Are Doepfer PSUs drop-in replacements?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

Post Reply
prune
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:51 am
Location: Berlin

Are Doepfer PSUs drop-in replacements?

Post by prune » Thu Feb 27, 2020 4:49 am

Does anyone know if the Doepfer power supplies PSU2 and PSU3 are drop in replacements for each other - i.e. do they have the same screw hole locations? I have a case with a PSU2 that I'd like to replace with a PSU3 and I want to know if I'm gonna have to drill my case to accommodate it

User avatar
Rigo
Chief Spam Killer
Posts: 2424
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 4:48 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Are Doepfer PSUs drop-in replacements?

Post by Rigo » Thu Feb 27, 2020 5:14 am

Your answer is written here: http://www.doepfer.de/a100z_e.htm

User avatar
ersatzplanet
Synthwerks Design
Posts: 6333
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:18 pm
Location: Seattle WA

Re: Are Doepfer PSUs drop-in replacements?

Post by ersatzplanet » Thu Feb 27, 2020 2:42 pm

They do have the same spacing for the standoffs but that is not all that needs to be considered. I have two old P6 cabinets that are the 85HP ones with PS1 supplies in them (the 600mA ones). I replaced them with PS3 supplies and though the hole spacing matched, the PS3 PCB hung over the internal section of the aluminum extrusions used to form the cabinet. I had to insulate that section from the PS. That is the thing you need to check - the overall PCB size relative to the hole placement.
-James

James Husted - Synthwerks, LLC - www.synthwerks.com - info@synthwerks.com - james@synthwerks.com
Synthwerks is a proud member of the Mostly Modular Trade Association (http://www.mostlymodular.com).
Always looking to trade for Doepfer P6 cases

kpreid
Common Wiggler
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:18 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Are Doepfer PSUs drop-in replacements?

Post by kpreid » Sat Feb 29, 2020 1:05 pm

Same point as ersatzplanet's post, different case:

I bought a used A-100G6 (6U rack case) that was missing its power supply (originally PSU2) and the hole pattern was the same but the location wouldn't work, because the PSU3 power supply board collided with the power inlet — apparently this is Version 1 of the A-100B84P back panel with "snap-in version of the mains inlet" as http://www.doepfer.de/a100z_e.htm puts it.

So, I made a jig to drill a new hole pattern 10 mm offset from the existing holes, and that made room. (I also had to make a wiring cover — it's possible that the stock A-100PCS would have worked, but I didn't find a US source for it so I made one on my 3D printer instead.)

Or, if your case is also a G6 you could buy a new A-100B84P back panel.

Luap
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1111
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 6:41 pm
Location: North'ish London, UK

Re: Are Doepfer PSUs drop-in replacements?

Post by Luap » Mon Mar 02, 2020 4:44 pm

In case you want to stay with a linear supply, the Erica Synths V2 2.5A supply is a direct replacement for a Doepfer PSU2 (Same standoff footprint)
Its a kit though, but easy to put together if you are handy with a soldering iron.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”