Qu-Bit Bloom

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

User avatar
gonkulator
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1433
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:56 pm
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by gonkulator » Tue Feb 11, 2020 11:25 am

dumbledog wrote:
Wed Jan 01, 2020 3:08 pm
Is there a way to tamp down on the sequence's range when traveling down branches? Sometimes it octaves the same note multiple times and gets really jarring, especially with bass.
Yeah, I stopped using it because of this. It's still there, waiting for a solution.
Racks
Solaris Site
Stuff for sale
Stuff for sale shown on Modulargrid
WTB: Black panels


Unflappably nonchalant, with some exceptions

kbowman016
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:13 am

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by kbowman016 » Tue Feb 11, 2020 4:55 pm

hugo wrote:
Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:01 pm
@versipellis: it may not be very clear from the manual but making any change to the original trunk re-creates all its branches.
Oh, and make sure you first lock the melody (shift + pattern for ~2 seconds) you created!
@hugo- Thanks for your input and suggestions! For locking the melody, does shift + pattern for ~2 seconds lock it or save it? Sorry not in the studio right now, but I thought that saved the pattern. Is there a difference?

Thanks!

User avatar
Squarewave Fellowship
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 7:12 am
Location: UK

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by Squarewave Fellowship » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:04 pm

Is anyone else having the issue that even at minimum mutation, the pattern isn't locked? Even on 1 step, 1 branch, zero mutation, the 1-step pattern changes. Is there something I am missing?!

Strangely, the channel which is not selected will be locked. eg, if I am on blue, with everything zero, blue CV pitch will mutate slowly. If I select green, blue will lock, but green will mutate slowly (even with mutate, branches etc on zero). Same the other way too. Also tried zeroing things in global, same behaviour.

Also tried checking if it is getting enough power. I don't think that is the issue.

User avatar
subLimb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:14 pm

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by subLimb » Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:12 pm

Squarewave Fellowship wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:04 pm
Is anyone else having the issue that even at minimum mutation, the pattern isn't locked? Even on 1 step, 1 branch, zero mutation, the 1-step pattern changes. Is there something I am missing?!
This has been my experience, yes. I assumed it was how it is supposed to work. Mutate changes the original sequence which then causes branches to change as well. I would actually prefer if we could lock the main trunk sequence from any changes and just mutate branches only...

Edit: I misread, it looks like you're saying that the main trunk pattern gets mutated even when mutation knob is set at zero. This does not happen for me (unless of course i'm sending CV into the Mutate input).

The channel behavior you're noticing (the channel that isn't selected stays locked) seems like expected behavior. CV inputs should only affect the currently selected channel. However, in your case it sounds like you don't have any incoming CV?

WhiteCrystalWizard
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:06 am
Location: Bristol

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by WhiteCrystalWizard » Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:59 pm

Squarewave Fellowship wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:04 pm
Is anyone else having the issue that even at minimum mutation, the pattern isn't locked? Even on 1 step, 1 branch, zero mutation, the 1-step pattern changes. Is there something I am missing?!

Strangely, the channel which is not selected will be locked. eg, if I am on blue, with everything zero, blue CV pitch will mutate slowly. If I select green, blue will lock, but green will mutate slowly (even with mutate, branches etc on zero). Same the other way too. Also tried zeroing things in global, same behaviour.

Also tried checking if it is getting enough power. I don't think that is the issue.
Remember that you may be looking at the knobs that were set before you changed channels, so make sure you adjust the knobs to what you want after you have changed channel

Yes it says in the manual that the settings are all saved for the channel when you switch channels, to allow it to remember it’s state between power downs..

Room07
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:51 am

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by Room07 » Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:53 pm

I've been working with Bloom on and off for about a month now. I have mixed feelings overall but I'm hoping an update or two with smooth the experience out.

I'm having a problem at the moment where none of the knobs change pitch. Bloom only outputs a single pitch, regardless of what I do. Powered up the rack the other day and it was just like this. Anyone experience anything similar?

VirtualFlannel
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:21 pm

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by VirtualFlannel » Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:37 pm

Room07 wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:53 pm
I've been working with Bloom on and off for about a month now. I have mixed feelings overall but I'm hoping an update or two with smooth the experience out.

I'm having a problem at the moment where none of the knobs change pitch. Bloom only outputs a single pitch, regardless of what I do. Powered up the rack the other day and it was just like this. Anyone experience anything similar?
Yes, this just happened to me as well. Let me know if you figure it out. I’ll post here if I hear back from Qu-Bit

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by versipellis » Fri Feb 21, 2020 4:26 pm

I shot them a DM on IG, but no reply yet. This is my first Qu-bit module, are they known for releasing firmware updates?
tunes: https://www.soundcloud.com/dycedot
in boston? I run nights: https://www.facebook.com/4OTFEvents/
selling [Moog Sub Phatty, KMI K-Mix w/ MIDI expander, Erica Synths Bassline]: viewtopic.php?p=3142686

Nutritional Zero
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 2:57 am

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by Nutritional Zero » Fri Feb 21, 2020 4:45 pm

versipellis wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 4:26 pm
I shot them a DM on IG, but no reply yet. This is my first Qu-bit module, are they known for releasing firmware updates?
Not particularly, but this is a factor of the loop Qu-Bit appear to be caught in. As it stands they probably need to start focusing on next year’s designs as soon as this year’s are out the door. Qu-Bit’s “it’s broken plz help” customer service is excellent, but I feel if they just s l o w e d d o w n a bit they could design and support products with a multi-annual sales cycle, not just modules which are released with clear beta testing deficits (testing by musicians, not engineers) and questionable documentation. These modules ultimately remain inscrutable, are sometimes abandoned by their initial users, and so the sales cycle effectively ends there. So, to keep the lights on, you need to design a new batch of modules. Repeat as necessary.

Maybe we could find a way of collating and organizing feedback on Bloom into a document. A group of users together might have some gravitas, whereas the one-offs are just support enquiries to be dispensed with. Bloom Users Group or B.U.G.

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Qu-Bit Bloom

Post by versipellis » Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:18 am

That's really unfortunate. Literally the only thing that I dislike, no, hate about this module is that entering a shift-mode for adjusting something like per-step glide locks the sequencer rather than keeping it running. So much for live tweaking.
tunes: https://www.soundcloud.com/dycedot
in boston? I run nights: https://www.facebook.com/4OTFEvents/
selling [Moog Sub Phatty, KMI K-Mix w/ MIDI expander, Erica Synths Bassline]: viewtopic.php?p=3142686

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”