terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, luketeaford, lisa, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
seanrieger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:20 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seanrieger » Sun Feb 16, 2020 4:21 pm

thetechnobear wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:09 am

c) i rename host to tt, but thats optional!
use raspi-config
(you can also setup wifi and expand fs whilst here)

then reboot
First of all, THANK YOU! I am up and running on my TT with this. So much to explore. One suggestion, maybe add a note to the setup instructions for folks that one thing they should do before installing ORAC is expand their filesystem in raspi-config. I totally forgot to do that and the install error-ed out when the default 2gb partition filled up. Wasn't hard to correct, but it might be worth a note. Great job again and thanks so much!
- File Transfer Protocol | Music as dark as the world we live in.
My main rack on Modulargrid |
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

User avatar
edwinm
Common Wiggler
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:31 pm
Location: London

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by edwinm » Fri Feb 28, 2020 9:11 am

I'm having an issue with a new install of Raspbian Buster that I haven't seen before (used Jessie before). When running pd as user pi I get 'priority 6 scheduling failed; running at normal priority' but it's fine if I run it as sudo. I had a lightbulb moment and tried adding 'pi' to sudo group using these instructions https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... ecurity.md but no joy.

When I sudo in to pd it can't find the externals, it looks like a fresh install. I'm pretty sure it wasn't like this with Jessie i.e. I could run pd as pi or sudo and the externals were there?

Anyone know what's going on and/or have a fix?

Cheers!

User avatar
edwinm
Common Wiggler
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:31 pm
Location: London

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by edwinm » Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:41 pm

Reinstalled everything and didn't have the problem again... :despair:

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:33 pm

Thanks to the Technobear for this port of Orac for terminal Tedium!

I got it working now with the double lcd display as in:

https://github.com/NorthCoastModularCol ... verse-OLED :party: :party:

To keep things tidy and to not derail from other forums, i have a few questions.



*Vnc Server.

Cant seem to be able to run it on this Orac distribution. Did all the correspondent

sudo apt-get install realvnc-vnc-server

sudo apt-get install jwm

vncserver -geometry 2560x1440

But i get this error on my console after being ssh´d into TT:

xauth: file /home/we/.Xauthority does not exist
xauth: (argv):1: bad display name "tt:1" in "add" command
Error: could not run xauth

Any ideas?

Thanks!

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:17 pm

Ok so i made some progress :yay:
Got vnc server working now.
Had to use the latest fates release, that was giving some errors when expanding the filesystem.
Installed vnc and jwm and is working now.
When i log into the vnc server i dont seem to find the puredata app.
Do i have to install sidekick and place pure daa patches as with fates?
Do i have to stop sidekick to be able to edit the puredata patches through vnc?
Is there a mother patch for adapting puredata patches to be used with tt and the lcds?
Many thanks!

thetechnobear
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by thetechnobear » Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:30 pm

Pd is running from command line - no?
So run from an xterm launched from jwm

I’ve not done any work on porting sidekick to TT yet.

The main reason is because the buttons are currently handled in PD, so that handling would need to be replicated on TTUILite ( the TT version of NuiLite used by norns)

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Tue Mar 03, 2020 6:34 pm

Thanks for the reply!
So how could i edit orac patches (or add patches from patchstorage) to orac?
Is there a way to access pure data on tt?
Gracias!

thetechnobear
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by thetechnobear » Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:39 pm

Sure if you have vnc installed you can just start pd from Xterm

cd /usr/local/orac
/usr/bin/pd -rt -alsamidi -audiobuf 64 mother.pd main.pd

This has to be done as root, since root is needed for access to i2c


patches should be added to media/orac/usermodules
See recent reply I gave to others on C&G forum on this topic.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Wed Mar 04, 2020 4:58 pm

Thanks for the reply technobear,
Im going to work on it and check the c&g forum too.
Thanks for your help!

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Thu Mar 05, 2020 4:26 pm

Hi!

So i have made some progress and managed to download some orac partches from patchstorage...some work some dont :(

A couple of questions

I see that some of the orac patches need pd externals. In what folder shall i install those?

I know the obvious answer would be pd / externals but that did not work.

Also tried using the Orac easter egg but have not managed to get any patches working either.

Cheers!

thetechnobear
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by thetechnobear » Thu Mar 05, 2020 6:37 pm

Orac Easter Egg will not work on anything other than organelle.

Some orac patches have bypassed orac api, and used organelle specifics and will not work.
( I’ve commented on better ways for developers to do this, but it’s up them if they do it or not ;) )

Externals would normally be placed in the modules folder.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Fri Mar 06, 2020 2:40 pm

Thanks for the reply :)

So what would be your recommended approach to converting modules to orac?

Would it be like explained on your youtube? And then probably adapting these to the the tt patch?

When you say install the externals in the modules folder, do you mean usermodules or /usr/local/orac/modules?

Thanks

thetechnobear
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by thetechnobear » Fri Mar 06, 2020 5:04 pm

I’ve created videos on how to create orac modules,
These were for 1.0 but generally hold true for 2.0,
You can look at 2.0 to see differences it’s pretty obvious.


