QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

User avatar
m12386
Common Wiggler
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:44 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by m12386 » Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:30 pm

deKaro wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:53 am
Supervillain wrote:
Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:47 pm
Hey!
Any news about an expansion for individual outputs?
Has an expander been announced? :hyper:
No, but I did email him about it and he is aware that people would like this feature. Nothing has been planned yet, though.

ProgRocket
Common Wiggler
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:13 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by ProgRocket » Tue Sep 15, 2020 5:30 am

My QDs is not tracking even 1 octave. What am i doing wrong? I know from Vladimirs video in Schneidersladen (
@37:20 that "wavetables track about 2 octaves and samples track 1 octave".

Whatever i do, if i play a C and play all notes of that ocatve up to the next C, it will not land on a C2 and it will not play all the notes in between either. It will leave some notes out/play some notes twice. If, for comparison, i use that same CV as pitch on another oscillaltor or a mutable rings, they play fine. So it's definatly the QD

Here is what i tried:
I made sure that the CV-attenuation of that CV-in is turned fully-clockwise.
i tried with setting 3 on and off (red - 1v/oct tracking).
I tried setting 10-13 (green - quantization for voice 1–4) on and off. (i don't know what it does, it's only mentioned in the manual, but it might have something to do with it, so i tried)
I tried with models, samples and wavetables.
I also re-calibrated the "voltage offset" to point 12oclock and for every CV-in (all the four buttons) send a 3V (C) from Arturia keystep and tuned the four offsets to point 12oclock as well.
It did not work with vladimirs "factory"-calibration and it did not work after my calibation-procedure.

What am i missing?

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1771
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by av500 » Tue Sep 15, 2020 7:30 am

what instrument are you trying to play with V/Octave? not all of the digital models do that

ProgRocket
Common Wiggler
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:13 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by ProgRocket » Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:19 am

I tried several: the bassdrum, the karplus, the buchloid, and several wavetables from the "violet" bank (after Richard Devines Samples).

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1771
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by av500 » Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:26 am

ok I will have a look into that. can you please email me at vp at vpme dot de? makes things easier

ProgRocket
Common Wiggler
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:13 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by ProgRocket » Tue Sep 15, 2020 8:46 am

Thank you for looking into it, i emailed you.

ProgRocket
Common Wiggler
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:13 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by ProgRocket » Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:32 am

My 1v/oct problem with the QD was USER ERROR, it tracks the 4 octaves fine today. (Which is absolutly bonkers, i'd go so far to say QD should be everyones first voice-module). I don't know how, i thought about it logically and methodically but still somewhere i must have missed something.

User avatar
tdallas
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 5:55 am
Location: UTC+1|CET

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by tdallas » Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:57 pm

ProgRocket wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:32 am
My 1v/oct problem with the QD was USER ERROR, it tracks the 4 octaves fine today. (Which is absolutly bonkers, i'd go so far to say QD should be everyones first voice-module). I don't know how, i thought about it logically and methodically but still somewhere I must have missed something.
Hi. Might it be possible that you somehow had one of the internal LFOs active on your pitch control? You can do a lot of modulation within the QD itself without patching it. And I agree, QD is great :)

User avatar
windspirit
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3091
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:43 pm
Location: krellifornia

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by windspirit » Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:29 pm

I regularly use this thing as 3 drums and a monosynth. One of my fav modules.

User avatar
Bobbfett
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by Bobbfett » Sun Oct 04, 2020 9:40 am

New QD user here, this module is great, luv it.

A small demo with v/octave sequence

User avatar
tdallas
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 5:55 am
Location: UTC+1|CET

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by tdallas » Sun Oct 04, 2020 11:20 am

Bobbfett wrote:
Sun Oct 04, 2020 9:40 am
New QD user here, this module is great, luv it.

A small demo with v/octave sequence
Very nice, thank you! I see AUM and Poly2 there on your iPad. How is that connected to your modular gear? Is this only for (midi) sequencing or do you use AUM also for audio mixing?

Ok, I see some ES 9 labels there ;) so one of the “impossible to get” Expert Sleepers interfaces... do you also record the audio through the ES 9?

User avatar
Bobbfett
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by Bobbfett » Sun Oct 04, 2020 3:34 pm

tdallas wrote:
Sun Oct 04, 2020 11:20 am
Bobbfett wrote:
Sun Oct 04, 2020 9:40 am
New QD user here, this module is great, luv it.

A small demo with v/octave sequence
Very nice, thank you! I see AUM and Poly2 there on your iPad. How is that connected to your modular gear? Is this only for (midi) sequencing or do you use AUM also for audio mixing?

Ok, I see some ES 9 labels there ;) so one of the “impossible to get” Expert Sleepers interfaces... do you also record the audio through the ES 9?
Hi, yes, I’m sequencing QD drum voice from Poly 2 sequencer on iPad. miRack is converting midi triggers and sequence to cv and gates, output cv gates from es-9. Audio recorded back again into AUM with es-9, and in there some reverb plugins. I like using iPad for recording and effects, AUM is such a great midi and effects mixer /converter.
Thank you

User avatar
Bobbfett
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by Bobbfett » Sun Oct 04, 2020 5:19 pm

This module is crazy, I can get 4 synth voices if I want.
One thing I noticed, is that if I turn the pitch to max on the simple snare engine, and have mod up to about 80%, it’s a perfect 808 snare, it’s not that it sounds similar, it sound near exact, this cannot be a coincidence, I really like 808. This is not an error or a problem, and it sounds different on different 808, It’s just that it’s one semitone under my other sampled and other 808 softsynths. I tried to put offset to get higher pitch. Is there some way to get the pitch just a tad higher, it’s like a semitone. I will make a demo and show what I mean. Fantastic module, luv it
Br Hans

kraftf
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:06 am

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by kraftf » Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:19 am

