Did anyone start big and no regrets?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

SonarBk
Common Wiggler

Did anyone start big and no regrets?

Post by SonarBk » Sat Dec 26, 2020 10:32 am

Hi all -

Noob here. So.... I’ve spent the past year researching and studying. Of course I keep seeing the standard advice for beginners is to start small, go deep with a few modules etc.

I’d like to hear stories from those of you that jumped all the way in without knowing how to swim, especially if you feel good about that choice in retrospect!

After my year of research, leaning towards starting off way bigger than seems to be recommended. Im in my 40s and I’m in a good life situation right now where there is both money and time.

For context, I’m mostly interested in how modular can contribute to music I’m already making. I have very bad RSI issues as a long term instrumentalist and I can’t use a mouse at all, so my current set up is an iPad, a Squarp Pyramid, some Faderfox midi controllers, a Tascam model 24 for mixing and recording, a polysynth and my guitars and violin. The reason I want to get into eurorack is that I want more of a sense of playing with “others” rather than just layering my own tracks. This could mean generative patches but it could also just mean the surprises that come from CV modulation. I know I could make a lot of similar sounds using midi automation and the right software but the no-mouse limit is real.

I’m not sure I care a whole lot about learning synthesis in depth with eurorack but I do care about having fun and feeling inspired. For this purpose, I don’t know if it makes sense to start with rudimentary sounds and get more complex or to start by being able to do a whole lot and drilling down over time.

Thoughts?

finalplane
Common Wiggler

Re: Did anyone start big and no regrets?

Post by finalplane » Sat Dec 26, 2020 10:38 am