Externals go in same folder as the modules Pd files.

Also, there is a lot of discussion about orac module development on the C&G forum - this is very relevant to TT as well.
Remember: generally modules are portable between organelle and TT ( though externals **may** need recompiling)

User avatar
seanrieger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:20 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seanrieger » Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:32 am

So, instead of just asking questions and reporting bugs, I would like to get involved in helping. I'm not a PD expert but I can find my way around enough. All that being said, I think I have found a bug and I'd like to help if possible. In ORAC on a Terminal Tedium, I have noticed that the Brds and Brds mono modules don't seem to be calibrated from a midi perspective.

I'm running a Keystep via usb into the TT to avoid any other variables. It's just midi in to Brds Mono. When I load it up, it is out of tune. Not by a semitone, (that would be easy to fix through the transpose feature) but by like one and half semi tones. I have filmed a video here so you can see it: https://youtu.be/SGIeTHBhCCw Now, when I load up Basic Mono or Basic Analog, it is perfectly in tune. As a eurorack user, I'm used to tuning oscillators, so an easy fix would be to create a fine tune variable and allow one of the knobs to do that (like you do in the CVTools) but I think it might be something in the math of the voice.pd (see image link below) Am I way off here or has anyone else noticed this? If that's where the calibration is, I'm happy to try to tweak it.
Screenshot of Voice.pd

Thanks for any advice. I feel like the more of us who learn how to troubleshoot, the further we can take this thing on TT. Once I get a little further down the road with this, I am going to start doing ORAC - TT Specific tutorials on YouTube.
- File Transfer Protocol | Music as dark as the world we live in.
My main rack on Modulargrid |
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

thetechnobear
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by thetechnobear » Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:50 am

This is probably a tuning issue caused by sample rate.
Iirc braids assumes 48k SR , anything else will need scaling. ( proportionally).
I thought I’d set TT to use 48k but this needs to be double checked, perhaps I somehow missed this - eg when I had to move to running Pd as root.

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:24 am

seanrieger wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 7:32 am
So, instead of just asking questions and reporting bugs, I would like to get involved in helping. I'm not a PD expert but I can find my way around enough. All that being said, I think I have found a bug and I'd like to help if possible. In ORAC on a Terminal Tedium, I have noticed that the Brds and Brds mono modules don't seem to be calibrated from a midi perspective.

I'm running a Keystep via usb into the TT to avoid any other variables. It's just midi in to Brds Mono. When I load it up, it is out of tune. Not by a semitone, (that would be easy to fix through the transpose feature) but by like one and half semi tones. I have filmed a video here so you can see it: https://youtu.be/SGIeTHBhCCw Now, when I load up Basic Mono or Basic Analog, it is perfectly in tune. As a eurorack user, I'm used to tuning oscillators, so an easy fix would be to create a fine tune variable and allow one of the knobs to do that (like you do in the CVTools) but I think it might be something in the math of the voice.pd (see image link below) Am I way off here or has anyone else noticed this? If that's where the calibration is, I'm happy to try to tweak it.
Screenshot of Voice.pd

Thanks for any advice. I feel like the more of us who learn how to troubleshoot, the further we can take this thing on TT. Once I get a little further down the road with this, I am going to start doing ORAC - TT Specific tutorials on YouTube.
Apologies if can not contribute much more so far apart from asking questions and reporting bugs or how to do certain things.

Many thanks to all of you who share your work a knowledge!

That youtube video idea would be great for lots of people,

This has been done for the monome teletype and it makes a lot of things much clear.

Thanks a bunch

User avatar
seanrieger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:20 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seanrieger » Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:30 am

thetechnobear wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:50 am
This is probably a tuning issue caused by sample rate.
Iirc braids assumes 48k SR , anything else will need scaling. ( proportionally).
I thought I’d set TT to use 48k but this needs to be double checked, perhaps I somehow missed this - eg when I had to move to running Pd as root.
Cool. That gives me a direction. I appreciate it! I'll share findings here.

Also, for everyone else, please don't take my "instead of asking questions" statement as a slight towards anyone else. I'm just excited about this and want to get involved. It wasn't meant as a "Look at me I'm better than you..." kind of statement. :-)
- File Transfer Protocol | Music as dark as the world we live in.
My main rack on Modulargrid |
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:41 am

seanrieger wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 10:30 am
thetechnobear wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:50 am
This is probably a tuning issue caused by sample rate.
Iirc braids assumes 48k SR , anything else will need scaling. ( proportionally).
I thought I’d set TT to use 48k but this needs to be double checked, perhaps I somehow missed this - eg when I had to move to running Pd as root.
Cool. That gives me a direction. I appreciate it! I'll share findings here.

Also, for everyone else, please don't take my "instead of asking questions" statement as a slight towards anyone else. I'm just excited about this and want to get involved. It wasn't meant as a "Look at me I'm better than you..." kind of statement. :-)
None taken, just wish i could chip in more rather than be full of questions!

