Instruo arbhar granular processor

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
Dob
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Dob » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:50 am

anton414 wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 3:19 am
I mean it's easy with the Marbles, I guess I'm just wondering if I'm missing something.
Ah OK :mrgreen:
Don't know if you could get bursts from the internal grains!?
Not that I know of. Maybe close it and send a quick env to the intensity CV?!

xxeyes
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:09 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by xxeyes » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:12 am

The Arbhar Quickstart Guide says that all CV inputs are bipolar. There is also a diagram that indicates that each of the MOD parameters will have two separate flavours, which will be controllable on either side of 0V, to either +5V or -5V. I presume the CV inputs for the Intensity and Random/Quantized Pitch parameters will work the same way since their knobs have a similar two-flavour layout on either side of noon.

What about all the other CV inputs? Do they have alternate “hidden” ways to modulate the associated parameters? If not, will they all have a range of 0V - 5V with the inverse at -5V - OV, or will the the full range of modulation be spread across -5V - +5V? I hope the former as most of my modulation sources are 0 - 5V and I don’t want to have to boost them. Also, are the bipolar voltage ranges for all CV inputs -5V - +5V or are some more or less or some offset of that?

stujay18
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:46 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by stujay18 » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:31 pm

Any update on availability in the U.S.? Pre-ordered from Detroit Modular quite awhile ago. Thanks!

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Whatisvalis » Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:24 am

stujay18 wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:31 pm
Any update on availability in the U.S.? Pre-ordered from Detroit Modular quite awhile ago. Thanks!
When did you ore order? Was going to give Dan at DM an email today.

User avatar
Sync
Common Wiggler
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:40 am
Location: California

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Sync » Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:27 pm

Whatisvalis wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:24 am
stujay18 wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:31 pm
Any update on availability in the U.S.? Pre-ordered from Detroit Modular quite awhile ago. Thanks!
When did you ore order? Was going to give Dan at DM an email today.
I'm also waiting with baited breath for one that I ordered on 12/23. Don't know if they haven't seen any yet or I'm just too far down the wait list...
--

Sync

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1304
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by behndy » Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:16 am

ah man that sucks! i'm sorry. i feel your pain, it is a harrrrrrd wait. i guess i got lucky and ordered early enough to get in on the first batch from DetMod? they shipped mine out first week of January.

playing with Plaits in chord mode and drums from Crater and Transient into Arbhar, a channel on Metron triggering playbacks -

music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Whatisvalis » Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:19 am

I'm also waiting with baited breath for one that I ordered on 12/23. Don't know if they haven't seen any yet or I'm just too far down the wait list...
I ordered a couple of days after you - I guess the list is long and those first batches were small.

pelang
Common Wiggler
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:30 pm
Location: switzerland
Contact:

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by pelang » Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:46 am

Switzerland as well hasn't got any...I prefer it this way, it's a good GAS antidote

joskery
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by joskery » Fri Feb 07, 2020 11:21 am

Anyone know of calibration? The 1v/oct seems to be a bit off..

dandandaaan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by dandandaaan » Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:03 am

Anyone else in the UK waiting on their Arbhar from Rubadub? I ordered a couple of months ago now and still waiting - apparently they are still waiting to hear from their distributor. Need me some of that grainy goodness. :sb:

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Whatisvalis » Sat Feb 08, 2020 8:46 am

dandandaaan wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:03 am
Anyone else in the UK waiting on their Arbhar from Rubadub? I ordered a couple of months ago now and still waiting - apparently they are still waiting to hear from their distributor. Need me some of that grainy goodness. :sb:
I understand the wait with demand and man power, but I do wish communication was a little better on where things stand.

MemSens
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 6:13 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MemSens » Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:34 am

Hi,

Did anyone do the Arbhar firmware update, any troubles ?
What is added ?
Is it necessary ?

Arbhar is marvelous !!!

Thank you

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Common Wiggler
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:48 am

MemSens wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:34 am
Hi,

Did anyone do the Arbhar firmware update, any troubles ?
What is added ?
Is it necessary ?

Arbhar is marvelous !!!

Thank you
I didn’t know there was an update. What’s it about?

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Common Wiggler
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:49 am



Sampled a sound from Panharmonium into Arbhar. Fooled around. Loved it.
Tried to recreate that with Clouds.
Now they‘re playing together as BFFs!

High sound is Arbhar, low is Clouds

joskery
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 451
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by joskery » Wed Feb 12, 2020 8:50 am

MikeLeeBirds wrote:
Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:48 am
MemSens wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:34 am
Hi,

Did anyone do the Arbhar firmware update, any troubles ?
What is added ?
Is it necessary ?

Arbhar is marvelous !!!

Thank you
I didn’t know there was an update. What’s it about?
At least on the Instruo site, it says that the firmware on there is the one Arbhar shipped with.

