I wanted to mount on the far left so it can become its own self-sufficient instrument.

The chain would look as follows: 2Hp Seq --> Cwejman VCO-2RM --> 2Hp ADSR Envelope --> Cwejman MMF-1S --> 2Hp Verb (On the way!) --> 2HP Attenuators.

This is where I ran into problems. The 2 HP mounting holes are on the left side. What this means is unless you're going to mount the 2Hp modules "backward" you can not mount it on the far left side or drill holes on the right side of the 2Hp modules for it to fit. The holes will not line up. This seems to be the case for all of my 2Hp modules. So my sequencer will have to be right of my Cwejman VCO-2RM. :doh:

User avatar
xcc
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:37 am
Location: TX

Re: 4ms Pods

Post by xcc » Sat Jun 27, 2020 4:32 pm

Inju wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 3:40 pm
I just wanted to add to the community on a few limitations on the 4MS pods. I have two, one is the shallower version and I also have the 48X.

The shallower version currently houses my Benjolin and Stereo/FX Send Mixer and the 48X has a Cwejman VCO-2RM and MMF-1S. To complete my Cwejman voice, I added a 2HP ADSR envelope and 2HP Attenuator for output duty. I also added a 2HP Sequencer which I wanted to mount on the far left so it can become its own self-sufficient instrument.

The chain would look as follows: 2Hp Seq --> Cwejman VCO-2RM --> 2Hp ADSR Envelope --> Cwejman MMF-1S --> 2Hp Verb (On the way!) --> 2HP Attenuators.

This is where I ran into problems. The 2 HP mounting holes are on the left side. What this means is unless you're going to mount the 2Hp modules "backward" you can not mount it on the far left side or drill holes on the right side of the 2Hp modules for it to fit. The holes will not line up. This seems to be the case for all of my 2Hp modules. So my sequencer will have to be right of my Cwejman VCO-2RM. :doh:
Yeah I discovered that the hard way myself when I wen to put an HPO on the far right. I've been able to get around it fine, but I wouldn't mind having holes all the way to the edges.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”