Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:08 am

Previous versions of firmware can be found in our repository:
https://github.com/Befaco/VCMC/tags

Behaviour is not normal at all. If problem persists contact our support team for assistance!
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

User avatar
revoltcrews
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by revoltcrews » Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:26 am

Befacosynth wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:08 am
Previous versions of firmware can be found in our repository:
https://github.com/Befaco/VCMC/tags

Behaviour is not normal at all. If problem persists contact our support team for assistance!
thanks for clarifying. I have contacted support. waiting to hear back

User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:45 am

Great!

In a couple of days, maximum three, you will be contacted!
My bet goes for misconfiguration :)
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 11201
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:07 pm

Make sure to post here with the results. Thanks!
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
revoltcrews
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by revoltcrews » Fri Sep 25, 2020 12:25 pm

Befacosynth wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:45 am
My bet goes for misconfiguration :)
it is configured properly, pretty straightforward to do..... and I'm suuuuuper chillllll by the way

Plugman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 12:54 am

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Plugman » Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:33 pm

Since then, I've also been sounding the same even though the settings are saved but with different MIDI channels.I have to do a factory reset every time and reconfigure it, so I use the old version.Please do something soon!

User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:30 am

Plugman wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:33 pm
Since then, I've also been sounding the same even though the settings are saved but with different MIDI channels.I have to do a factory reset every time and reconfigure it, so I use the old version.Please do something soon!
This issue (and potential bug) is really hard to spot as we cannot replicate the issue in here. It worked in the last 5 units I tested....For some weird reason, problem is intermitent and only affects some units... quite frustrating to troubleshoot :bang:

We are working on it (even on a Sunday...) and for now can offer two troubleshooting paths. Please follow these steps and report back with results:

- Unzip and Load VCMC_1_2_1_Mem_test.zip This is the lates WIP code with many memory optimizations. It might help.

- If we are facing funky memory issues, it might be good to wipe the memory first. Unzip and load wipe_memory.zip, this code will erase EEPROM so teensy will be fresh and clean. Then try to load your code of choice!

Thanks a lot in advance for taking the time to try these out. This is really helpful!!!
Attachments
wipe_memory.zip
(7.7 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
VCMC_1_2_1_Mem_test.zip
(117.37 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

User avatar
revoltcrews
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by revoltcrews » Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:36 am

cool. mine is still persisting with the same bug after above steps.
even after loading v1.01, repeating steps up to 1.2.1.
except now all gate inputs were triggering midi channel 2 until a CV is patched into corresponding channel.
will try again later after work.

*side note, can't really seem to get mine calibrated. perhaps I'm just an idiot.
after getting to the Factory Cal,
is there supposed to be a "prompt" to enter 2v and then another prompt to enter 8v, cuz I don't get one. so I just proceed:
while watching my voltage carefully through a mordax data, where it clearly shows 2v on my key press,
when I enter it to the VCMC CV in 1, it doesn't reflect that at all, its way off.
and I know the 2v source is solid.

is there any possibility of having a firmware load calibrated?

can you load a DEFAULT preset config in the firmware, where the panel is simply outputting notes /gates to the corresponding midi channels 1-8, so we can jump in and patch? that would be an amazing help. we can choose that to load when we power up.

cheers

User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Mon Sep 28, 2020 11:02 am

revoltcrews wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:36 am
cool. mine is still persisting with the same bug after above steps.
even after loading v1.01, repeating steps up to 1.2.1.
except now all gate inputs were triggering midi channel 2 until a CV is patched into corresponding channel.
will try again later after work.

*side note, can't really seem to get mine calibrated. perhaps I'm just an idiot.
after getting to the Factory Cal,
is there supposed to be a "prompt" to enter 2v and then another prompt to enter 8v, cuz I don't get one. so I just proceed:
while watching my voltage carefully through a mordax data, where it clearly shows 2v on my key press,
when I enter it to the VCMC CV in 1, it doesn't reflect that at all, its way off.
and I know the 2v source is solid.

is there any possibility of having a firmware load calibrated?

can you load a DEFAULT preset config in the firmware, where the panel is simply outputting notes /gates to the corresponding midi channels 1-8, so we can jump in and patch? that would be an amazing help. we can choose that to load when we power up.

cheers
If your module is still misbehaving after rolling back to older version, then something is fishy here... Send us a mail with your address so we can send you a new teensy board. Maybe yours is fried.
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

User avatar
revoltcrews
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by revoltcrews » Mon Sep 28, 2020 12:02 pm

Befacosynth wrote:
Mon Sep 28, 2020 11:02 am
revoltcrews wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:36 am
cool. mine is still persisting with the same bug after above steps.
even after loading v1.01, repeating steps up to 1.2.1.
except now all gate inputs were triggering midi channel 2 until a CV is patched into corresponding channel.
will try again later after work.

