Are Powered Cases Too Expensive?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

trashjohnson
Common Wiggler

Are Powered Cases Too Expensive?

Post by trashjohnson » Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:05 am

TL;DR: Why do powered cases cost so much?

I am not an electrician or an engineer and I have very limited electronics DIY experience so I pretty much have no idea what I'm talking about when it comes to hardware. This is a question not a complaint:

Are powered eurorack cases too expensive or are they priced correctly?

I have a business background and am more privy to supply/demand, pricing models, etc. Many posts have posed questions about the high prices of modules and my understanding is that we pay a premium mainly because of small batch production and unique products. These "high prices" are in comparison to standalone synths from major manufacturers that generally have more functionality for comparatively less money but cannot be modified to the same degree as individual modules and frequently do not have the same level of uniqueness. This is a reasonable and fair explanation in my opinion. This is a generalization and not what this post is about; I just want to provide context that I can appreciate higher prices for niche hardware.

With that in mind as well as the understanding that tech products always cost more than the sum of their parts, are the prices of powered eurorack cases reasonable for what they provide? I am not talking about hand built wooden or custom designed cases which fall under the category of artisan products and can charge more according to art/craft sales models. I am asking about doepfer low-cost cases, arturia rackbrute, 4ms pods, intellijel palette, make noise skiffs, etc. Similarly, is the uZeus priced reasonably? Even DIY cases come in above $200 as far as I can tell.