Instruo arbhar granular processor

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: lisa, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
onthelees
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 415
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:41 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by onthelees » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:05 am

landmax wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:05 am
stujay18 wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 5:46 pm
Hello! Any sense of when places like Perfect Circuit and Detroit Modular might be restocked w/ Arbhars? Thank you!
I would like to know for the UK as well.
I am hearing "Early February" for the next batch...

User avatar
Dob
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:17 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Dob » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:33 am

Does anyone know whether the knob that belongs to a function that you start to modulate with CV will start to behave as an offset to that CV (i.e. knob position is added to CV), or as a attenuator (i.e. knob determines amount of CV) for it?

User avatar
Bartelby
Common Wiggler
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 12:40 pm
Location: Penperlleni, Sunny Wales

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Bartelby » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:13 am

Dob wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:33 am
Does anyone know whether the knob that belongs to a function that you start to modulate with CV will start to behave as an offset to that CV (i.e. knob position is added to CV), or as a attenuator (i.e. knob determines amount of CV) for it?
It’s more offset. Knob and CV are summed.

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 188
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Whatisvalis » Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:03 pm

onthelees wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:05 am
I am hearing "Early February" for the next batch...
Is that for the first US pre-order stock or did anyone get one from a US shop this last week?

User avatar
matttech
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 9669
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:12 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by matttech » Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:08 pm

landmax wrote:
Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:05 am
stujay18 wrote:
Wed Jan 22, 2020 5:46 pm
Hello! Any sense of when places like Perfect Circuit and Detroit Modular might be restocked w/ Arbhars? Thank you!
I would like to know for the UK as well.
I've got a VERY small batch coming tomorrow - one left that you can preorder on the site now if you're quick!

2 Lubadhs up for grabs too :sb:

User avatar
Bob Charlotte
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:16 pm
Location: Elsewhere

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Bob Charlotte » Mon Jan 27, 2020 4:54 pm

StateAzure wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 6:33 pm
Here's a recent live stream I did using both Lubadh and Arbhar together, with some improvisation with Peak. Peak is directly connected to the Lubadh. Arbhar has a bunch of different sounds on each layer that I pre-recorded earlier from some soft synths.

Gorgeous StateAzure, as usual. :yay:

User avatar
MikeLeeBirds
Common Wiggler
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:59 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by MikeLeeBirds » Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:46 am

My Arbhar sometimes has clicks even with long grains and „soft“ envelope.
Is that to be expected?

gran_syth
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by gran_syth » Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:53 pm

Just found this comparison



Could be quite useful if you need to decide between one of them, I think.

User avatar
guigui
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by guigui » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:03 pm

gran_syth wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:53 pm
Just found this comparison



Could be quite useful if you need to decide between one of them, I think.
If you need to decide between one of them, that video won't help you. You will desperately want both after watching it :goo: :moneyburn: :goo:

gran_syth
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by gran_syth » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:13 pm

guigui wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:03 pm
If you need to decide between one of them, that video won't help you. You will desperately want both after watching it :goo: :moneyburn: :goo:
Absolutely true. :love:
I thought it showed quite clearly there is a difference in approach rather than just a similarity in the feature list.

User avatar
guigui
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:00 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by guigui » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:30 pm

gran_syth wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:13 pm
guigui wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:03 pm
If you need to decide between one of them, that video won't help you. You will desperately want both after watching it :goo: :moneyburn: :goo:
Absolutely true. :love:
I thought it showed quite clearly there is a difference in approach rather than just a similarity in the feature list.
That was the most clarifying video I've seen about those modules.

User avatar
3hands
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 535
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 6:36 pm
Location: Ottawa Ontario

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by 3hands » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:59 pm

The more I see the Instruo stuff, the more I want a rack specifically for their modules.... not only are they fantastically designed from a function vs control point of view, they also look stunning.
Gum is fun, but not on a cat.

My minds an art gallery.

User avatar
bemushroomed
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2131
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:30 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by bemushroomed » Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:34 pm

elevator music galore...

corbetta
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:04 am
Location: sf

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by corbetta » Tue Jan 28, 2020 11:52 pm

dunno if folks have seen this but it's a nice demo of the follow/time stretch mode


bennyp
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:41 am
Location: Bristol

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by bennyp » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:46 am

Hi there. Is anyone attempting synced rhythmical stuff with Arbhar? I've tried a few different approaches with follow & normal mode, using onset and the capture input (seems to require a gate for on/off?) but I'm struggling to get usable results in this domain. Loving it on drone/ambient stuff but it seems to be suited to this style than bpm-synced stuff generally? I'm sure further experimentation will help tho :) Thanks!

closedLoop
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:01 am
Location: nyc

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by closedLoop » Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:17 am

bennyp wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:46 am
Hi there. Is anyone attempting synced rhythmical stuff with Arbhar? I've tried a few different approaches with follow & normal mode, using onset and the capture input (seems to require a gate for on/off?) but I'm struggling to get usable results in this domain. Loving it on drone/ambient stuff but it seems to be suited to this style than bpm-synced stuff generally? I'm sure further experimentation will help tho :) Thanks!
What methods have you tried to sync up playback?

