Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
Innerself2007
Common Wiggler
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Central NJ

Post by Innerself2007 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:15 am

Innerself2007 wrote:
os wrote:
Innerself2007 wrote:Hello
Maybe someone can help me decide if this is the module I need. Im currently using an Apollo 8 as my audio interface to Ableton live. Im looking for a Eurorack module to send all my modules to different tracks in Ableton using one USB cable, but I would still want to use the Apollo for mic preamps, unison plugins, monitoring. Can I use both of these at the same time? Do I possible need another module? I basically want to have cable management and transfer to and from my DAW with one USB cable as opposed to running a cable for each track to my Apollo.
Hope this makes sense and thanks for any help anyone can provide.
If you have spare ADAT connections you might be better off looking at the ES-3/6.
Thanks for your help. Yes I believe I have spare ADAT connections on the back of the Apollo that I have never used. I will look into the ES-3/6
So I was researching the ES-3 and it looks like only audio/CV into eurorack and not the other way around? Or does it work both ways? Im mainly looking to send audio from eurorack into separate tracks in ableton.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14092
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:43 am

You would need the ES-6 as well.

User avatar
Innerself2007
Common Wiggler
Posts: 221
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 2:12 pm
Location: Central NJ

Post by Innerself2007 » Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:59 am

os wrote:You would need the ES-6 as well.
OK got yah, I see now. Thanks again for your help!

ForAiur
Common Wiggler
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Post by ForAiur » Tue Dec 17, 2019 3:08 pm

Is there any way to use this or the ES-8 without a PC or iPad connected? Just as a mixer?

For example, is there a way to just tell the module that all inputs should be output in Mono on output 1? Then I could use my system with this as a mixer even with no iPad around (ES-8 output into Intellijel 1U Audio Out module).

As long as I NEED a PC to really run this it kind of hinders my system‘s flexibility.

User avatar
Jtalton
Common Wiggler
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 5:01 pm

Post by Jtalton » Wed Dec 18, 2019 2:51 am

Sorry if this has been covered but if i want to expand the ES9 inputs and outputs i just use the ES5 and configure which are inputs and which are outputs?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14092
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Dec 18, 2019 2:59 am

For example, is there a way to just tell the module that all inputs should be output in Mono on output 1? Then I could use my system with this as a mixer even with no iPad around (ES-8 output into Intellijel 1U Audio Out module).
Yes you can do that.
if i want to expand the ES9 inputs and outputs i just use the ES5 and configure which are inputs and which are outputs?
The ES-5 is outputs only.

User avatar
Jtalton
Common Wiggler
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 5:01 pm

Post by Jtalton » Wed Dec 18, 2019 4:45 am

if i want to expand the ES9 inputs and outputs i just use the ES5 and configure which are inputs and which are outputs?
The ES-5 is outputs only.[/quote]

Can you expand the inputs of the es9?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 14092
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by os » Wed Dec 18, 2019 5:55 am

Only via the SPDIF input.

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by versipellis » Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:38 pm

Hey os - any idea when the next batch of restocks will be? Looks like PCA, DM, and ctrl-mod are all out of stock/showing as "preorder".
tunes: https://www.soundcloud.com/dycedot
in boston? I run nights: https://www.facebook.com/4OTFEvents/
selling [Korg Prologue 16, Erica Synths Fusion Mixer v3, Frequency Central Raging Bull 3.0]: viewtopic.php?f=74&t=239013

User avatar
transferpoint
butt-hole
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:48 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by transferpoint » Thu Jan 02, 2020 8:00 pm

Perfect Circuit sent an email out saying the ES-9's were in stock, but I never received a shipping update. So, either the email was sent in error or maybe I was too far back in line to make the cut this round. I ordered on November 1st.

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by versipellis » Fri Jan 03, 2020 2:50 am

Wow, that's backlogged.

Just ordered one, praying it'll arrive in time for when I need it.
tunes: https://www.soundcloud.com/dycedot
in boston? I run nights: https://www.facebook.com/4OTFEvents/
selling [Korg Prologue 16, Erica Synths Fusion Mixer v3, Frequency Central Raging Bull 3.0]: viewtopic.php?f=74&t=239013

User avatar
AbundantChoice
Common Wiggler
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 11:01 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by AbundantChoice » Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:27 am

transferpoint wrote:
Thu Jan 02, 2020 8:00 pm
Perfect Circuit sent an email out saying the ES-9's were in stock, but I never received a shipping update. So, either the email was sent in error or maybe I was too far back in line to make the cut this round. I ordered on November 1st.
I ordered back on Oct 1st and didn't get anything out of this shipment either (assuming there was a shipment and it wasn't a glitch)

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by versipellis » Fri Jan 03, 2020 3:40 pm

PCA got back to me that they've no update. Ctrl-mod just told me that they're getting stock next week though, and there's enough stock in that shipment if you pre-order it now, but they're flying like hotcakes.
tunes: https://www.soundcloud.com/dycedot
in boston? I run nights: https://www.facebook.com/4OTFEvents/
selling [Korg Prologue 16, Erica Synths Fusion Mixer v3, Frequency Central Raging Bull 3.0]: viewtopic.php?f=74&t=239013

