Logic Pro vs Ableton for eurorack

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

yhiitming
Learning to Wiggle

Logic Pro vs Ableton for eurorack

Post by yhiitming » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:14 am

Hi, I am a Logic Pro user.

I started my eurorack system and I also have some keyboard synth. I mainly make some ambient and experimental stuff, probably some "general" type of songs. I am not a "beat" guy (e.g. Hip Hop, Lo-Fi) and don't play live performance (maybe I don't need the session view on Ableton?).

I mainly use DAW to record and edit in Logic Pro (general purpose). Do you think is it worth to change to Ableton from Logic Pro? Because I am more focus on the eurorack and synth now. Are there any pros and cons for me? Or should I just focus on Logic Pro because many people said it is a "all-purpose" DAW.

Thanks a lot!

StrangeAttraction
Common Wiggler

Re: Logic Pro vs Ableton for eurorack

Post by StrangeAttraction » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:38 am

If you know Logic well, I'd stick with it. Logic will be perfectly fine for recording and mixing.
If you plan to integrate the modular and the computer in a hybrid setup (send/receive CV/pitch/audio) then Ableton with Max for Live devices and CV tools is the more user-friendly option. Though you can still just use for example Expert Sleepers plugins in Logic or just send Midi to some Midi-CV module. But a lot of people here shy away from computers, and use them only as a tape recorder.
So, I'd say... stick with Logic for now. Also, Logic plugins are fantastic (compressor, eq, lots of saturation, reverbs, etc.).
Any questions, just ask. I have and used both.

lisa
Super Deluxe Wiggler

Post by lisa » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:39 am

Unless you want to use the CV Tools that you can get for Ableton Live I'd recommend that you stick with what you know. Learning a new DAW takes a lot of music making time away from you and you will never get it back.