I don't have my Arbhar yet, but when I've done similar things with Nebulae (granted Nebulae is a similar, but a different design entirely, and nowhere near as complicated as Arbhar), it took quite a bit of experimentation to get the playback to sync up with the rest of what I had going on.

gran_syth
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:57 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by gran_syth » Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:33 am

bennyp wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:46 am
Hi there. Is anyone attempting synced rhythmical stuff with Arbhar? I've tried a few different approaches with follow & normal mode, using onset and the capture input (seems to require a gate for on/off?) but I'm struggling to get usable results in this domain. Loving it on drone/ambient stuff but it seems to be suited to this style than bpm-synced stuff generally? I'm sure further experimentation will help tho :) Thanks!
Are you triggering the grains through the strike cv input? My understanding is that you can use the trigger out to get things aligned to the grains set by the intensity. But using the strike to sync them to other clock/trigger sources?

LunaticSound
Common Wiggler
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by LunaticSound » Wed Jan 29, 2020 10:07 am

Arbhar comes with a a mono input? Shock.

buyingitwontmakeucool
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:10 am

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by buyingitwontmakeucool » Wed Jan 29, 2020 10:33 am

LunaticSound wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 10:07 am
Arbhar comes with a a mono input? Shock.
So don’t buy it. Supply is already short

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1299
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by behndy » Wed Jan 29, 2020 12:30 pm

bennyp wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:46 am
Hi there. Is anyone attempting synced rhythmical stuff with Arbhar? I've tried a few different approaches with follow & normal mode, using onset and the capture input (seems to require a gate for on/off?) but I'm struggling to get usable results in this domain. Loving it on drone/ambient stuff but it seems to be suited to this style than bpm-synced stuff generally? I'm sure further experimentation will help tho :) Thanks!
yep. having Intensity at zero then sending gates to Strike lets one do rhythmic/pattern sync'd play. this is my first patch with Arbhar, recorded 4 notes from TS-L, each a measure long, into different layers. then a gate from Metron whilst randomly shifting through layers. more syncopated near the end. boop?

[video][/video]
music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

LunaticSound
Common Wiggler
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:50 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by LunaticSound » Wed Jan 29, 2020 2:54 pm

buyingitwontmakeucool wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 10:33 am
LunaticSound wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 10:07 am
Arbhar comes with a a mono input? Shock.
So don’t buy it. Supply is already short
Wait, that is an option? :eek:

xxeyes
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:09 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by xxeyes » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:40 pm

I understand from other users that I should be able to play field recordings from my phone directly into Arbhar. However, I'm confused as to why Jason runs his guitar through a preamp in the instructional video. If the built-in gain controls can handle line level, should they not also be sufficient for instruments? I want to make sure I won't need a separate preamp module before I purchase Arbhar, as space is very tight.

Whatever the answer is to my question above, this is probably taking it a bit far, but can the built-in preamp bring a contact microphone up to modular level?

User avatar
cranleigh
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:03 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by cranleigh » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:15 pm

A guitar gives a much lower-level signal than a line level device like a synth so it makes sense that he'd need a pre for it.
FS: Yamaha CS60, Studio Electronics Oscillation, some other Euro bits.

xxeyes
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 12:09 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by xxeyes » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:25 pm

cranleigh wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:15 pm
A guitar gives a much lower-level signal than a line level device like a synth so it makes sense that he'd need a pre for it.
Thanks, that makes sense. However, I didn't convey my confusion properly in my first post. I would presume the built-in microphone is mic level, which is the lowest-level signal, so the gain controls should be able to handle anything, no?
Last edited by xxeyes on Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Hovercraft
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1119
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:22 am
Location: DC

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Hovercraft » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:32 pm

xxeyes wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:40 pm
I understand from other users that I should be able to play field recordings from my phone directly into Arbhar. However, I'm confused as to why Jason runs his guitar through a preamp in the instructional video. If the built-in gain controls can handle line level, should they not also be sufficient for instruments? I want to make sure I won't need a separate preamp module before I purchase Arbhar, as space is very tight.

Whatever the answer is to my question above, this is probably taking it a bit far, but can the built-in preamp bring a contact microphone up to modular level?
Guitars and microphones don't output line level, so both would require a preamp. My Arbhar needed a quick trip back to Glasgow--must have been homesick, so I can't test it with phone output, but I do have the Lubadh, and I think it has the same input stage (minus the onset detection). I'll test my iPhone with it and report back. "Line level" can also vary a lot.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”