User avatar
transferpoint
butt-hole
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:48 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by transferpoint » Fri Jan 03, 2020 5:00 pm

Perfect Circuit just told me that their shipment contained 7 of the 90 units they ordered, so yeah, we didn't make that cut haha. woof

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by versipellis » Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:28 pm

transferpoint wrote:
Fri Jan 03, 2020 5:00 pm
Perfect Circuit just told me that their shipment contained 7 of the 90 units they ordered, so yeah, we didn't make that cut haha. woof
yikes.
tunes: https://www.soundcloud.com/dycedot
in boston? I run nights: https://www.facebook.com/4OTFEvents/
selling [Korg Prologue 16, Erica Synths Fusion Mixer v3, Frequency Central Raging Bull 3.0]: viewtopic.php?f=74&t=239013

Ys521wow
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:10 pm
Location: China

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by Ys521wow » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:14 am

Got my Es 9 yesterday and tried it to connected to Ableton CV tool. And I didn’t get the audio signal from my Oscillator out into the input 1 of Es9, also I tried to set the CV instrument pitch to the Ext. out 4 and it didn’t connected to es9. I set channel configuration 1-6 input mono and stereo and 1-6 output mono and stereo in Ableton. I don’t know what parts I’m missing here, I’m appreciate it if someone could help me out.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-01-03 at 8.10.22 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-01-03 at 8.10.22 PM.png (716.17 KiB) Viewed 483 times

Fallingman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 12:59 am
Location: NYC

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by Fallingman » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:17 am

Sadness, I hope we don’t have to wait forever. I ordered mid December from Perfect Circuit.

GGeb
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:38 pm
Location: bristol

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by GGeb » Fri Jan 24, 2020 10:59 am

Hello guys!

I am having a bit of an hard time with my ES-9.

I am using it to multitrack in ableton, but most of my modules are peaking. Does anyone know how can I control the input levels? I tried to use the ES-9 software but I can't control individual levels of the 14 inputs.

mmontazeri
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 11:13 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by mmontazeri » Fri Jan 24, 2020 11:46 am

Ys521wow wrote:
Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:14 am
Got my Es 9 yesterday and tried it to connected to Ableton CV tool. And I didn’t get the audio signal from my Oscillator out into the input 1 of Es9, also I tried to set the CV instrument pitch to the Ext. out 4 and it didn’t connected to es9. I set channel configuration 1-6 input mono and stereo and 1-6 output mono and stereo in Ableton. I don’t know what parts I’m missing here, I’m appreciate it if someone could help me out.
If you're on a Mac you might need to allow microphone in security. System Preferences => Security & Privacy => Microphone

Jaypee
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by Jaypee » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:45 am

I have very low but audible high frequencies noise from input 1&2. No pb at all, dead quiet on the others.

I haven't noticed it till recently in studio recording situation.

Will do a screenshot next week.

Meanwhile, can you check if you guys have similar problem?
"Those aren't your daddy's waveforms " Cynthia Webster

User avatar
MvK
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:46 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by MvK » Sat Jan 25, 2020 10:21 am

Any info on a batch for schneidersladen?

User avatar
transferpoint
butt-hole
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:48 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by transferpoint » Sat Jan 25, 2020 10:51 am

Jaypee wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:45 am
I have very low but audible high frequencies noise from input 1&2. No pb at all, dead quiet on the others.

I haven't noticed it till recently in studio recording situation.

Will do a screenshot next week.

Meanwhile, can you check if you guys have similar problem?
Every one of my channels hiss. :/

Jaypee
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:46 am

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by Jaypee » Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:40 am

Wow can you describe a bit more?

Non related questions to this problem :

Anyone tried es-9 with 4ms pod? Any problems?

I tried to use my tip-top audio uzeus power supply. Didn't work.
"Those aren't your daddy's waveforms " Cynthia Webster

User avatar
transferpoint
butt-hole
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:48 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by transferpoint » Sat Jan 25, 2020 1:15 pm

Jaypee wrote:
Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:40 am
Wow can you describe a bit more?
Maybe I'll post a recording today. If I start with no channels active I get no hiss obviously. But each channel I active adds more and more hiss.

Picture it like adding 14 layers of vinyl hiss over one another.

I use Cubase 10 on a 2016 MacBook Pro fwiw.

ForAiur
Common Wiggler
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Expert Sleepers ES-9 USB Audio Interface

Post by ForAiur » Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:40 am

Since Os is also reading here and I don't want to stress him out on Facebook:

How does the ES-9s power requirement scale? I want to use it in an external 4MS case to bring to synth meetups.
If I use it like this https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1104276#top It would need more power than a good power bank would deliver (2,4 A), so I would have to connect it to a usb power supply (3A).

With only the Microcell and the ES-9 it gets very close (2,34 A, the battery provides 2,4, I guess this is too close without any headroom, but have to wait for the ES-9) https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1114338

What makes the ES-9 use more power? Because it says up to? If I only use 1-4 inputs and 1 output, does that make it use a lot less power than the max value that is posted on modulargrid?

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”