Minimal modules for Intellijel 4U Palette

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Joe., lisa, luketeaford, Kent

eno
Learning to Wiggle

Minimal modules for Intellijel 4U Palette

Post by eno » Sun Mar 15, 2020 7:35 pm

Most probably this has been asked a lot but Im new to modular and the amount of combined knowledge here will probably have very good advice to give. Im dipping my toes into modular and just got the Intellijel 4U palette case. Yes, its small and limiting. And yes, I know, I will probably end up getting a bigger case... eventually. I would really like to explore a super minimal portable modular to noodle with. Ive been busy Googling, reading threads and looking at module specs a lot. But its kinda overwhelming.

And I think maybe a better way to figure out what to get would be to list here what I would like to have in my modular: single (preferably dual) oscillator with plenty of different waveforms; an LFO or some other module as a modulation source; VCA; two envelopes; mixer; and maybe some FX (reverb at least, more if it can fit).

Nice to have: maybe a simple sequencer and/or arpeggiator (or combined unit).

Can people recommend a set of minimal modules that will fit in the 4U Intellijel palette ?
Any specific brands (doesn't have to be Intellijel) I should look at ?

There's some terrific modules out there but most will take up a big chunk of HP so Im looking for some creativity. Maybe there are modules that can combined functionality?

Anyway, as always, many thanks for any advice.

Agawell
Ultra Wiggler

Re: Minimal modules for Intellijel 4U Palette

Post by Agawell » Mon Mar 16, 2020 10:17 am

yes the same question is asked constantly

in my opinion you are doing this the wrong way round

get a bigger case first and fill it (over time) and then go for a small case if you want that - as a satellite or standalone voice - but you've already passed that point and it's only my opinion