Instruo arbhar granular processor

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
digidandy
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:05 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by digidandy » Thu Mar 12, 2020 3:37 am

I know this may be hard to believe, but it seems Trump said something that was wrong.

https://eu.usatoday.com/story/news/poli ... 028734002/

User avatar
Sync
Common Wiggler
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:40 am
Location: California

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Sync » Thu Mar 12, 2020 3:43 am

digidandy wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 3:37 am
I know this may be hard to believe, but it seems Trump said something that was wrong.

https://eu.usatoday.com/story/news/poli ... 028734002/

I guess I'm not surprised--- thanks for the clarification...
--

Sync

User avatar
r05c03
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:30 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by r05c03 » Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:20 am

Cargo is not affected I think.
Gear List: Elektron Octatrack, Elektron A4,Microbrute, Bass Station, Rings Braids, Pitts Ring Mod, Pitts Osc, Echophon, Intillegel uFold / uMIDI, PNW2, Doepfer 138-c, 119, Tiptop Z4000, Maleko Fade / 8NU8R

nrg242
Common Wiggler
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:29 pm
Location: United States

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by nrg242 » Thu Mar 12, 2020 10:54 am

just an observation here about the strike input. 2ms triggers from Sapel seem to not activate strike as expected so i'm using Stages to convert to gates. T outputs from Marbles work as expected even when shortening the gate length to their shortest (hold button and turn down Bias CCW).

Arbhar manual says that the strike input accepts both triggers and gates so not sure exactly what the cutoff is for an appropriate trigger length.

agreed with whats been said about the intensity knob. even vs random distribution seems less useful than having the ability to just fire off a few grains sporadically (without having to turn them off completely and rely on strike).

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Whatisvalis » Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:42 am

Whatisvalis wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:46 am
fywzheng wrote:
Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:46 pm
Anybody heard anything from Detroit Modular for Arbhar preorders?
I’m going to email today - not a peep and preordered December.
EDIT

Just heard from Dan - understandable things are mess at the moment. Arbhars due this week and Lubadh maybe a few more weeks later.

Now I just need recover from Covid and figure out a way back home to the US.

Besfar
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:59 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Besfar » Tue Mar 17, 2020 5:44 pm

Did anybody find how or if you can record chunks shorter than 10 seconds?

I find with arbhar, i record some small sounds, with quite a bit silence in the buffer/recording. The module seems to have problems staying on the sounds in these situations, and often plays silence, even though spray is zero.

E.g. I find a sound with the search wheel, it plays for a bit, brrp brrp, and then it kind of skips a microsecond and i have to find the sound again.
Would be better if i could just set the whole buffer as one second or whatever i record.

Edit: Instruo actually got back to me on this one and seems there could be some firmware updates incoming to change the behavior a bit. Exciting :)
Last edited by Besfar on Thu Mar 19, 2020 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Sync
Common Wiggler
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:40 am
Location: California

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Sync » Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:23 pm

Whatisvalis wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:42 am
Whatisvalis wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:46 am
fywzheng wrote:
Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:46 pm
Anybody heard anything from Detroit Modular for Arbhar preorders?
I’m going to email today - not a peep and preordered December.
EDIT

Just heard from Dan - understandable things are mess at the moment. Arbhars due this week and Lubadh maybe a few more weeks later.

Now I just need recover from Covid and figure out a way back home to the US.
I hope you're kidding with that last sentence... :eek:
--

Sync

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Common Wiggler
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Whatisvalis » Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:47 am

Unfortunately not, although I couldn’t get tested. I developed symptoms after being in Europe. Good news is my chest feels a lot better!

And DM shipped out my order yesterday.

slexer
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 6:06 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by slexer » Thu Mar 19, 2020 6:21 am

Whatisvalis wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:47 am
Unfortunately not, although I couldn’t get tested. I developed symptoms after being in Europe. Good news is my chest feels a lot better!
I hope you feel better very soon!

User avatar
Sync
Common Wiggler
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 5:40 am
Location: California

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Sync » Thu Mar 19, 2020 8:53 pm

Whatisvalis wrote:
Thu Mar 19, 2020 3:47 am
Unfortunately not, although I couldn’t get tested. I developed symptoms after being in Europe. Good news is my chest feels a lot better!

And DM shipped out my order yesterday.
Just got my tracking email from USPS, it's in their hands so mines on the way too.
--

Sync

User avatar
gonkulator
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1445
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:56 pm
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by gonkulator » Fri Mar 20, 2020 2:44 pm

1.5.4b is the current firmware. But I don't see any way to know what my version is, or any changelog.
Racks
Solaris Site
Stuff for sale
Stuff for sale shown on Modulargrid
WTB: Black panels


Unflappably nonchalant, with some exceptions

User avatar
drxcm
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:31 pm

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by drxcm » Fri Mar 20, 2020 7:03 pm

As far as I know there is only 1 firmware thats installed, you can check it by pulling the microsd card on the back and mounting it on your computer

