[ORDER] Euclidean Circles - LEDs with rhythm

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: lisa, luketeaford, Kent, Joe.

Post Reply
User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Mon Nov 26, 2018 12:36 am

RogueWarrior wrote:Is there a part number for the switches in the Six Switches unit?
they are subminiature ON-OFF switches with 5mm panel hole diameter.

e.g.

https://www.thonk.co.uk/shop/sub-mini-toggle-switches/

https://www.ebay.com/itm/131171342660

User avatar
Bamboombaps
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:14 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by Bamboombaps » Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:07 pm

I'm debugging a v1 , the encoders seem to think they are constantly being pressed.

The module switches from safe mode to non safe without pressing all the buttons as directed in the manual.

There are one or two steps active on the circles but I can't change them. The outputs correspond to those that are active so they seem to be working ok.

The middle encoder does Change colour and function (I assume) when it is turned but there's no change to the output

Vladimir advised to check the voltage divider but these resistors seem ok

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:00 am

Bamboombaps wrote:I'm debugging a v1 , the encoders seem to think they are constantly being pressed.

The module switches from safe mode to non safe without pressing all the buttons as directed in the manual.

There are one or two steps active on the circles but I can't change them. The outputs correspond to those that are active so they seem to be working ok.

The middle encoder does Change colour and function (I assume) when it is turned but there's no change to the output

Vladimir advised to check the voltage divider but these resistors seem ok
so, the switches are pullep up to 5V and when you press them they connect to GND. can you check the voltage level at the junction of R14/R15, R16/R18 or R17/R19. can you please also check you did not mix up the 10k and the 5.6k?

User avatar
RogueWarrior
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:26 am

Post by RogueWarrior » Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:29 am

Okay I was able to get switches from Digi-key,

However, on Ring 3 only half of LED's are lighting, but I am getting full voltage across ALL LED's. I have Checked, and Re-Checked, but nothing is working

I sad Panda :sad:

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:34 am

RogueWarrior wrote:Okay I was able to get switches from Digi-key,

However, on Ring 3 only half of LED's are lighting, but I am getting full voltage across ALL LED's. I have Checked, and Re-Checked, but nothing is working

I sad Panda :sad:
the LED control signals are all connected in a chain, so check the last working and first non working LED for correct soldering.

User avatar
RogueWarrior
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:26 am

Post by RogueWarrior » Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:50 am

HA success!!!

I replaced TWO (2) LED's, and we have full Ignition!

Sad Panda now HAPPY PANDA!! :sb:

Now on to Frames DIY

User avatar
Bamboombaps
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:14 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by Bamboombaps » Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:29 am

av500 wrote:
Bamboombaps wrote:I'm debugging a v1 , the encoders seem to think they are constantly being pressed.

The module switches from safe mode to non safe without pressing all the buttons as directed in the manual.

There are one or two steps active on the circles but I can't change them. The outputs correspond to those that are active so they seem to be working ok.

The middle encoder does Change colour and function (I assume) when it is turned but there's no change to the output

Vladimir advised to check the voltage divider but these resistors seem ok
so, the switches are pullep up to 5V and when you press them they connect to GND. can you check the voltage level at the junction of R14/R15, R16/R18 or R17/R19. can you please also check you did not mix up the 10k and the 5.6k?
im pretty sure the 5k6 are correct but maybe im missing something. the pads that are to be left unpopulated are disconcerting, maybe ive made a mistake somewhere. FYI the links that dont look connected are on the other side .

Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:39 am

PCB looks OK to me, so I'm a bit puzzled as to why it does not work...

Radium
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:10 am
Location: Germany / NRW

Six Switches

Post by Radium » Thu Dec 27, 2018 6:40 am

Edit: i`ve see the upper post, sorry...
-----------------------------------------------------------
Hey AV500 :)

What switches do i need for "Six Switches"? SPDT ON - OFF?

Thnx ;)

User avatar
Bamboombaps
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:14 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by Bamboombaps » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:05 pm

av500 wrote: can you check the voltage level at the junction of R14/R15, R16/R18 or R17/R19. can you please also check you did not mix up the 10k and the 5.6k?
R14/R15 0v
R16/R18 0v
R17/R18 0v

!!!

also the 5v pad only reads 4.45ish

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:51 pm

ok, and what is the level with a switch pressed?

User avatar
Bamboombaps
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:14 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by Bamboombaps » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:59 pm

av500 wrote:ok, and what is the level with a switch pressed?
R14/R15 2.84v
R16/R18 2.84v
R17/R18 2.84v

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 1:23 pm

hmm, your 5V should be 5V, can you remove the panel and check if you get 5V properly? and around 3.3V when the switches are pressed?

User avatar
Bamboombaps
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:14 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by Bamboombaps » Wed Jan 09, 2019 6:07 pm

I took the panel off and tried another case which seems to give me 4.8v on the 5v pad and 3.28v on the test pads but still the same behaviour.

Which pad /leg of the encoder should I be measuring ?

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:38 am

Bamboombaps wrote:I took the panel off and tried another case which seems to give me 4.8v on the 5v pad and 3.28v on the test pads but still the same behaviour.

Which pad /leg of the encoder should I be measuring ?
so without the panel you have 4.8V and 3.28V which is OK, but with the panel you only measure 2.84V which is too low. so I think you have a light short on the panel that pulls the 5V down. can you please measure the resistance between 5V and GND on the panel alone?

User avatar
Bamboombaps
Wiggling with Experience
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:14 am
Location: Glasgow

Post by Bamboombaps » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:13 pm

Can you tell me which pins to measure between based on my pic?

12
34
56
78
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:14 pm

56 ist 5V, 78 ist GND

synthpriest
Common Wiggler
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 6:02 am
Location: inside the machine

Post by synthpriest » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:14 pm

Is the DIY version sill available for ordering? :guinness:

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:28 am

of course, vp (at) vpme (dot) de

corrupt_reverend
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:04 pm
Location: California

Post by corrupt_reverend » Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:28 pm

Still accepting orders for Euclidian Circles v2 and switches?

I sent an email almost a week ago, and haven’t heard back.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:43 am

sorry missed that mail :) just replied - and yes, PCB+panel sets are still available

User avatar
frequenzteiler
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:46 am
Location: Berlin

AMS1117 vs LD1117

Post by frequenzteiler » Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:26 am

am i guessing right that its not crucial to exchange the 1A AMS1117 with the 0.8A LD1117 thats on the mouser bom ?

the module is not eating up all those 800mA even with all leds at full brightness ? is it ?

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Fri Mar 01, 2019 4:41 am

no, it does not need all 800mA :)

User avatar
Silver
Common Wiggler
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon May 02, 2016 5:02 pm
Location: New York

Post by Silver » Fri Mar 08, 2019 4:26 pm

Anyone know where else we can find the encoders? looks like sparkfun no longer has them in stock.

Ernst Bitter
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2015 7:24 am
Location: germany

LED problem

Post by Ernst Bitter » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:36 am

Hi,

Ive built a V2 and after changing several LEDs all LEDs are illuminated but some are not fully illuminated (see picture; the wire is a bridge because I killed one solder pad by soldering out on LED)

I already changed some of them to see if they are broken but it had no effect.

Maybe somebody has an idea what I could do about it?

Thank you[/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”