Feedback Synthesizer Design Help Request Eurorack

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

belzib
Learning to Wiggle

Feedback Synthesizer Design Help Request Eurorack

Post by belzib » Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:56 pm

I'm attempting to design my own synthesizer using eurorack modules. I've been playing with eurorack for a few years, but this is the first time I have a system with a specific purpose in mind. That purpose is to make music based on a system of negative feedback loops. The post below is super long, but I think it is quite clear and systematic. There are a few places where I think I'm suffering from not knowing enough about the underlying electronics or utility modules available. Maybe I'll post a tl;dr version later if no one responds to this, but I'm not sure how to do that. In order to understand the problems, you need to understand the overall aim. With that said, there are specific problems that need to be solved (especially those described in the third to last paragraph) and some of the solutions I've proposed might not be viable.

Negative-Feedback Control Synthesizer

System 1 generates a random signal (gate, CV amount, audio rate) which is fed into system 2 (which may be a single module or a collection of modules) which affects some active parameter of system 2. An active parameter is some feature of the system which already has an effect on the output of the system independently of the signal received from system 1. System 2 either outputs an audio rate signal affected by the active parameter directly to an output module or provides a CV or gate affected by the parameter to some further system which can produce an audio rate signal. System 2 must also produce some signal which can be fed back into itself and thereby “correct” the system, i.e., cause the parameter affected by the random source to revert to the desired, previous state.