Frap Tools USTA

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Thu May 28, 2020 1:44 am

Can’t seem to find any where in stock in Europe. Does anyone have any leads or info?

fjoesz
Common Wiggler
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:52 pm
Location: amsterdam

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by fjoesz » Thu May 28, 2020 4:51 am

I like it as it is, but I think the stage length page could easily do repeats and/or probability

studioutopia
Common Wiggler
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 9:28 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by studioutopia » Thu May 28, 2020 6:27 am

NaiveMelody wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 1:44 am
Can’t seem to find any where in stock in Europe. Does anyone have any leads or info?
There is one on reverb.com for sale - from the UK.

User avatar
synonymist
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by synonymist » Thu May 28, 2020 7:14 am

studioutopia wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 6:27 am
NaiveMelody wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 1:44 am
Can’t seem to find any where in stock in Europe. Does anyone have any leads or info?
There is one on reverb.com for sale - from the UK.
Wow... It is pretty thin on the ground, isn't it? But yes, there is that listing at Reverb:

https://reverb.com/item/33837816-frap-tools-usta

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Thu May 28, 2020 7:37 am

studioutopia wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 6:27 am
NaiveMelody wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 1:44 am
Can’t seem to find any where in stock in Europe. Does anyone have any leads or info?
There is one on reverb.com for sale - from the UK.
Thanks. I swore I checked that already, d'oh! Thanks for letting me know anyway and not ripping me :sb:

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Thu May 28, 2020 7:38 am

synonymist wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 7:14 am
studioutopia wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 6:27 am
NaiveMelody wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 1:44 am
Can’t seem to find any where in stock in Europe. Does anyone have any leads or info?
There is one on reverb.com for sale - from the UK.
Wow... It is pretty thin on the ground, isn't it? But yes, there is that listing at Reverb:

https://reverb.com/item/33837816-frap-tools-usta
I spoke to a shop here and apparently they didn't get to manufacturing enough with the sudden onslaught of covid, which is fully understandable!

User avatar
VZvision
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 537
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:10 am

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by VZvision » Thu May 28, 2020 1:21 pm

NaiveMelody wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 7:38 am
synonymist wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 7:14 am
studioutopia wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 6:27 am
NaiveMelody wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 1:44 am
Can’t seem to find any where in stock in Europe. Does anyone have any leads or info?
There is one on reverb.com for sale - from the UK.
Wow... It is pretty thin on the ground, isn't it? But yes, there is that listing at Reverb:

https://reverb.com/item/33837816-frap-tools-usta
I spoke to a shop here and apparently they didn't get to manufacturing enough with the sudden onslaught of covid, which is fully understandable!
If you haven’t already, use the wiggle hunt to track one down/check stock :tu:

https://wigglehunt.com/?query=Usta&cond ... e_max=5000

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Thu May 28, 2020 2:11 pm

VZvision wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 1:21 pm

If you haven’t already, use the wiggle hunt to track one down/check stock :tu:

https://wigglehunt.com/?query=Usta&cond ... e_max=5000
I did not know about this tool, that’s awesome! Thank you.

Acquadar
Common Wiggler
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:00 pm

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by Acquadar » Fri May 29, 2020 3:07 pm

Martin Pas shop has it...

User avatar
macio
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:05 am
Location: Poland

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by macio » Sat May 30, 2020 7:12 am

Don’t you think resetting pattern to the last saved state would be more useful than reinitializing it to zero?

peachesandbacon
Common Wiggler
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:27 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by peachesandbacon » Sat May 30, 2020 7:48 am

Is there a way to create random patterns currently?

studioutopia
Common Wiggler
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 9:28 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by studioutopia » Sat May 30, 2020 8:01 am

macio wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:12 am
Don’t you think resetting pattern to the last saved state would be more useful than reinitializing it to zero?
If you mean loading the last saved project when you power up - I agree completely.

User avatar
synonymist
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by synonymist » Sat May 30, 2020 8:22 am

peachesandbacon wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:48 am
Is there a way to create random patterns currently?
In USTA, no and yes. Whereas you cannot use USTA to generate a random pattern as a single action,

The no: you can use USTA to record a series of random CV values that are created by an external source (one that gives USTA a gate per CV value). But that's somewhat beside the point, isn't it? :)

The yes: you can set USTA's variation index and range per stage, effectively enabling it to render a pattern that is so variable that it is "random". In my brief experience, this is a more advanced version of what Varigate 4+ does. But to my thinking these schemes are really about variability, not essential randomness.

