What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
User avatar
vanianbulman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by vanianbulman » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:25 pm

Howdy All,

I've had moments here and there over the last 4-5 years of being interested in and learning a bit about Modular, but have not yet pulled the trigger due to financial limitations. I'm still totally lost in the "logistics" end of it and today I need help.

I have a midi hardware setup that I use for making dance music and after spending the last couple of years synthesizing my own drums, I want to try bringing the Tiptop BD909 into my setup. I know that outside this solitary module, I will need a case with a power supply and a means of triggering it via midi, but I'm lost past that.

tl:dr - What do I need to run a single module running via midi?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
luketeaford
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:54 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact:

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by luketeaford » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:38 pm

You would need a case, power, the 909 drum module, and a MIDI to CV module. Modular is much hotter than line level (10VPP vs 3VPP if I am correctly remembering), so I'd want an output module too.

I am not convinced this is the best option for your needs, but have fun! :guinness:

User avatar
vanianbulman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by vanianbulman » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:41 pm

Thanks for the help.
luketeaford wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:38 pm
I am not convinced this is the best option for your needs, but have fun! :guinness:
Oh?

User avatar
luketeaford
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:54 pm
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact:

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by luketeaford » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:52 pm

The case, the three modules: midi to cv, 909, external output, a few patch cables is probably going to cost more than it would be worth to me relative to say, a drum machine.

User avatar
vanianbulman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by vanianbulman » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:55 pm

luketeaford wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:52 pm
The case, the three modules: midi to cv, 909, external output, a few patch cables is probably going to cost more than it would be worth to me relative to say, a drum machine.
Ah! True, but finding a decent analog 909 modeled voice with a drive parameter is shockingly difficult, and I'm taking this as an excuse to start the long downward slide into Modular! Thanks for you help.

User avatar
electricfence
Common Wiggler
Posts: 248
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 10:11 pm

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by electricfence » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:55 pm

vanianbulman wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:41 pm
Thanks for the help.
luketeaford wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:38 pm
I am not convinced this is the best option for your needs, but have fun! :guinness:
Oh?
I have to agree here. I don't know enough about how the 909 is supposed to sound, but I have to believe that there's a more elegant (and certainly a cheaper) option out there. I mean (and I've never used one), how about a Volca Kick? Or a Vermona kick lancet? Or, I recently ran across this: http://mfberlin.de/en/device/301proe/

If you're not really interested in jumping into Eurorack, then buying several modules and a case just for a kick drum seems like using a sledgehammer to swat a fly. (But again, I really don't know much about how to get that 909 sound, so take this with a grain of salt.)

User avatar
rayultine
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Memphis TN

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by rayultine » Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:06 pm

luketeaford wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:52 pm
The case, the three modules: midi to cv, 909, external output, a few patch cables is probably going to cost more than it would be worth to me relative to say, a drum machine.
might as well buy a Roland R8Mkii or a Digitakt with a versatile overdrive/fuzz/distortion pedal for the amount that would run the OP!

User avatar
vanianbulman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by vanianbulman » Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:08 pm

electricfence wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:55 pm
I have to agree here. I don't know enough about how the 909 is supposed to sound, but I have to believe that there's a more elegant (and certainly a cheaper) option out there. I mean (and I've never used one), how about a Volca Kick? Or a Vermona kick lancet? Or, I recently ran across this: http://mfberlin.de/en/device/301proe/

If you're not really interested in jumping into Eurorack, then buying several modules and a case just for a kick drum seems like using a sledgehammer to swat a fly. (But again, I really don't know much about how to get that 909 sound, so take this with a grain of salt.)
It's a very specific sound, unfortunately - a bit different from the self-oscillating filter model the Volca Kick uses for example. The lancet is cool, an can generate a 909-ish sound, but the results are static (ei. it can produce ONE 909 sound, but not a range of them). The 301 seems to be based on the C78, which I don't know too much about, but seems to be closer to than 808 sound.

I'm where I am because they're aren't many options out there.
Last edited by vanianbulman on Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
vanianbulman
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by vanianbulman » Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:10 pm

rayultine wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 11:06 pm
might as well buy a Roland R8Mkii or a Digitakt with a versatile overdrive/fuzz/distortion pedal for the amount that would run the OP!
I've spent a good amount of time toying with digital samples - ready for an actual analog voice.

versipellis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:25 pm
Location: Boston

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by versipellis » Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:19 am

At this price point, you really should consider drum machines. Maybe wait for Behringer's RD909? Or get the TR8S? I reckon both of those would be closer to the original 909 than the BD909 module. Close enough would be an MFB Tanzbar 2 (despite the issues it has) or some of the bass drum sound machines on the Rytm/Rytm mk2.
tunes: https://www.soundcloud.com/dycedot
in boston? I run nights: https://www.facebook.com/4OTFEvents/
selling [Qu-bit Bloom; NE Cursus Iteritas]: viewtopic.php?f=74&t=229821

User avatar
Chopper
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:17 am
Location: London

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by Chopper » Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:40 am

You want the jomox mbase.

operator808
Common Wiggler
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by operator808 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:38 am

Get a 4ms pod (40hp just in case you need something else later), an Erica Synths Bass Drum (i personally think it eats the tiptop 909 for breakfast), and a used Doepfer/Pittsburgh MIDI to CV module and you're good to go.

User avatar
Misk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:57 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by Misk » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:50 am

MIDI to CV is gonna probably be more expensive than the 909 kick drum module. If you're just trying to trigger the kick than you could eliminate the output module if you just had a passive attenuator tho.

User avatar
kay_k
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 774
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:33 am
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by kay_k » Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:02 am

Why not let him buy the module he wants ?

:mrgreen:

try to get a used Doepfer A-190-x MIDI converter, might be your best bet to get something very cheap.
For the output level: most mixers can deal with Euro-Level .. at least the Allen&Heath I had can. Audio Interfaces might clip but you can make yourself a passive attenuator very easy if you can solder a tiny bit. If that is to much try to find a cheap passive attenuator module.
Last edited by kay_k on Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:09 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Misk
Common Wiggler
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:57 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by Misk » Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:05 am

kay_k wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:02 am
Why not let him buy the module he wants ?

:mrgreen:
you gotta have a license to drive the wheels of steel!

User avatar
rayultine
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Memphis TN

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by rayultine » Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:43 pm

kay_k wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 5:02 am
Why not let him buy the module he wants ?
I'm trying to save him at least :75:

User avatar
Kattefjaes
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 267
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:47 am
Location: UK

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by Kattefjaes » Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:26 pm

I don't know what you think about Uli, prince of darkness, but the Behringer RD-909 seems to have been threatened for a bit. It's possibly worth waiting to see if it's part of the NAMM clone army this year (I think their reveal is later this week).

User avatar
rew_
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 430
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: Chicago

Re: What Do I Need to Use ONE Module In My Non-Modular Hardware Setup?

Post by rew_ » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:15 pm

Chopper wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 1:40 am
You want the jomox mbase.
^^^^
whoosy boxes / zoomy panels

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”