Frequency Central CEMosc - Pitch Tracking Issues

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Mr Creamy
Learning to Wiggle

Frequency Central CEMosc - Pitch Tracking Issues

Post by Mr Creamy » Sat Oct 03, 2020 1:05 pm

Hi everyone!
I apologize for this newbie question (and lengthy post) as I’m fairly new to module building and vintage synths in general. I have built about a dozen DIY kits - thus still learning. I have a question about the CEMosc which is based upon the CEM3340 chipset. I currently have the AS3340 installed and wondering about it’s performance in place of the CEM3340. Rick (Frequency Central) advertises CEMosc works with AS3340. I also have two CEM3340’s chips (one vintage, one re-issue “G”) on the way, so will be sure to try them to verify this issue and also want to see if there are any qualitative differences.

Build went very well except for one thing, calibration of pitch. First, I allowed the unit to warm up for about 20 minutes before calibration. If I calibrate to the octave switch, my KeyStep notes do not track well, every note beyond 440A is off. But if I calibrate to the KeyStep, then the octave switch is off. There is no happy medium. Is there anyway to get both to track perfectly? Or is that an inherent issue with vintage-based gear?

If it can be fixed or improved, then where does the problem lie? My thoughts are two possibilities:
  1. A tracking issue with the AS3340 chipset. Do I need an actual CEM3340?
  2. The problem lies deeper within the resistor ladder for the octave switch? Build doc states “Pick all 10k resistor values similarly with 1% precision”. So I picked the closest I had within the kit and on hand. In my case, values ended up being 9k8x (where x is any number, thus 1% precision).