Dammit... modular newbie

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
C3NO74PH
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:35 am

Dammit... modular newbie

Post by C3NO74PH » Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:09 am

I produced as Subtronik for years using common synths. I’ve never gone modular until now.
I own a Behringer Neutron and am planning to buy a second Neutron plus a Behringer Eurorack 3 Tier stand.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08B7 ... 0DER&psc=1
What I’d like to know is what rack to purchase to install actual modular units into for the third tier.

User avatar
Rigo
Chief Spam Killer
Posts: 2692
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 4:48 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Dammit... modular newbie

Post by Rigo » Tue Feb 23, 2021 2:21 am

Welcome to Muffs. I edited your post to properly show the link.

It's weird that Behringer doesn't sell a Eurorack case that is the same width as their Neutron.

Raindeer
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 366
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 2:45 am

Re: Dammit... modular newbie

Post by Raindeer » Tue Feb 23, 2021 2:37 am

C3NO74PH wrote:
Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:09 am
I produced as Subtronik for years using common synths. I’ve never gone modular until now.
I own a Behringer Neutron and am planning to buy a second Neutron plus a Behringer Eurorack 3 Tier stand.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08B7 ... 0DER&psc=1
What I’d like to know is what rack to purchase to install actual modular units into for the third tier.
This actually doesn’t look straightforward because 80hp is not a common case size. You basically need to buy or build an empty Neutron (or Neutron-sized) chassis on your third tier and fit some rails into it... or something that achieves that same effect.

Or move your Neutrons into a 3-tier 84-104hp rack but that has its own drawbacks (i.e. the case might cost more than the Neutrons! And you lose back panel functions)

User avatar
Agawell
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1367
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 3:22 am

Re: Dammit... modular newbie

Post by Agawell » Tue Feb 23, 2021 4:14 am

keep the semis as semis and get a decent sized eurorack case to put modules in
Modular Audio and Video Synthesis on Instagram

Utility modules are the inexpensive, dull polish that makes the expensive, shiny modules actually shine!!!

an oscillator is an oscillator - utilities are possibilities

choose the case to fit the modules - not the modules to fit the case!!!

C3NO74PH
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:35 am

Re: Dammit... modular newbie

Post by C3NO74PH » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:47 am

Thank you for the welcome and for fixing my post linkage Rigo 👍🏻

Your advice makes sense Agawell, thank you. I’ll just get a Pro 1 or K-2 for the third tier.

User avatar
Phitar
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:54 am
Location: Northern Virginia, USA

Re: Dammit... modular newbie

Post by Phitar » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:21 pm

Agawell wrote:
Tue Feb 23, 2021 4:14 am
keep the semis as semis and get a decent sized eurorack case to put modules in
This! The more decent sized the better!
At the Enrichment Center we promise never to value your safety above your unique ideas and creativity. - Portal

In adddition to "More Cowbell!" everything should have more REVERB! :tu:

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”