Comparing this to the Five12 Vector Sequencer, USTA lacks Vector's "Generate" functionality completely (and specific to your question, the three types of random generation Vector does), but has something like its "Evolve" functionality.

User avatar
macio
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 9:05 am
Location: Poland

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by macio » Sat May 30, 2020 9:17 am

studioutopia wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 8:01 am
macio wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:12 am
Don’t you think resetting pattern to the last saved state would be more useful than reinitializing it to zero?
If you mean loading the last saved project when you power up - I agree completely.
I rather think: when you load your project and modify pattern to some extent. Then you want to go back to the state it was in after you had first loaded it. In other words: dismiss unsaved changes.

peachesandbacon
Common Wiggler
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:27 pm
Location: Sydney

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by peachesandbacon » Sat May 30, 2020 9:22 am

synonymist wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 8:22 am
peachesandbacon wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:48 am
Is there a way to create random patterns currently?
In USTA, no and yes. Whereas you cannot use USTA to generate a random pattern as a single action,

The no: you can use USTA to record a series of random CV values that are created by an external source (one that gives USTA a gate per CV value). But that's somewhat beside the point, isn't it? :)

The yes: you can set USTA's variation index and range per stage, effectively enabling it to render a pattern that is so variable that it is "random". In my brief experience, this is a more advanced version of what Varigate 4+ does. But to my thinking these schemes are really about variability, not essential randomness.

Comparing this to the Five12 Vector Sequencer, USTA lacks Vector's "Generate" functionality completely (and specific to your question, the three types of random generation Vector does), but has something like its "Evolve" functionality.
OK. So I could run a quantised random melody out of pams and into usta and record the output of pams gates and cv into usta? That’s great. And a good workaround for now.

@Frap Tools, if you’re listening, a generate function to generate random cv / gate patterns would be fantastic.
I would imagine it’s not to difficult to implement.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2014
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by hawkfuzz » Sat May 30, 2020 4:03 pm

macio wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 9:17 am
studioutopia wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 8:01 am
macio wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:12 am
Don’t you think resetting pattern to the last saved state would be more useful than reinitializing it to zero?
If you mean loading the last saved project when you power up - I agree completely.
I rather think: when you load your project and modify pattern to some extent. Then you want to go back to the state it was in after you had first loaded it. In other words: dismiss unsaved changes.
Yes this is what I was talking about last page, they said it's not possible. Also, the USTA does load the last saved project.
THUMPR BC SC

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:05 am

Hi,

I'm still considering getting an USTA. It's insanely deep and looks really powerful for creating interesting rhythm and melody.

I have an Odessa with Hel expander, and am currently creating 3 / 4 note chords in Odessa. I know that Usta is two CV out per track, meaning max 2 notes.

Is it possible to "link" or "lock" two tracks together?

That way I could get the 3/ 4 notes, and play with / modulate one track, affecting both at the same time.

Hopefully that makes sense but let me know if not.

User avatar
synonymist
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by synonymist » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:52 am

NaiveMelody wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:05 am
Hi,

I'm still considering getting an USTA. It's insanely deep and looks really powerful for creating interesting rhythm and melody.

I have an Odessa with Hel expander, and am currently creating 3 / 4 note chords in Odessa. I know that Usta is two CV out per track, meaning max 2 notes.

Is it possible to "link" or "lock" two tracks together?

That way I could get the 3/ 4 notes, and play with / modulate one track, affecting both at the same time.

Hopefully that makes sense but let me know if not.
Hello. If I understand your objective correctly, I think that you should abandon the concept of "link[ing]" tracks in that usage and of "modulat[ing] one track [to affect] both", and instead only focus on the concept of using one modulation source to affect two tracks at once. As for "play[ing with]" one track to affect two tracks simultaneously, it depends what you mean by "play with"; but we can revisit that later if you'd like to explain it.

To give Odessa+Hel four pitch CV sources using two USTA tracks, wherein you will use one external CV source to modulate those two USTA tracks, first use the Track Menu to configure the first track, including setting CV control(s) routing. You can either 1. then clone the first track to the second track (a process I don't understand well, but is documented in the manual), or 2. apply each Track Menu setting to all tracks as you configure the first track:

"If you want to apply the same Track Menu settings to all the tracks, hold the SET ALL button before pushing the navigation encoder to save the setting (see below Set All and Shift All)."

2 would be workable if this is the first editing you are doing among all four tracks, so you could overwrite the third and fourth tracks later.

Patch the external modulation source to USTA. Define the first two tracks' pitch values. As you play USTA, you will hear the external modulation source affecting both tracks.

