Psychedelic Lead/Jam Synth

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

henneke
Learning to Wiggle

Psychedelic Lead/Jam Synth

Post by henneke » Mon Apr 20, 2020 5:47 am

Hello!

After 10 years of fiddling around with music production I decided to go the modular way :)
In the past years I made some solid tracks in the domain of techno/psy/downtempo. Most of them are lacking some kind of "living lead sounds" that draws the listener attraction and spins a story around a track. To overcome that I started using NI Monark - There it was. Monophonic lead sounds that fit perfectly in most of my tracks with enough space to all the other elements in my tracks. Not living though...

So i just got me a Moog Mother 32 and started expanding from there.
My goal with my modular setup:
- Freeing myself from sitting in front of the computer screen to make music
- Creating moving and modulated lead sounds
- Exploration (Since I studied somewhat of John Cage etc. during my bachelors in design I really like the experimental and generative approach)
- A certain degree of percussion elements that can be modulated too
- Possibility to bring it to a jam session and jam the hell out of it (my jam session group likes noise stuff bleeps and blops pitch shifts etc.)
- For a jam session I was looking at a Arturia Keystep Pro to have a nice sequencing control and be able to switch to poly synths VSTs (Serum, Diva)

---

Here is the modular grid link for the setup I am aiming for:
https://www.modulargrid.net/e/racks/view/1164868

I already own:
Moog Mother 32
Dual Precision VCO
Morgasmatron
EG (141-2 VCADSR) which should be replaced by the behringer 140 (i like to control attack and decay by hand)
Outs
Maths
Quad VCA
Disting (ordered but has not arrived yet)

Just borrowed:
BIA (wow! i need one)
Wavefolder

Things to put in:
Wogglebug (More random manipulation for the generative approach)