Hi there.
I am pretty blown away by QD. By far is the most fun-usefule module in my Rack.
I would like to ask Vladimir if possible to give us the option to save the presets onto the SD card for backup reasons and a way to load them back to QD.
Keep up the good work.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1771
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by av500 » Tue Dec 08, 2020 9:03 am

kraftf wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:19 am
Hi there.
I am pretty blown away by QD. By far is the most fun-usefule module in my Rack.
I would like to ask Vladimir if possible to give us the option to save the presets onto the SD card for backup reasons and a way to load them back to QD.
Keep up the good work.
happy you like the QD. as of now, the firmware can actually only read the card, I need to see first if I can squeeze write capabilities in there...

kraftf
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:06 am

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by kraftf » Wed Dec 09, 2020 4:31 am

Thx a lot for considering my suggestion.
I dont know if there is another easier way to implement this functionality. Maybe via the audio out save a wave file which could be played back to the a cv input?

seriousziggy
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:09 am

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by seriousziggy » Fri Dec 25, 2020 7:13 am

Hi everyone ,
Does anybody know where i can download back the samples from the original card . Erased the wavetables by mistake to add some of my own samples .

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1771
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by av500 » Fri Dec 25, 2020 7:41 am

seriousziggy wrote:
Fri Dec 25, 2020 7:13 am
Hi everyone ,
Does anybody know where i can download back the samples from the original card . Erased the wavetables by mistake to add some of my own samples .
here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

seriousziggy
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:09 am

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by seriousziggy » Sun Dec 27, 2020 4:51 am

av500 wrote:
Fri Dec 25, 2020 7:41 am
seriousziggy wrote:
Fri Dec 25, 2020 7:13 am
Hi everyone ,
Does anybody know where i can download back the samples from the original card . Erased the wavetables by mistake to add some of my own samples .
here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing
Hi Vladimir
Thanks a lot . great module . realized i could do polyphonie with the module ;-)

User avatar
Back Down the Path
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:46 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by Back Down the Path » Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:09 pm

Mine finally arrived yesterday and I love it. It's most certainly a "Quad Voice"! It's this weird and wonderful blend of drum and bass!

Which is why I would trade a few years of the end of my life for individual outs per voice! Or :75:! Whichever is more convenient!
Last edited by Back Down the Path on Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Back Down the Path
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 2:46 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by Back Down the Path » Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:10 pm

double post

User avatar
franzcam
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:41 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by franzcam » Thu Feb 04, 2021 5:14 pm

Hi,

I noticed when I am in Digital Modeling mode, toggle switch set on Mute and if I hold any of the four bottom LED buttons it activates a function that I can set with the rotary encoder. I’m not sure what it does for each one of the models, for example if I select “Natural Hi Hat”, holding down the bottom LED button and at the same time rotating encoder, it sounds like it's applying a “bitcrush” effect. I tried on other models but i’m not sure what it does on each one specifically. I can't find any information on the manual about this either.

If anyone could shed some light would be awesome. Thanks!
Last edited by franzcam on Mon Feb 08, 2021 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
7C
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 10:17 am
Location: Lisbon / Vienna

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by 7C » Fri Feb 05, 2021 2:46 am

m12386 wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:30 pm
deKaro wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:53 am
Supervillain wrote:
Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:47 pm
Hey!
Any news about an expansion for individual outputs?
Has an expander been announced? :hyper:
No, but I did email him about it and he is aware that people would like this feature. Nothing has been planned yet, though.
Pleeeeease make this happen...
+2 individual outs on 2hp = 100% sureshot (as in available space)
Ps: i think vp mentioned the possibility (of an EXP) himself earlier in the thread :)
soundcloud > https://tinyurl.com/y6jbowbh
--
nonetheless bandcamp > https://tinyurl.com/qrt5bjp
nonetheless soundcloud > https://tinyurl.com/yc98l8s5
--
racks > http://tinyurl.com/p4clpyp

User avatar
m12386
Common Wiggler
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2020 10:44 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by m12386 » Fri Feb 05, 2021 9:58 pm

Yeah I’d buy one for sure if it had 4 separate outs
7C wrote:
Fri Feb 05, 2021 2:46 am
m12386 wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:30 pm
deKaro wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:53 am
Supervillain wrote:
Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:47 pm
Hey!
Any news about an expansion for individual outputs?
Has an expander been announced? :hyper:
No, but I did email him about it and he is aware that people would like this feature. Nothing has been planned yet, though.
Pleeeeease make this happen...
+2 individual outs on 2hp = 100% sureshot (as in available space)
Ps: i think vp mentioned the possibility (of an EXP) himself earlier in the thread :)

User avatar
Supervillain
Common Wiggler
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:37 am
Location: Lyon / France

Re: QD Quad Drum Voice by vpme.de

Post by Supervillain » Mon Mar 15, 2021 10:24 am

Anyone know if there's any way to loop a sample (Not a single cycle waveform) i want it to loop endlessly when Decay is all the way up without the need of a trigger at trigger in.

I've already tired to load a long sample on a wavetable slot and renamed the folder with (1) instead of (256) to abuse the module and make it think it's a single cycle sample with no luck.
It only makes the module buggy!

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”