How do you use your Eurorack?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

wcniedba1
1-Post Wiggler

How do you use your Eurorack?

Post by wcniedba1 » Wed Jul 29, 2020 1:40 pm

I am just starting to get into Eurorack/Synthesis. I've been a hobbyist musician for a long time (mainly guitar and drums). For me this is totally a hobby. But I'm curious as to how people are using Eurorack's (especially those who are dumping $20-30K+ into these systems). Are you using it for studio? Live? And are you hobbyist, pro or semi-pro?

starthief
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Re: How do you use your Eurorack?

Post by starthief » Wed Jul 29, 2020 3:27 pm

I've got about half that much in my setup, counting my DAW and non-modular gear (and some of it is beta test gear so it didn't cost that much).

I am a serious amateur -- not in it for the money, but for fulfillment. I release albums on a somewhat frequent and regular basis, with pay-what-you-want pricing usually, but I don't make much effort to promote them. I make a living as a software developer, but I make music to be alive :)

(I do have some history as a semi-pro performer -- as a drummer with St. Louis Osuwa Taiko. It was a hell of a lot of fun, but also a hell of a lot of work every week that didn't really leave me time and energy for my own creative pursuits. I was a lot more productive and fulfilled musically after I left, and didn't get into Eurorack until a few years later. But I am no doubt in worse physical shape now! Sometimes I miss the group aspects and the stress relief...)