[ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

From circuitbending to homebrew stompboxes & synths, keep the DIY spirit alive!

Moderators: Kent, Joe., luketeaford, lisa

Post Reply
Gunnar333
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Gunnar333 » Mon Nov 25, 2019 12:35 pm

av500 wrote:try increasing that C6 cap to 1uF, see a few posts above
Thanks for the reply. I will do.

Gunnar333
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Gunnar333 » Tue Nov 26, 2019 4:19 am

changing c6 to 1uF seems to fix it.
Thanks!

cbellevie
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:45 pm

Post by cbellevie » Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:46 pm

For a beginner, anyone comment on how hard a build the Synthcube kit would be? (https://synthcube.com/cart/vpme-de-zerosccope). Couldn't find instructions for the kit so not sure what needs to be soldered. I've only built a mult otherwise.

I really want to pick one of these up, but think it would be far more fun to build my own instead of picking up complete.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:29 pm

cbellevie wrote:For a beginner, anyone comment on how hard a build the Synthcube kit would be? (https://synthcube.com/cart/vpme-de-zerosccope). Couldn't find instructions for the kit so not sure what needs to be soldered. I've only built a mult otherwise.

I really want to pick one of these up, but think it would be far more fun to build my own instead of picking up complete.
the build guide is linked in the first post on page one

cbellevie
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:45 pm

Post by cbellevie » Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:36 pm

Thanks, I didn't know if the Synthcube kit was the same build or not.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Post by av500 » Sat Nov 30, 2019 12:39 pm

cbellevie wrote:Thanks, I didn't know if the Synthcube kit was the same build or not.
they buy PCBs from me, so I dear hope it is :)

jrhillma
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2018 9:03 pm
Location: USA

Post by jrhillma » Sun Dec 01, 2019 3:04 pm

This was my first SMD DIY kit. I do have a hot air reflow/normal iron solder station, so was a good chance to use the half of the unit that hadn't been employed before.

The kit went together quickly, with the only issue being a near indetectable (to me) solder bridge on the two right-hand legs of IC5. I only noticed it when I sent a picture to Vladimir and happened to zoom in. Once I cleaned that bridge up, everything worked as advertised.

My build was done with the SynthCube kit, but I've since purchased another set of boards direct from Vladimir, all the components from Mouser (screens from eBay) and have no (immediate) use for a second one. That was my backup plan if I'd completely mucked up the first. Maybe I should start another case. ;)

Huge thanks to Vladimir for helping me, via email, working through troubleshooting and for the quick ship on the second set of boards!

Mr.Username
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:39 am

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by Mr.Username » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:07 pm

Dear AV500

I put together my ZeroScope,

It is amazing.

My second channel isn't working, I thought maybe I flipped C2 and R2.

I messed up the board a bit trying to fix it.

Could I have a the board trace drawing so I can figure out how to fix this?

Thanks so much!

Dan
IMG_3504.JPG
IMG_3502.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by av500 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 2:05 pm

C2 and R2 can be swapped. schematics are in the build guide

Mr.Username
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:39 am

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by Mr.Username » Tue Feb 04, 2020 2:27 pm

Thank you!

;)

Philth
1-Post Wiggler
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 1:35 pm

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by Philth » Wed Feb 12, 2020 1:26 am

Got the Synthcube kit and it went together great. Great little utility and a fantastic form factor for the cost.

HellRaiser
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:59 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re:

Post by HellRaiser » Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:24 am

av500 wrote:
Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:17 pm
Luap wrote:^ Mine is an early'ish one I think, with v1.3 on it.
I'll look into the STLINK thing however.

While im here.. Is there a firmware change log to be found somewhere? I had a quick look around but didn't happen to find one.

Thanks :tu:
there have not been many changes before 1.5, just minor bug fixes. and the new features are in the 1.5 manual
Hi

I have just updated my zero scope with the WAV file but seem to have now lost the highlight box that goes around the note when you are tuning.

Sorry if I have missed this in the thread.

