3 way audio switch?

Cwejman, Livewire, TipTop Audio, Doepfer etc... Get your euro on!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, Joe.

Post Reply
orbita
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:00 am
Location: London

3 way audio switch?

Post by orbita » Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:55 pm

Looking for either
i) - a 3 way switch that takes 2 audio inputs (A,B) with output and selects either A, B or A+B.

OR

ii) - a 3 way switch that takes 3 audio inputs (A, B, C) with output and a switch that selects from either, A, B or C.

Not much comes up when googling for 3 way switch..

Thanks!
Last edited by orbita on Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dooj88
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 2176
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:31 pm
Location: VA
Contact:

Re: 3 way switch?

Post by dooj88 » Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:08 pm


User avatar
Kosmikos
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2020 1:21 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: 3 way switch?

Post by Kosmikos » Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:09 pm

This looks like it could well do the job:
https://wmdevices.com/collections/euror ... tch-matrix

User avatar
mosorensen
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:19 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: 3 way switch?

Post by mosorensen » Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:10 pm

Do you need it for audio or CV?

For i), a crossfader should work (e.g., https://www.modulargrid.net/e/happy-ner ... fade-black)

For ii), a switch should work (e.g., https://www.modulargrid.net/e/doepfer-a-151)

There are fancier versions of both crossfaders and switches with more functions.

orbita
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:00 am
Location: London

Re: 3 way switch?

Post by orbita » Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:46 pm

mosorensen wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:10 pm
Do you need it for audio or CV?

For i), a crossfader should work (e.g., https://www.modulargrid.net/e/happy-ner ... fade-black)

For ii), a switch should work (e.g., https://www.modulargrid.net/e/doepfer-a-151)

There are fancier versions of both crossfaders and switches with more functions.
yes - sorry audio - when I edited it I removed that by accident

I'll check out your links - thank you

orbita
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:00 am
Location: London

Re: 3 way switch?

Post by orbita » Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:47 pm

dooj88 wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:08 pm
this one?

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/acid-rain ... witchblade
I looked at that - it looks cool actually but it's 3 switches each with 2 inputs. so you'd need multiple button presses to achieve it.

orbita
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:00 am
Location: London

Re: 3 way switch?

Post by orbita » Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:49 pm

Kosmikos wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:09 pm
This looks like it could well do the job:
https://wmdevices.com/collections/euror ... tch-matrix
I've actually got one of these although not used it that much yet - too big for my use-case and somewhat overkill.

orbita
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:00 am
Location: London

Re: 3 way switch?

Post by orbita » Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:56 pm

orbita wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:46 pm
mosorensen wrote:
Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:10 pm
Do you need it for audio or CV?

For i), a crossfader should work (e.g., https://www.modulargrid.net/e/happy-ner ... fade-black)

For ii), a switch should work (e.g., https://www.modulargrid.net/e/doepfer-a-151)

There are fancier versions of both crossfaders and switches with more functions.
yes - sorry audio - when I edited it I removed that by accident

I'll check out your links - thank you
for i) a crossfader could work - it depends on the vol curves - I don't want any dip when they are both in the middle.

for ii) a sequential switch could work - but I would need to pass in a voltage - I have a pico seqs floating around so I'll give this a go.

What I'd really like is a 182-2 but with 3 inputs and the middle position being the 3rd input instead of no connection. Might have to write to doepfer.

orbita
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:00 am
Location: London

Re: 3 way audio switch?

Post by orbita » Wed Apr 07, 2021 5:36 pm

Come to think of it, I think maybe a mutes module like maleko mute or divkid mutes would actually work best.

User avatar
klstay
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 8:50 am

Re: 3 way audio switch?

Post by klstay » Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:01 pm

Also, this from Joranalogue might work. I have a DivKid Mutes, but may add to/replace it with this.

jkanizzle
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:20 pm
Location: Taos, NM

Re: 3 way audio switch?

Post by jkanizzle » Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:13 pm

WMD sl3kt has some cool normalling that would work for this methinks....

User avatar
DJMaytag
Ultra Wiggler
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:59 am
Location: Madison, Wiscompton
Contact:

Re: 3 way audio switch?

Post by DJMaytag » Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:56 pm

Does it have to be a switch? Low Gain CVP might work?

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/low-gain- ... nics-cvp-1
Instagram | Soundcloud | MG Main Rack 6U+6U

If you talk about improper grounding 3 times, Graham Hinton appears!” -djs

User avatar
Inflexus
Common Wiggler
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:13 pm

Re: 3 way audio switch?

Post by Inflexus » Thu Apr 08, 2021 2:06 am

Maybe the Zlob Push VCA? It can do what you want, but with two push buttons.

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/zlob-Zlob ... r-push-vca

orbita
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 343
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:00 am
Location: London

Re: 3 way audio switch?

Post by orbita » Thu Apr 08, 2021 3:23 am

Inflexus wrote:
Thu Apr 08, 2021 2:06 am
Maybe the Zlob Push VCA? It can do what you want, but with two push buttons.

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/zlob-Zlob ... r-push-vca
Nice find! that definitely solves the problem and in the most compact manner, with the added benefit of the direct outs which I might find a use for.

Basically I want to be able to control the outputs of my DLD so I can choose from either or both channels. Having 2 buttons also lets me choose none - which could be useful and may free up another of my switches.

I think it would have been good if 4ms had put a 3 way switch on the DLD so you can choose which channels were routed to the combined A output.

User avatar
bedhed3000
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 333
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:30 am
Location: California
Contact:

Re: 3 way audio switch?

Post by bedhed3000 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:49 pm

https://www.modulargrid.net/e/2hp-switch is the same width as the Zlob. I used to have that push vca module. It's pretty great (no clicks or pops when muting), but only 2 channels.
With the 2hp switch you can have the 3 inputs you want for scenario ii - and just leave the 4th unpatched as a "mute". And you can switch with CV if you're into that type of thing.

Post Reply

Return to “Eurorack Modules”