Cheers

User avatar
seanrieger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:20 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seanrieger » Sat Mar 14, 2020 4:54 pm

thetechnobear wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 8:50 am
This is probably a tuning issue caused by sample rate.
Iirc braids assumes 48k SR , anything else will need scaling. ( proportionally).
I thought I’d set TT to use 48k but this needs to be double checked, perhaps I somehow missed this - eg when I had to move to running Pd as root.
Well, if I am looking at the correct file, it looks like you didn't miss it. If I'm understanding this correctly, you are launching PD with /usr/local/orac/.pdsettings and you have it set as 48khz in there. When you had to run it as root, did you have to move the file elsewhere or am I looking at the right one?

Update: I also found .pdsettings in /home/we and it's correct there as well.

...
audiooutdevname1: snd_rpi_proto (hardware)
audiobuf: 25
rate: 48000
callback: 0
blocksize: 64
midiapi: 1
...

Further Update: So, in the meantime, I went into the brds and brds mono voice.pd files and changed the tuning property from 8252 to 8072 and that seems to have tuned it in my system. See screenshot:https://drive.google.com/file/d/1jCmPqJ ... sp=sharing I cannot confirm that this is a problem for anyone else yet, and I also am not 100% positive that PD is running at 48khz vs 44, so I have left the original values there next to it. So, if anyone else has this same issue and we can confirm that we're all running at 48khz, then I will submit it to Mark, but I assume it's running fine and in tune on the Organelle? Essentially, I don't want to break anything for anyone else.
- File Transfer Protocol | Music as dark as the world we live in.
My main rack on Modulargrid |
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

thetechnobear
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 8:17 am
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by thetechnobear » Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:36 am

changed the tuning property from 8252 to 8072
So it was just offset in pitch , rather than scaled incorrectly?
( that’s a bit surprising ! )

My plan is to actually fix this in the brds~ external , so that the PD doesn’t need to fiddle at all with values passed in, the external will then also take into account sample rate.
This way the PD code will be identical on all platforms.

So for now this is just a workaround till I do that
( as the voice code will obviously change when I do this)

User avatar
seanrieger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:20 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seanrieger » Sun Mar 15, 2020 3:08 pm

thetechnobear wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:36 am
changed the tuning property from 8252 to 8072
So it was just offset in pitch , rather than scaled incorrectly?
( that’s a bit surprising ! )
I think so. Because once I hit that value, it was in tune and scaled across multiple octaves. So if that .pdsettings being set to 48k was correct then that's what I think it is. Sounds like your eventual plan will take care of all of that though. So would you prefer I do a pull request on GIT, or should I just sit tight for now?

I've got things running pretty solid on my TT, so now I'm jumping into the CVtools. :-) I am desperate to get the cvin note to work.
- File Transfer Protocol | Music as dark as the world we live in.
My main rack on Modulargrid |
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

User avatar
seanrieger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:20 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seanrieger » Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:52 am

So how many of you have installed this and are giving it a go? I'm just curious to see if anyone else has tried the CV tools yet? I think that's the most critical element of this on the Terminal Tedium and can't get anything out of the CV Note tool. Just curious if it's something anyone else is noticing or if I am simply not doing it right. Anyone else try it yet?
- File Transfer Protocol | Music as dark as the world we live in.
My main rack on Modulargrid |
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

User avatar
djthopa
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1838
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 5:48 pm
Location: Somewhere between a nappy and a wire

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by djthopa » Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:59 am

seanrieger wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:52 am
So how many of you have installed this and are giving it a go? I'm just curious to see if anyone else has tried the CV tools yet? I think that's the most critical element of this on the Terminal Tedium and can't get anything out of the CV Note tool. Just curious if it's something anyone else is noticing or if I am simply not doing it right. Anyone else try it yet?
I have tried the cv in note module. Ive had mixed results.
Gate triggers where fine, but pitch cv input was hard to control.
I need to try the ableton link - clock to modular and see how that goes.
How is is it working on your side?
Cheers

User avatar
seismic
Common Wiggler
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 1:48 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seismic » Sun Mar 22, 2020 8:41 am

tadaaa

finally made it. a shame it took me so long..
looks awesome so far!

thx @thetechnobear
IMG_7849.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
seanrieger
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:20 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: terminal tedium (raspberry zero, pi2, pi3 codec / pd thing)

Post by seanrieger » Sun Mar 22, 2020 10:51 am

djthopa wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 7:59 am
I have tried the cv in note module. Ive had mixed results.
Gate triggers where fine, but pitch cv input was hard to control.
I need to try the ableton link - clock to modular and see how that goes.
How is is it working on your side?
Cheers
Thanks for the response. So, I am getting absolutely nothing on the CV in note. I have the CV Note module loaded on A1, then Analog Mono loaded on A2. I have set my CV to input 6 (open knob) and Gate 4 and nothing happens when I play the keys on on the CV controller. I've verified the gates and CV are flowing, but it's not triggering any notes at all. Is there something I'm missing? I'd be curious how you set up yours.
- File Transfer Protocol | Music as dark as the world we live in.
My main rack on Modulargrid |
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”