Expert Sleepers disting EX

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
User avatar
scragz
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by scragz » Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:23 pm

Most recently chosen algorithms but then you still gotta remember what the settings were if you didn't save a preset. And if you did save a preset then you gotta remember what the preset was.

I have too many modules like this now -- Zadar, PH3/HD3, Disting -- so I pretty much only use slot 1 for anything and have to remember to go through all of them saving my place to slot 1 before I powering off every night.

Wish there was some kinda periodic save to flash option but it would probably cause stutters.

leongruenbaum
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by leongruenbaum » Fri Sep 11, 2020 4:59 pm

For some reason I can't figure out in single mode how to get the disting ex to respond to a MIDI program change command so that the (single mode) preset changes to match the program change sent. it's not responding to it at all. (This, despite the fact that i can change algorithms in dual mode by sending program change)

Have you been able to do this?

Thanks
It also seems like favorites and presets can help, especially if you have something to send MIDI program change messages to it.

Nejben77
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:52 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Nejben77 » Fri Sep 11, 2020 6:15 pm

You're a star, thank you!!

Nejben77
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 12:52 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Nejben77 » Fri Sep 11, 2020 6:18 pm

virtualpt wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:57 pm
Nejben77 wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:15 pm
Hi - trying to figure how to set the disting ex so that it remembers the algorithm that was used upon switching off when booting up - so I don't have reprogram it each time I turn on my rack. Scanned the menu and was able save an algorithm but not simply the last used. Takes quite a bit of time to go through when trying to recall 2 in dual mode. Thanks.
From the manual:

The Settings->General menu contains these settings:

Auto save (when) change alg(orithm)

If enabled, whenever you change algorithm (in single or dual mode), the preset will be saved to preset slot 1. If you also set the startup preset to 1, this means the module will power up with the most recently chosen algorithm(s).
You're a star - thank you. I did see that but wasn't sure how it worked.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13841
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by os » Sat Sep 12, 2020 3:34 am

@leongruenbaum it doesn't respond to MIDI program change in single mode currently.

leongruenbaum
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:21 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by leongruenbaum » Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:15 am

ah ok! thanks - didn't want to bother you again via email. i think i misinterpreted your email answer :)

User avatar
aragorn23
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:02 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by aragorn23 » Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:18 am

Apologies if this has already been answered, but I can't quite figure it out. If I'm using the SD Multisample algorithm with chord enabled, how exactly are the CV inputs modifying the pitch? For instance, if I set chord enable to 1, choose a C major scale and then send 1/12th of a volt to the first CV input, will it just shift all the notes up by a semitone, or does it do something else to keep them in scale?

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13841
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by os » Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:31 am

It will quantise the pitches into the scale when the gate is fired, but any pitch deviation while the gate is open will be treated as a pitch bend applied equally to all the voices.

User avatar
aragorn23
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:02 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by aragorn23 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:57 am

os wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:31 am
It will quantise the pitches into the scale when the gate is fired, but any pitch deviation while the gate is open will be treated as a pitch bend applied equally to all the voices.
Thanks os - that makes complete sense now.

User avatar
os
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 13841
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:55 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by os » Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:58 am

Just dropped v1.4.



User avatar
Phitar
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:54 am
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Phitar » Wed Sep 16, 2020 10:46 am

os wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:58 am
Just dropped v1.4
Absolutely Marvelous!! :yay:
At the Enrichment Center we promise never to value your safety above your unique ideas and creativity. - Portal

Never bring a spork to a gunfight. - Guns Akimbo

ronnieb
Common Wiggler
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 4:07 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by ronnieb » Wed Sep 16, 2020 11:08 am

Suuuuper stoked by both of these new algorithms. Thanks os, stellar work as always!

User avatar
virtualpt
Common Wiggler
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 9:19 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by virtualpt » Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:00 pm

os wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:58 am
Just dropped v1.4.
Awesome, thanks Os. FilterBank :sb: :goo: :sb: Off to play now.

Dreth
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:41 am

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Dreth » Wed Sep 23, 2020 2:13 am

ehr wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 4:51 pm
Dreth wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:35 pm
I just got my disting ex, was curious if the output volume was really low for you guys?

Using single mode, SD/multisample, going straight into my mixer, the output is at least 50% lower than my other sound producing modules, and that's with the disting's gain set at max, +6db.

Everything else seems fine with it outside of this volume issue.

Is this normal behaviour or is something wrong with mine?
Are you on firmware 1.3? if so what is the Normalization parameter set to? If it is more than 3 maybe bring it down.
Sorry for the very late reply, but this fixed my issue, thank you!

The normalization was at +8 by default, I put it at 0 and now it's at a comparable volume w/ the rest of my gear.