*side note, can't really seem to get mine calibrated. perhaps I'm just an idiot.
after getting to the Factory Cal,
is there supposed to be a "prompt" to enter 2v and then another prompt to enter 8v, cuz I don't get one. so I just proceed:
while watching my voltage carefully through a mordax data, where it clearly shows 2v on my key press,
when I enter it to the VCMC CV in 1, it doesn't reflect that at all, its way off.
and I know the 2v source is solid.

is there any possibility of having a firmware load calibrated?

can you load a DEFAULT preset config in the firmware, where the panel is simply outputting notes /gates to the corresponding midi channels 1-8, so we can jump in and patch? that would be an amazing help. we can choose that to load when we power up.

cheers
If your module is still misbehaving after rolling back to older version, then something is fishy here... Send us a mail with your address so we can send you a new teensy board. Maybe yours is fried.
Email sent to the support thread we had going already :) Thanks so much! You guys :sb:

Plugman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 12:54 am

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Plugman » Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:12 am

Befacosynth wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:30 am
Plugman wrote:
Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:33 pm
Since then, I've also been sounding the same even though the settings are saved but with different MIDI channels.I have to do a factory reset every time and reconfigure it, so I use the old version.Please do something soon!
This issue (and potential bug) is really hard to spot as we cannot replicate the issue in here. It worked in the last 5 units I tested....For some weird reason, problem is intermitent and only affects some units... quite frustrating to troubleshoot :bang:

We are working on it (even on a Sunday...) and for now can offer two troubleshooting paths. Please follow these steps and report back with results:

- Unzip and Load VCMC_1_2_1_Mem_test.zip This is the lates WIP code with many memory optimizations. It might help.

- If we are facing funky memory issues, it might be good to wipe the memory first. Unzip and load wipe_memory.zip, this code will erase EEPROM so teensy will be fresh and clean. Then try to load your code of choice!

Thanks a lot in advance for taking the time to try these out. This is really helpful!!!
Thank you!
I can finally reply to you!
Using the tool you've uploaded, you can use
I was able to clear the memory.
I am able to use the latest OS 1.2.1.
I was able to save my settings properly when I turned it off.
I have been able to use it successfully.
It really helped me to be free of the nightmare. :yay:
Thank you so much!

User avatar
revoltcrews
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1350
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:57 am
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by revoltcrews » Fri Oct 02, 2020 12:29 pm

quick feature request idea:

updating firmware without requiring re-calibration every time. its possible. I have other cv/gate sequencers that don't require calibration every time a firmware is released.

also, any tips on calibrating would be helpful. I just can't seem to get it right.

cheerio

User avatar
fragletrollet
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:55 am
Location: Norge
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by fragletrollet » Fri Oct 16, 2020 8:04 pm

When the faders are configured as midi cc outputs, do they pick up the value when the slider reaches the value in the synth, or directly output the cc of the current value of the fader as soon as its touched? I'm afraid it does the latter because pickup only works with midi feedback from the device under control?

User avatar
fragletrollet
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:55 am
Location: Norge
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by fragletrollet » Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:50 pm

I'm guessing it doesn't have midi input in any way, so I probably just update the value on the synth as soon as the fader starts transmitting data when you move it. I'm guessing midi input can't be added due to hardware design, and usb working as a device (not host).

User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:29 am

fragletrollet wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:50 pm
I'm guessing it doesn't have midi input in any way, so I probably just update the value on the synth as soon as the fader starts transmitting data when you move it. I'm guessing midi input can't be added due to hardware design, and usb working as a device (not host).
There is a pin in the expansion port to get MIDI in. But by default code is not listening to MIDI in.
MIDI device does listen, but by firmware you cannot achieve your goals of bidireccional feedback.

Code is uploaded in github, so, with time and expertise, you could implement your own features!
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

dangriffiths
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2019 4:30 pm

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by dangriffiths » Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:00 am

I imagine a fair few people would benefit from this working if you could add. It would mean being able to connect the VCMC to my FH-2, ES-9 and DistingEX MIDI chain using jumper wires inside the case.

User avatar
NS4W
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1249
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:42 am

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by NS4W » Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:54 am

Enjoying trying to control my TG-33 with this module - I get control of basic stuff like pitch bend, changing patches, volume and the vector. I also have a MIDI manual that goes way above my head. How would I go about in order to VC for example panning ; PAN ?
midi.jpg

User avatar
fragletrollet
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:55 am
Location: Norge
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by fragletrollet » Sat Oct 24, 2020 7:52 am

Befacosynth wrote:
Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:29 am
fragletrollet wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:50 pm
I'm guessing it doesn't have midi input in any way, so I probably just update the value on the synth as soon as the fader starts transmitting data when you move it. I'm guessing midi input can't be added due to hardware design, and usb working as a device (not host).
There is a pin in the expansion port to get MIDI in. But by default code is not listening to MIDI in.
MIDI device does listen, but by firmware you cannot achieve your goals of bidireccional feedback.

