FX Loop

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe., lisa

Post Reply
Auxiliaryoctopus
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:17 pm

FX Loop

Post by Auxiliaryoctopus » Fri Dec 13, 2019 5:10 pm

I am looking for a way to do something that seems like it should be simple, but I'm having trouble thinking of how to do it. I want to put together a pod that has two effects and a Befaco STMix. I will be feeding it two external synths. I want to control which synth goes into the effects and which synths stay dry. I want the option to route either synth to either effect, or both to the same effect.

Basically, an effects loop.

I think I could do this with Livestock's Mazes, but I feel like there is probably a simpler/cheaper solution? A switch of some kind?

User avatar
abelovesfun
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Post by abelovesfun » Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:59 pm

Image

A Matrix mixer is perfect for exactly that, give it a look and let me know if you have any questions.
https://aisynthesis.com/product/ai008-e ... rix-mixer/
Super Easy, Awesome DIY kits @ http://www.aisynthesis.com
modular ambient and composery music @ http://www.forcedamage.com/
https://www.facebook.com/forcedamagemusic

User avatar
abelovesfun
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1013
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:19 pm
Location: Portland, OR
Contact:

Post by abelovesfun » Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:02 pm

With a little less flexibility, you could also use one or more switching attenuators, I think.... https://aisynthesis.com/product/eurorack-attenuator/
Super Easy, Awesome DIY kits @ http://www.aisynthesis.com
modular ambient and composery music @ http://www.forcedamage.com/
https://www.facebook.com/forcedamagemusic

Auxiliaryoctopus
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:17 pm

Post by Auxiliaryoctopus » Fri Dec 13, 2019 7:35 pm

Interesting. I'm not sure I understand the way the Matrix Mixer works. So, could I send the two synths into In 1 and 2, send A dry into the mixer, B and C out to the effects, effects into mixer, then use the attenuators to control how much signal goes into each path?

R.U.Nuts
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1952
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:43 pm

Post by R.U.Nuts » Sat Dec 14, 2019 9:58 am

Auxiliaryoctopus wrote:Interesting. I'm not sure I understand the way the Matrix Mixer works. So, could I send the two synths into In 1 and 2, send A dry into the mixer, B and C out to the effects, effects into mixer, then use the attenuators to control how much signal goes into each path?
You got it. And since most matrix mixers have more than two inputs you can patch the outputs of your FXes back into the remaining inputs. This has three advantages:
1. It makes your second mixer obsolete since you can route the FX outputs to the dry output of your matrix mixer and use this output as your master output (if you have two remaining dry outputs you can even create a stereo output using one as your left and one as your right output and pan the inputs by sendling them to these outputs at different levels).
2. You can feed back your FX outputs back into their inputs and thus create feedback loop. And you can expand your FX chains this way. For example: matrix mixer output > delay > filter > reverb > matrix mixer input.
3. You can send one FX output into the input of another FX.

Auxiliaryoctopus
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 8:17 pm

Post by Auxiliaryoctopus » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:55 am

Oh wow. I am starting to see the possibilities. Thanks so much for the help!

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”