User avatar
gonkulator
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1445
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:56 pm
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by gonkulator » Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:49 pm

drxcm wrote:
Fri Mar 20, 2020 7:03 pm
As far as I know there is only 1 firmware thats installed, you can check it by pulling the microsd card on the back and mounting it on your computer
WIll do, thanks.
Racks
Solaris Site
Stuff for sale
Stuff for sale shown on Modulargrid
WTB: Black panels


Unflappably nonchalant, with some exceptions

User avatar
antonriehl
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:02 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by antonriehl » Sat Mar 21, 2020 8:01 pm

Just received mine today from PC! It is already so much fun to use! Took me a little while to realize that the built in mic can be much hotter than anything taken in at line level. (Of course the mic is very useful to have, and quickly accessible!)

chewysoap
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2019 1:25 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by chewysoap » Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:19 pm

Just got my arbhar today, I seem to have been shipped a wrong expander... input jacks are labeled as "length start time erase" same for the bottom 4 inputs. My guess is this was for the lubadh? Has this happened to anyone else? Can using this expander to cv control (referencing the brochure) damage the arbhar?

I seem to be unlucky getting modules, also got shipped a defective switchblade last month :(

Appreciate any info :)

User avatar
Hovercraft
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1139
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:22 am
Location: DC

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by Hovercraft » Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:48 pm

chewysoap wrote:
Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:19 pm
Just got my arbhar today, I seem to have been shipped a wrong expander... input jacks are labeled as "length start time erase" same for the bottom 4 inputs. My guess is this was for the lubadh? Has this happened to anyone else? Can using this expander to cv control (referencing the brochure) damage the arbhar?

I seem to be unlucky getting modules, also got shipped a defective switchblade last month :(

Appreciate any info :)
Please confirm with Jason, but I believe the expanders are identical. Pretty sure if you unscrew the jack nuts, you can flip the panel and you'll see the Arbhar labels.

chewysoap
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2019 1:25 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by chewysoap » Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:14 pm

Hovercraft wrote:
Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:48 pm
chewysoap wrote:
Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:19 pm
Just got my arbhar today, I seem to have been shipped a wrong expander... input jacks are labeled as "length start time erase" same for the bottom 4 inputs. My guess is this was for the lubadh? Has this happened to anyone else? Can using this expander to cv control (referencing the brochure) damage the arbhar?

I seem to be unlucky getting modules, also got shipped a defective switchblade last month :(

Appreciate any info :)
Please confirm with Jason, but I believe the expanders are identical. Pretty sure if you unscrew the jack nuts, you can flip the panel and you'll see the Arbhar labels.

I pulled it out of my rack and I can see the arbhar labels on the back side of the panel (upside down)! phew :) Do I need a special tool for loosening jack nuts? Also I am hesitating to flip the panel because the guidance on the orientation of the ribbon cable in the quickstart guide is based on the labeling on the front panel, making it potentially confusing haha

corbetta
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:04 am
Location: sf

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by corbetta » Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:20 am

A quick demo of the “acoustic drone” process outlined in the Arbhar manual. I LOVE this thing.


chewysoap
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2019 1:25 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by chewysoap » Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:34 pm

chewysoap wrote:
Tue Mar 24, 2020 11:14 pm
Hovercraft wrote:
Tue Mar 24, 2020 10:48 pm
chewysoap wrote:
Tue Mar 24, 2020 9:19 pm
Just got my arbhar today, I seem to have been shipped a wrong expander... input jacks are labeled as "length start time erase" same for the bottom 4 inputs. My guess is this was for the lubadh? Has this happened to anyone else? Can using this expander to cv control (referencing the brochure) damage the arbhar?

I seem to be unlucky getting modules, also got shipped a defective switchblade last month :(

Appreciate any info :)
Please confirm with Jason, but I believe the expanders are identical. Pretty sure if you unscrew the jack nuts, you can flip the panel and you'll see the Arbhar labels.

I pulled it out of my rack and I can see the arbhar labels on the back side of the panel (upside down)! phew :) Do I need a special tool for loosening jack nuts? Also I am hesitating to flip the panel because the guidance on the orientation of the ribbon cable in the quickstart guide is based on the labeling on the front panel, making it potentially confusing haha

Just an update. Jason and Sebastian got back to me (through contact email and muffwiggler respectively) and confirmed that the module is the same for the lubadh, and it was just a matter of flipping the face plate. I just loosened the brass nuts, flipped it and voila. If this happens to you just make sure that "When the cable is attached, the red stripe side must match the bottom of the faceplate." so you have it on the right way.

I will also note that they offered to send me a replacement expander, even if this was a very minor issue with a really easy DIY fix. Fantastic module and really great people over at Instruo.

dandandaaan
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:07 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by dandandaaan » Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:01 am

Switched my Arbhar to reverb 'mode' for the first time and I'm blown away - what a beautiful, lush reverb. Curious to know what modes other people are using and how!

User avatar
behndy
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1382
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:05 am
Location: East Bay, Cali
Contact:

Re: Instruo arbhar granular processor

Post by behndy » Wed Apr 01, 2020 7:04 am

Rings pattern into Arbhar throughout, triggering the record and playback with Metron (flurked the live video so... CAT COLLAGE LOOP) -

music, noise, in progress silliness - http://www.youtube.com/c/behndy

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”