Code is uploaded in github, so, with time and expertise, you could implement your own features!
There is hope... I'm afraid my coding skills are nowhere near being able to add something like this myself, and a firmware upgrade featuring this would be appreciated and firther the module's integration in a (my) midi setup. Something to consider :cloud:

Best,

User avatar
Electro Something
Common Wiggler
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2020 5:47 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Electro Something » Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:05 am

I have an Elektron Analog Rytm MkII - could the VCMC basically turn my Rytm into a eurorack module? I could trigger up to 8 of its pads using cv?

User avatar
SonarBk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:24 pm

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by SonarBk » Mon Nov 02, 2020 6:57 am

Hi -

I just got my VCMC and really enjoying it so far but I can't figure out how to get V/Oct setting with CV gate pairs. I'm getting the C major scale triggered by the gate inputs (which is the default factory setting for the buttons and hardwired to the gates, correct?)

How do I reconfigure the buttons? I don't see it anywhere in the manual.

Specifically, I'm pairing the VCMC with an O Cosat CNTRL. I have the 8 gates patched and the Pitch out to CV 1 in, configured as v/oct, Strength out to CV 2 configured as velocity and the rest of the outs to CV configured as CC. It all works great as C major scale, just not getting my pitch info.

Help appreciated, thank you!

User avatar
SonarBk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:24 pm

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by SonarBk » Mon Nov 02, 2020 7:50 am

Audiodog wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:40 am
Quick question on the VCMC - apologies if its a dumb question. I simply want to take a CV (pitch) signal and a gate from a Eurorack sequencer and input into the VCMC so i can send the same sequence out via Midi.
I can get the CV pitch info into the VCMC but what setting do i need to just get a simple gate (on & off) into the VCMC. From what i can see all of the gate functions are linked to midi notes so that it overrides the CV pitch data that im sending to the VCMC via the CV input. What am i missing here - this must be possible.
Thx
This is what I was trying to describe as well. Did you figure it out? Any tips?

User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:11 pm

SonarBk wrote:
Mon Nov 02, 2020 7:50 am
Audiodog wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:40 am
Quick question on the VCMC - apologies if its a dumb question. I simply want to take a CV (pitch) signal and a gate from a Eurorack sequencer and input into the VCMC so i can send the same sequence out via Midi.
I can get the CV pitch info into the VCMC but what setting do i need to just get a simple gate (on & off) into the VCMC. From what i can see all of the gate functions are linked to midi notes so that it overrides the CV pitch data that im sending to the VCMC via the CV input. What am i missing here - this must be possible.
Thx
This is what I was trying to describe as well. Did you figure it out? Any tips?
You guys need to use V/Oct to note function set in your CV. when you do so, gate is automatically configured as the gate for that (no need to further config)

Then, when a gate goes high, cv will be read and a note ON proportional to the cv read will be sent. When the gate goes down a note OFF is sent!
SonarBk wrote:
Mon Nov 02, 2020 6:57 am

How do I reconfigure the buttons? I don't see it anywhere in the manual.
Buttons are hardware linked to gate inputs. so they do the same!
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:13 pm

Electro Something wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 9:05 am
I have an Elektron Analog Rytm MkII - could the VCMC basically turn my Rytm into a eurorack module? I could trigger up to 8 of its pads using cv?
Short answer is yes :)
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

User avatar
Endosine
Tamahagane Modular
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:14 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Endosine » Wed Nov 18, 2020 6:19 pm

Hi All, I just picked up one of these fancy beasts and I'm having some troubles building a map for my TR-909. I was thinking / expecting that I could have 8 channels of the faders and CV assigned to velocities and the gates assigned to specific note numbers to trigger the sounds on the TR-909. I'm basically aiming to have Euclidean style sequencers drive the note triggers and some lfos make some cool ghost note patterns via velocity.

It seems that velocity is mapped per midi channel instead of per gate note. With 2 fader / CV channels set to velocity, it seems both faders are changing velocity for both channels, acting as one parameter as opposed to effecting each separate note assigned to the gate. Is that expected?

Am I missing something? Is there a way to set it up the way I'm hoping? Thanks!

User avatar
Befacosynth
Common Wiggler
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: Befaco VCMC voltage controlled MIDI controller

Post by Befacosynth » Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:50 am

Endosine wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 6:19 pm
Hi All, I just picked up one of these fancy beasts and I'm having some troubles building a map for my TR-909. I was thinking / expecting that I could have 8 channels of the faders and CV assigned to velocities and the gates assigned to specific note numbers to trigger the sounds on the TR-909. I'm basically aiming to have Euclidean style sequencers drive the note triggers and some lfos make some cool ghost note patterns via velocity.

It seems that velocity is mapped per midi channel instead of per gate note. With 2 fader / CV channels set to velocity, it seems both faders are changing velocity for both channels, acting as one parameter as opposed to effecting each separate note assigned to the gate. Is that expected?

Am I missing something? Is there a way to set it up the way I'm hoping? Thanks!
This is doable in latest firmwares. In 1.0 velocity does not apply to gate notes.
www.befaco.org
support((at))befaco.org

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”