Selling your own modules

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: luketeaford, Joe., lisa, Kent

gialg
Learning to Wiggle

Selling your own modules

Post by gialg » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:48 am

Let me know if this is out of topic. I am new to Muff Wiggler.

I am an engineer, making a living through software but spent my university life (and that was 20 years ago) studying mostly electronic engineering.

I recently discovered modular synthesisers and fell in love with them. Having experienced the speed at which moneys flows out of my wallet, I decided to use my dusty skills and design and print PCBs for a few modules (namely a VCO based on AS3340, a ADSR EG based on AS3310, and a 24db low pass based on the AS3320). I plan to continue and start experimenting with more complex design.

While the goal here is strictly personal -- I want to build stuff for myself -- I now have a few extra PCBs and enough high quality components to build more modules than I need. Despite their simplicity, I am happy with the results I have got and I wouldn't classify what I did as crappy cheap modules.

So my questions are:

1. How's the culture of selling your own design in the Eurorack community? How do I start? Or better yet, should I do it? If so, do you suggest to sell DYI kits or assembled modules?

I am definitely not expecting to make a considerable amount of money out of this.

Thanks in advance!

Muff McMuff
Veteran Wiggler

Re: Selling your own modules

Post by Muff McMuff » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:03 am