User avatar
Bob Borries
Veteran Wiggler
Posts: 721
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: L.A.

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Bob Borries » Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:02 am

Great filter bank algo, here's a frequency chart of common filter banks & Vocal formants that might come in handy.
Image

User avatar
bradovic
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:33 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by bradovic » Sat Sep 26, 2020 9:34 am

Unfortunately i'm still experiencing weird artifacts using SD multisample , you can hear it at 8 & 16 seconds into this clip:
disting glitch.wav
(3.87 MiB) Downloaded 18 times
This is without using the CV inputs , just using the arpeggiator set to random.
I'm using the latest firmware.
Any idea what's going on here ? :despair:

User avatar
dbeats
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:50 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by dbeats » Sun Sep 27, 2020 2:42 am

Dunno, it sounds different, but maybe it's another issue related to bad sd card performance? Have you tried reformatting the sd card as discussed above? It fixed my problems with SD 6 Triggers, for example. Another reason could be an unsupported sample file format (32bit).

User avatar
LDT
The Modu-Lars
Posts: 1101
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Contact:

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by LDT » Sun Sep 27, 2020 6:18 am

Hi Os,
I am just wondering now, if it would be possible to make a mono version of the filter bank for the mk4?
If mk4 can not handle 8 bands in mono, then perhaps just do as many as possible? A four, five or six band version would still be very useful.

User avatar
bradovic
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2019 2:33 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by bradovic » Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:59 pm

dbeats wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 2:42 am
Dunno, it sounds different, but maybe it's another issue related to bad sd card performance? Have you tried reformatting the sd card as discussed above? It fixed my problems with SD 6 Triggers, for example. Another reason could be an unsupported sample file format (32bit).
I owe you a beer :guinness: , thank you very much ! :yay: It was driving me insane, but reformatting fixed it somehow!
For anyone else who missed it, here's the comment by os:
Re. the SD cards - it seems some of the SD cards shipped with the module had format issues. Reformatting them yourself may help. Future shipments will have a different card:

User avatar
dbeats
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:50 am
Location: Kiel, Germany

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by dbeats » Mon Sep 28, 2020 12:24 am

bradovic wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:59 pm
I owe you a beer :guinness: , thank you very much ! :yay: It was driving me insane, but reformatting fixed it somehow!
:guinness: :tu:

User avatar
Whatisvalis
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Whatisvalis » Tue Sep 29, 2020 6:53 pm

I'm having some issues with the SD card - I've reformatted the card but these probablems seem to pop up again.

1. Load single multisample and the Disting reboots - reformat fixes this.
2. Load single multisample and it reports no SD card - reboot generally fixes this.

Anyone else have this issue?

Blond 12
Common Wiggler
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:28 am

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Blond 12 » Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:52 pm

Hello,

Ricky just posted another good idea on YouTube,
Passing the Mimetic digitalis thrue a quantizer ( using scales intellijel) . Ok fine... I dont have a Scales intellijel so I tryed with my disting EX in quantizer algorithm but it dosn't work.
Looks like the Disting quantizer only works as a "standalone generator" and not as a "rectifier" I thought i could plug CV pitch into X input and the output A should be the new pitch quantized but no...

Can somebody tell me if disting has an algorithm to do what im looking for?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
scragz
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 403
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 7:19 pm

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by scragz » Sat Oct 03, 2020 6:29 pm

Blond 12 wrote:
Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:52 pm
Passing the Mimetic digitalis thrue a quantizer ( using scales intellijel) . Ok fine... I dont have a Scales intellijel so I tryed with my disting EX in quantizer algorithm but it dosn't work.
Looks like the Disting quantizer only works as a "standalone generator" and not as a "rectifier" I thought i could plug CV pitch into X input and the output A should be the new pitch quantized but no


It's algorithm A-6 from mk4. Just tested putting Mimetic into X and A is the quantized output. Z attenuates the input though so make sure that is up.

Blond 12
Common Wiggler
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:28 am

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by Blond 12 » Sun Oct 04, 2020 3:52 am

scragz wrote:
Sat Oct 03, 2020 6:29 pm

It's algorithm A-6 from mk4. Just tested putting Mimetic into X and A is the quantized output. Z attenuates the input though so make sure that is up.
Thanks you so much!!!
I was on the wrong Algo 😅

SlagRalden
Common Wiggler
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:49 am
Location: Baltimore

Re: Expert Sleepers disting EX

Post by SlagRalden » Sun Oct 04, 2020 9:06 pm

Hey all, when using SD MULTISAMPLE is there a way to change the input mode to have NO pitch or gate inputs, i've checked the cv mappings and it doesn't seem like you can turn off the cv gate pair... I mostly input with midi so input 2 and 4 are being held hostage! would be cool to be able to turn the input mode setting to zero....

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”