YogicNet
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:33 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by YogicNet » Wed Feb 12, 2020 11:07 am

Dob wrote:
Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:32 pm
Love my Arbhar... Very straight forward, inspiring and musical. The led strip is genius, and I keep on discovering new ways to use the module.

Anyone experienced any troubles with CV control? Today it seemed like a quarter of the time it was not registering the CV change from a sequencer for length and start position.
I'm pretty sure the cable and connections were alright.
As if it had too much to do to keep on registering CVs?Jumps to new static values were not always recognised. I like to sequence to specific starting points.
If I started to provide a moving CV, that was registered more easily. Maybe add some slew to overcome!?

I'm experiencing exactly what you were saying while sending static cv from a tete/tetrapad. It seems to not like if you send stepped voltage at all. I'll try some slew to see if that helps alleviate the problem.

Unfortunately - unlike your case - sequencing the layers is the most unreliable for me. So much so that i gave up on trying to sequence them with the tete/tetrapad. The other values I was sequencing (length, intensity, position) were about 80% reliable. Hope to hear more people chime in if they are having this issue, or if it is something off with the calibration of my unit.

User avatar
Dob
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Dob » Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:08 am

@YogicNet
I've been in touch with Instruo about this. There 's a digital algorithm that tries to eliminate noise at the CV inputs, that was a bit too enthusiastic. They've tweaked that and send me a new firmware version. A first try with sequencing scan is now rock solid.
I think Jason mentioned this firmware will be available soon (or already is our there)

I'm on 1.5.4d, the website gives you 1.5.4b

YogicNet
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:33 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by YogicNet » Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:12 am

Thanks Dob, that's great to hear.

I tried with slew and was able to reliably switch layers - which will be sufficient until the firmware update is available Makes sense that if they tried to eliminate noise it might disregard stepped cv changes, hopefully the new firmware finds a happy middle ground.

dandandaaan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by dandandaaan » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:17 pm

My Arbhar arrived yesterday and I couldn't be more thrilled with it! Only feel like I'm scratching the very surface at the minute but one cool patching trick I've found so far involves sending the gate output to a sequential switch, and then clocking it slowly around various parameters elsewhere in the patch to create little bursts of motion.

Also having a huge amount of fun recording six different (but harmonically consonant) long synth notes, one in each layer, and then slowly modulating the layer parameter to create a soft blurry "pad" underneath everything else.

User avatar
matttech
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 9669
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by matttech » Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:13 pm

Just got a small delivery of these badboys in case anyone is looking? :tu:

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1304
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by behndy » Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:39 pm

dandandaaan wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:17 pm
My Arbhar arrived yesterday and I couldn't be more thrilled with it! Only feel like I'm scratching the very surface at the minute but one cool patching trick I've found so far involves sending the gate output to a sequential switch, and then clocking it slowly around various parameters elsewhere in the patch to create little bursts of motion.

Also having a huge amount of fun recording six different (but harmonically consonant) long synth notes, one in each layer, and then slowly modulating the layer parameter to create a soft blurry "pad" underneath everything else.
yurpah yurp. that's one of my favorite uses with her as well!
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

User avatar
Dob
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Dob » Wed Feb 19, 2020 6:27 am

behndy wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:39 pm
dandandaaan wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:17 pm
My Arbhar arrived yesterday and I couldn't be more thrilled with it! Only feel like I'm scratching the very surface at the minute but one cool patching trick I've found so far involves sending the gate output to a sequential switch, and then clocking it slowly around various parameters elsewhere in the patch to create little bursts of motion.

Also having a huge amount of fun recording six different (but harmonically consonant) long synth notes, one in each layer, and then slowly modulating the layer parameter to create a soft blurry "pad" underneath everything else.
yurpah yurp. that's one of my favorite uses with her as well!
And then, replace one layer with crackling, noisy "field" sounds for more atmosphere.. Or better dub it, so the long note stays in place as well :tu:

stujay18
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:46 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by stujay18 » Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:51 pm

Whatisvalis wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:24 am
stujay18 wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:31 pm
Any update on availability in the U.S.? Pre-ordered from Detroit Modular quite awhile ago. Thanks!
When did you ore order? Was going to give Dan at DM an email today.
I ordered on January 22.

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Whatisvalis » Wed Feb 19, 2020 6:02 pm

stujay18 wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:51 pm
Whatisvalis wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:24 am
stujay18 wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:31 pm
Any update on availability in the U.S.? Pre-ordered from Detroit Modular quite awhile ago. Thanks!
When did you ore order? Was going to give Dan at DM an email today.
I ordered on January 22.
Right - I ordered last week of December - no idea where they are on filling pre orders.

User avatar
drxcm
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 588
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:31 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by drxcm » Thu Feb 20, 2020 2:49 am

When I hit the trigger grain input with a trigger signal, there is some latency.

Anyone else seeing this?

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”