Zoia is now modular Euroburo

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., analogdigital, infradead, lisa, parasitk, plord

User avatar
shoottofill
Common Wiggler
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: South Omaha
Contact:

Zoia is now modular Euroburo

Post by shoottofill » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:36 am



haven't seen anything on cost and availability yet.
Last edited by shoottofill on Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CaneMan
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by CaneMan » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:25 am

That's just not fair. I was already tempted when it was a pedal.

User avatar
starthief
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 3762
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2016 10:39 am
Location: St Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by starthief » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:38 am

This was hinted at in the PEDAL CRUSH book, so I'm not too surprised to see it. I think if I hadn't gone the Bitwig integration route, I'd be drooling right now -- I expect it's gonna be very popular, especially if the price is right.

The mention of using it for LFO outputs already means it has some advantage over the ER-301. But I expect the ER-301 will maintain its edge in the area of buffer manipulation though (sampling/looping/delays/etc.)
"music... a weird bunch of sounds that had no point but made things feel a little better"

starthief.bandcamp.comstarthief.netModularGrid

User avatar
CaneMan
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Albany, NY
Contact:

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by CaneMan » Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:56 am

starthief wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:38 am
The mention of using it for LFO outputs already means it has some advantage over the ER-301. But I expect the ER-301 will maintain its edge in the area of buffer manipulation though (sampling/looping/delays/etc.)
I just love how conceptually different the two modules are. Not only do they have different use cases, but their interfaces are dramatically different. I'm already committed to a specific path for this year, but I'm tempted by both modules for different reasons.

peripatitis

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by peripatitis » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:02 am

wow, I've been really thinking about getting one, but was annoyed by the lack of feed I/o but this...

That M. Jaque fellow is crushing it with his zoia patches btw.

User avatar
chapelier fou
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:14 am

Just in case : original zoia has two cvs outs/ins.

peripatitis

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by peripatitis » Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:41 am

chapelier fou wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:14 am
Just in case : original zoia has two cvs outs/ins.
I wasn't aware of that, thanks! The question for me is, can you process things mid chain?
For example, can you take the output of a process send it to a filter in the modular and return it back for further processing?
That would be special.

User avatar
deftinwulf
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:34 am

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by deftinwulf » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:35 pm

Edit: So it comes with both a standalone enclosure or can be racked... neat. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Severed head
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:24 am

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by Severed head » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:40 pm

as I mentioned in one of the other 2 threads about this looks cool
but better get the nitrox course ready and prep for deep diving.
WTB: modules, MA35 filter.
:help:

User avatar
Flounderguts
Common Wiggler
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:56 pm
Location: SLC

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by Flounderguts » Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:53 pm

SOLD!
----------------------

Flounderguts

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1666
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by hawkfuzz » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:20 pm

chapelier fou wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:14 am
Just in case : original zoia has two cvs outs/ins.
Huh? MIDI I/O and one Control Port which can do the job.

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1666
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by hawkfuzz » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:24 pm

Id take this in addition to my pedal

User avatar
c0rpse
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:54 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by c0rpse » Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:48 pm

hawkfuzz wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 8:24 pm
Id take this in addition to my pedal
That's how I feel, especially if it has just a little more processor power too.
VINO MALO | Designer and Software Developer for WMD

User avatar
2disbetter
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by 2disbetter » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:31 am

starthief wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 10:38 am
This was hinted at in the PEDAL CRUSH book, so I'm not too surprised to see it. I think if I hadn't gone the Bitwig integration route, I'd be drooling right now -- I expect it's gonna be very popular, especially if the price is right.

The mention of using it for LFO outputs already means it has some advantage over the ER-301. But I expect the ER-301 will maintain its edge in the area of buffer manipulation though (sampling/looping/delays/etc.)
I had similar thoughts with the SSP versus the 301. What I've learned is that all the capability in the world doesn't drive interest if the design, cost, or user interface are offputting. I'm not saying that I think even of these things about the SSP. Perception is important, and sadly some perception can't be changed until the individual has tried the the module themselves.

What I am saying though is that even though the Euroburo appears to have some functionality that my 301 doesn't, I'm not immediately interested. I have tons of LFOs already, and those LFOs take up a much smaller amount of hp. The Euroburo has significantly less inputs, and that already hampers its utility.

Something that big with all the buttons, etc. being used just as an effects unit... sorry not sold in the slightest.

That said, I like the design of the module. The small screen and big knob are pretty nice. (I mean that. I like compact design.)