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:45 am

synonymist wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:52 am


Hello. If I understand your objective correctly, I think that you should abandon the concept of "link[ing]" tracks in that usage and of "modulat[ing] one track [to affect] both", and instead only focus on the concept of using one modulation source to affect two tracks at once. As for "play[ing with]" one track to affect two tracks simultaneously, it depends what you mean by "play with"; but we can revisit that later if you'd like to explain it.

To give Odessa+Hel four pitch CV sources using two USTA tracks, wherein you will use one external CV source to modulate those two USTA tracks, first use the Track Menu to configure the first track, including setting CV control(s) routing. You can either 1. then clone the first track to the second track (a process I don't understand well, but is documented in the manual), or 2. apply each Track Menu setting to all tracks as you configure the first track:

"If you want to apply the same Track Menu settings to all the tracks, hold the SET ALL button before pushing the navigation encoder to save the setting (see below Set All and Shift All)."

2 would be workable if this is the first editing you are doing among all four tracks, so you could overwrite the third and fourth tracks later.

Patch the external modulation source to USTA. Define the first two tracks' pitch values. As you play USTA, you will hear the external modulation source affecting both tracks.
Thanks for getting back to me.

From what you've said it gets me most of what I want I think, and sounds like a neat approach. Cloning a track would make it quick to set up too.

What about in a live scenario applying track mutes on the USTA itself for example, not using modulation?

User avatar
synonymist
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 661
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by synonymist » Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:48 am

NaiveMelody wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:45 am
synonymist wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:52 am


Hello. If I understand your objective correctly, I think that you should abandon the concept of "link[ing]" tracks in that usage and of "modulat[ing] one track [to affect] both", and instead only focus on the concept of using one modulation source to affect two tracks at once. As for "play[ing with]" one track to affect two tracks simultaneously, it depends what you mean by "play with"; but we can revisit that later if you'd like to explain it.

To give Odessa+Hel four pitch CV sources using two USTA tracks, wherein you will use one external CV source to modulate those two USTA tracks, first use the Track Menu to configure the first track, including setting CV control(s) routing. You can either 1. then clone the first track to the second track (a process I don't understand well, but is documented in the manual), or 2. apply each Track Menu setting to all tracks as you configure the first track:

"If you want to apply the same Track Menu settings to all the tracks, hold the SET ALL button before pushing the navigation encoder to save the setting (see below Set All and Shift All)."

2 would be workable if this is the first editing you are doing among all four tracks, so you could overwrite the third and fourth tracks later.

Patch the external modulation source to USTA. Define the first two tracks' pitch values. As you play USTA, you will hear the external modulation source affecting both tracks.
Thanks for getting back to me.

From what you've said it gets me most of what I want I think, and sounds like a neat approach. Cloning a track would make it quick to set up too.

What about in a live scenario applying track mutes on the USTA itself for example, not using modulation?
You are quite welcome. I'm glad that looks like working for you.

As for your new question, here is the manual. Have at it. :)

https://frap.tools/manualone/

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:07 am

synonymist wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 6:48 am

You are quite welcome. I'm glad that looks like working for you.

As for your new question, here is the manual. Have at it. :)

https://frap.tools/manualone/
Thanks. I did check the manual on that specific point, and it only mentions per track mute, for example. I guess only one way to find out.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2014
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by hawkfuzz » Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:34 am

That's what you're asking for no? Do "track mutes" mean something different like group mutes?
THUMPR BC SC

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:44 am

hawkfuzz wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:34 am
That's what you're asking for no? Do "track mutes" mean something different like group mutes?
The scenario I'm thinking about here is where there are two tracks providing a pitch pattern to a single module, creating four note chords for example.

In that scenario, if I wanted to mute the chord playing oscillator, I'd want to mute two tracks simultaneously - which is really a group like you say.

From the manual I think it's capable of one track at a time, but I was wondering if users might have more info.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2014
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by hawkfuzz » Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:52 am

You can push two buttons at the same time to get both to mute. You can also mute CV and Gate signals of each track. There's a cheat sheet somewhere in this thread you can search for to help.
THUMPR BC SC

User avatar
NaiveMelody
Common Wiggler
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 5:10 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Frap Tools USTA

Post by NaiveMelody » Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:20 am

hawkfuzz wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:52 am
You can push two buttons at the same time to get both to mute. You can also mute CV and Gate signals of each track. There's a cheat sheet somewhere in this thread you can search for to help.
That's great, thanks very much! Will take a look.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”