Thanks

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by av500 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 9:25 am

the highlight box should still be there when the tuning is "exact"

HellRaiser
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:59 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by HellRaiser » Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:33 am

av500 wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 9:25 am
the highlight box should still be there when the tuning is "exact"
Hi

Thanks for getting back. I have tried 2 different oscillators (Braids and Shapeshifter) the vertical line is there to the far left but doesn't move when I'm tuning. The note just changes as I got through the fine tune until it changes onto the next note. :hmm:

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by av500 » Sat Apr 04, 2020 1:05 pm

hmm, this is strange. I just uploaded latest v1.7 here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

and this one works OK for me in tuner mode.

HellRaiser
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:59 pm
Location: Glasgow

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by HellRaiser » Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:05 pm

av500 wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 1:05 pm
hmm, this is strange. I just uploaded latest v1.7 here: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

and this one works OK for me in tuner mode.
Hey! All good now! It was stuck again when I first updated it but then it jumped into life. Not sure what was happening.

Thanks again for your quick responses. :sb:

Username
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 1:59 am

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by Username » Mon May 18, 2020 2:29 am

Hi

i have some trouble with my Zeroscopes; has anyone maybe faced similiar problems and knows where to look first for troubleshoot??

I build two zeroscopes; a white and a blue screened. While the white one is working fine (pic 1), the blue one stopped working properly after some months of usage.
In the attached images both zeroscopes receiving the same signal, with the same settings for the display (pic 3&4).
The blue one is putting the signal out correctly while nothing is displayed (pic 3&4).
When i tweak the display settings for the blue one, one can see a signal with a strong offset of the Y-Axis and the triangle signal is flattened out (pic 2; positive values missing?)

Where should i look first? What parts could be replaced for troubleshooting this?
One thing's for sure, the blue screened was the first built and the SMD soldering is much poorer quality as on the white one ;)


Thanks in advance!

Username
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Username on Mon May 18, 2020 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by av500 » Mon May 18, 2020 4:07 am

check the negative -2.5V around IC5 / R13

Username
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 1:59 am

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by Username » Mon May 18, 2020 6:01 am

measured against ground R13 shows -12V on the one side and on the side facing IC5 its 2,5mV.
Interestingly, when pressing down R13 a bit with the tip of the probe while measuring it jumps to -2,5V... so i guess i have to resolder this guy?
Last edited by Username on Mon May 18, 2020 6:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by av500 » Mon May 18, 2020 6:05 am

yup

Username
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 18, 2020 1:59 am

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by Username » Mon May 18, 2020 6:25 am

resoldered the conn. points of R13, measuring -2,5V.
signal is displayed normal again!
This was an easy one with your help! Thank you so much :-) !

User avatar
KittenVillage
Common Wiggler
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Glenshaw, PA
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by KittenVillage » Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:28 pm

I seem to be getting some noise on mine... on channel one I think? Is there some calibration I'm missing?


Eurorack is an exercise in delayed desire.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by av500 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 5:21 am

KittenVillage wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:28 pm
I seem to be getting some noise on mine... on channel one I think? Is there some calibration I'm missing?
there is no calibration for noise, but try to thoroughly clean the PCB around the CPU and the opamp

User avatar
WarpHead
Learning to Wiggle
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 7:15 am
Location: Europe

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by WarpHead » Mon Nov 09, 2020 11:34 am

Hey, bit of a simploid question.

My zeroscope only goes to 5.0v scale, not 10v pp. It's a bit of an older model, so I wanted to ask if the 10v is a hardware change or can be unlocked with a firmware update?

Thanks!
We need 22 condoms and a time machine.

User avatar
av500
Super Deluxe Wiggler
Posts: 1754
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:11 am
Contact:

Re: [ORDER] ZeroScope, 6hp scope that's almost not even there

Post by av500 » Mon Nov 09, 2020 11:44 am

does it show any version info when starting?

Post Reply

Return to “Music Tech DIY”