I've seen Cuckoo use the stompbox version, and it was nice, but also seems very deluge, OP1 like. Jack of all, master of none.

peripatitis

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by peripatitis » Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:13 am

I also agree, I couldn't care less about the 15 lfo's, or how it could function as a modulator within euro. Indeed there are so many modules now that doe these things (ssp, er301, etc). But not having a send return I/o doesn't feel logical to me.
However judging by a number of videos on youtube it does sound great, so I might go for the pedal version.

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10669
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:53 am

Would you mind changing the subject to add "Euroburo" so that more users can find it? Locked a thread about this already, it would help to keep posts on this thread instead of creating new ones. Thank you!
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
chorus7
Yeah that's right
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: Prince Edward Island

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by chorus7 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:54 am

Wonder how many HP? Looks like 32? Or 34...

User avatar
Paranormal Patroler
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 10669
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:40 pm
Location: the Terminal beach

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by Paranormal Patroler » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:01 am

chorus7 wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:54 am
Wonder how many HP? Looks like 32? Or 34...
Modular grid says 34 https://www.modulargrid.net/e/other-unk ... a-euroburo and that looks about right.
All rights reserved; all wrongs reversed.

User avatar
shoottofill
Common Wiggler
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: South Omaha
Contact:

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by shoottofill » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:11 am

Paranormal Patroler wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:53 am
Would you mind changing the subject to add "Euroburo" so that more users can find it? Locked a thread about this already, it would help to keep posts on this thread instead of creating new ones. Thank you!
done.

User avatar
Risc_Terilia
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:50 am
Location: UK

Re: Zoia is now modular Euroburo

Post by Risc_Terilia » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:33 am

Someone told me that it doesn't sample the CV inputs very fast though, is that the case?

ggillon
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:21 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Zoia is now modular Euroburo

Post by ggillon » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:30 am

Can't stop reading it "eurobro" :hihi:

User avatar
hawkfuzz
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1666
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 6:33 pm
Location: East Coast
Contact:

Re: Zoia is now modular Euroburo

Post by hawkfuzz » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:14 pm

Still waiting for the comments on 2 CV outs/ins to be answered. I'm to assume they were incorrect.

User avatar
chapelier fou
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 894
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Zoia is now modular Euroburo

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:50 am

Yes, my mistake. The expression input can be broke into 1 cv in and 1 cv out. From the manual, as I never used them.

Arneb
Common Wiggler
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:50 pm

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by Arneb » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:33 am

2disbetter wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:31 am
I had similar thoughts with the SSP versus the 301. What I've learned is that all the capability in the world doesn't drive interest if the design, cost, or user interface are offputting. I'm not saying that I think even of these things about the SSP. Perception is important, and sadly some perception can't be changed until the individual has tried the the module themselves.
The problem in general is, when your modules get too complex, you start losing the advantages of going DAWless. I haven't really looked into the SSP, but I'd expect it to be such a case - I can't really imagine how it's supposed to outcompete a cheap laptop or tablet running Ardour hooked up to your rack via a Focusrite Scarlett.

User avatar
2disbetter
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:40 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Zoia is now modular

Post by 2disbetter » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:02 am

Arneb wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:33 am
2disbetter wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:31 am
I had similar thoughts with the SSP versus the 301. What I've learned is that all the capability in the world doesn't drive interest if the design, cost, or user interface are offputting. I'm not saying that I think even of these things about the SSP. Perception is important, and sadly some perception can't be changed until the individual has tried the the module themselves.
The problem in general is, when your modules get too complex, you start losing the advantages of going DAWless. I haven't really looked into the SSP, but I'd expect it to be such a case - I can't really imagine how it's supposed to outcompete a cheap laptop or tablet running Ardour hooked up to your rack via a Focusrite Scarlett.
Yeah I can understand someone struggling with that. In an effort to not derail this thread, I'll keep it brief:
The SSP has a higher resolution DAC and ADC than almost all computers. This means for the purposes of sampling, your samples will have the highest fidelity. This is useful when mangling them and maintaining the purest form of any processed analog audio. Beyond this, it gives you patches which work with your eurorack by design, and with abundant I/O. 16 inputs DC coupled, 8 output DC coupled. It is a part of your rack and not an appendage. A massive modular system in a module part of a modular system. (say that 3 times fast.) Get all of that on a computer and you've spent more than the SSP costs. (And one side note: this has been discussed ad naseum in most of the SSP threads.)

Back on topic:
I would like to see some more eurorack / modular specific examples of this.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”